We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel close to train station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guennewig Hotel Bristol
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OK hotel close to train station”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

As most of the reviews have stated, this hotel is quite dated in appearance, however everything was clean. The bed was not very comfortable, but it was also not terrible. Wished WiFi was free, it costs 5€ per day. There was a larger than usual breakfast selection, but again not the best I've seen. Pool was small, but large enough to do some laps. You need to bring a towel from the room though. Location was pretty good, next to the train station in a quiet street and close to a major bus hub. Major gripe is that there are only stairs to get into the hotel and no one helped us with our heavy luggage.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ricerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    86
    55
    21
    8
See reviews for
24
27
13
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel itself is very centrally located, just a two minute walk from the station but still quiet.
The first thing that will strike you when entering the hotel is how out dated it is, nothing has changed since the day it opened, including very interessting wood panneling in the hallways and gold finishing in the bedrooms.
This might lead you to think the hotel is in a bad state of repair, but it is not, I searched and I could not find a single piece of bad maintenance or bad cleaning.
The hotel would just need a couple of small changes to make it better suited for the modern business traveller, such as providing internet in the rooms (maybe there was but neither me or my computer could find any), and just generally declutering such as removing the strange paintings of the Provence and maybe replacing them with pictures of Bonn.
In all it was a suprisngly good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepetitbelge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banja Luka
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I was in Bonn for 5 days on a business trip and stayed at this hotel which is in the best possible position.

Hotel itself is large, well maintained, quiet, from the first contact with a receptionists you get the feeling of being at the right place. They are professional, nice and helpful, you can ask them anything concerning Bonn or getting around.
I had a room on the 6th floor with a view over the center of Bonn and trains passing by. Although the main station (bus and train) is 5 minutes walk from the hotel, the area is nice and quiet. Rooms are equipped with all you need, safe box, bathroom with all amenities.

Breakfast includes just about everything, hot and cold meals, great pastries, perfect coffee and so on. Hotel has a swimming pool which I didn't use since I didn't have enough time but I'm sure it would meet the expectations.
Also, you're just steps away from the main shopping streets in the old town, which is really nice.
You can easily catch a bus, underground to any point in the city. If you're heading to UN Campus, you can take the bus 610 and 611 at the main station (point place is C4) and you're destination is stop "Deutsche Welle" (you pay the ticket in the bus). Also, you can take U-Bahn from Bonn Hauptbahnhof main station, line 16, 63 or 66 direction Bad Godesberg/Bad Honnef/Königswinter, get off at “Heussallee” and take the exit “Heussallee”.
From the airport you can take a shuttle bus which ends at the main station so you're just 5 minutes walk to the hotel. The ticket is 7,50 euros and you pay it in the bus.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bonn as I had great stay and surely will be returning again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninita_bl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a reservation made through Hotels.com. Upon arrival (not before!), we were told the hotel was overbooked and they had made arrangements for us at the Continental Hotel. The Continental turned out to be in the center of the city. It was noisy and very difficult to get to. I am very disappointed with the arrangements. We did have breakfast thrown in as well but honestly it didn't make up for the inconvenience of being sent to a lesser hotel. Luckily it was for only two nights.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DJBurrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nolden, Assistant of Director of Sales at Guennewig Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear DJBurrows,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our Hotel.

First of all I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced upon checking-in in our Hotel. You can imagine how unhappy we were for having to turn you away and for not being able to give you the accommodation you have reserved. Turning guests away who have booked a room in our hotel is something we only do when there is absolutely no way we can accommodate them. In that case it was because of a technical emergency that made a number of rooms not available for occupancy.

Please accept my apology and let me know should you be staying in Bonn one more time. I would be more than happy to try to make up for the unfortunate circumstances.

I hope to see you again soon and would be very glad to greet you once more in the Günnewig Hotel Bristol.

Best regards

Mahmoud Karim | General Manager

Günnewig Hotel Bristol
Günnewig Hotel Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel is very close to the railway station and not far from the town centre.
The staff are very friendly and the quality of the hotel is very very good
Nice hotel bar if you want a drink before you go out and also when you return
Great breakfast
The room we had was spacious and fronted towards the town so we had a nice view
Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gchc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nolden, Sales Assistant at Guennewig Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks you for your kind feedback and the time and effort you spent on reporting on your stay.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in our Günnewig Hotel Bristol in Bonn and it will be our pleasure to forward your compliments to our service team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your Günnewig Hotel Bristol Bonn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
143 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for two nights while attending a UN workshop. The hotel is very well located - walking distance from the train station and the very center of Bonn. This hotel must have been something else in 70s/80s. It is big, with a once upne the time fancy lobby and a restaurant. Nothing has been changed in the hotel since those times. The docor, furniture are all very old school. You feel like you moved in time about 30-40 years. Most importantly however, the hotel is clean, wifi works and breakfast is decent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Fortunately for me whilst staying in business in Bonn, our hosts had chosen a hotel in which to stay, having agreed a discounted rate with the Bristol Hotel. The location is excellent, close to the city centre and the railway station and with an easy drop-off point for taxis. Reception staff are superb, nothing being too much trouble for them, they were polite, smiled and quickly learned to recognise me so that they handed me my key without my having to give my room number - a really good personal touch. Initially I was places in a single room on the 5th floor, but I could detect the smell of cigarettes, and I was quickly re-allocated to a spaceous double in the 6th floor with a commanding view over the city. The double-double glazing attenuated the noise of the railway station and trains and they did not bother me at all. There was complementary chocolates and stationery and a mimi-bar in the room, but no tea/coffee facilities (I have learned to take my own!).

The bathroom was spotlessly clean (as was the rest of the room), and well equipped with plenty of hot water.

The hotel has a swimming pool about 10m long, which is about long enough for a half decent swim and flesh-meltingly hot a Sauna where guests are required to "Use towels". And they do, but be warned, it does not say HOW they are expected to use their towels!

Breakfast is worth having, there being a decent range of food options, and fast-as-lightening service from the table staff! I didn't try the restaurant or bar, being so close to alternative facilities in the City.

Everything gave the impression that the Bristol Hotel was well managed: the staff were focussed on their work and always pleasent to the guests. Internet in the rooms was chargeable (pity), but there was a computer in the foyer available free for guest use.

So far, so good. Given the positive observations above, why just OK? A hotel this well run and so conveniently located deserves a make-over! The furniture is a bit dated (the unit in the bedroom was clearly designed to hold a big tune-type TV), there was a lot of mock-brass typical of the early 1990's around the place, the towels were wearing thin, and the heating system has old radiators and has clearly been modified. Were I in a senior position in the Gueiiewig Hotel Group, I would invest in this hotel, which could so easily earn more "Excellent" ratings. I'd go there again.

Room Tip: If you don't like what you are initially allocated the reception staff are exemplary in their ef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAGBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Südstadt
Guennewig Hotel Residence
Hotel Kurfuerstenhof
#46 of 79 in Bonn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zentrum
Hotel Loehndorf
Hotel Loehndorf
#27 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Zentrum
Collegium Leoninum Hotel
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guennewig Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guennewig Hotel Bristol

Property: Guennewig Hotel Bristol
Address: Prinz-Albert-Str. 2 | Innenstadt, 53113 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Guennewig Hotel Bristol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and tradition are the trademarks of the Gunnewig Hotel Bristol Bonn. This hotel is located in the heart of the federal city of Bonn, and is in the immediate vicinity of the former government quarter. It stands on the picturesque avenue between two major historical monuments, Poppelsdorfer Castle and the former residence of the elector, today housing part of the University of Bonn. The main train station, the shuttle bus stop to Cologne Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guennewig Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guennewig Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing