We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Experience-Hotel showing its age”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guennewig Hotel Bristol
Ranked #41 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This week I was on a business trip to Bonn and our travel agency booked me at this hotel.
First the good: The breakfast buffet is very good and the service is good. Most of the waiters speak english and are very helpful.
In general the employees at the hotel are very nice and mostly young, only one person in the reception was a little"stiff".
The location is good and bad, the good is that it is walking distance from the downtown going through a passage under the RR tracks, but it is located close to the central train station.
There is WiFi provided by TMobile/Telekom and you buy a 24 hrs card that cost 4.95 euros and the connections are very good. This price is a bargain compared to most hotels in Europe.
The not so good: the hotel is old and it shows in the room. I had a room that was very small and the furniture looked bad. There was dust on the surfaces but the bathroom was clean. The carpet in the room was old and worn-out.
The room faced the road and the tram goes right buy and makes noise. When I asked to move to another room the receptionist said "tram stops at night so you won't have any problem" Yes, service stops but starts again very early and the noise of the brakes was irritating. I ended up wearing earplugs both nights so I could sleep.
I bought soap at the local DM Drogerie because the bar of soap was the size of a LifeSaver and the liquid soap in the shower is not good for the skin. Fortunately DM is only a block away from the hotel so I stocked up on bottled water.
The hotel is not prepare for business travelers, there are no power sockets with easy access to plug PC etc. When I asked I was given an extension cord with multiple sockets so after crawling under the desk to plug it I was able to get power for all my devices.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiverDan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Guennewig Hotel Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We just spent 3 nights at this hotel after we got a good deal online. It's as all the others have written earlier - there hasn't been done anything with hotel in a while, but for us it worked perfectly fine. Location is very good. It's very close to the train-station and the tram stops right outside the hotel. The bus-station is also very close by. Restuarants and shops are only minutes away.

Everything at the hotel worked and our rooms were clean and had a good size. Bathroom was the same. So as long as you don't have to stay at a new, modern hotel this will cover your needs. We had breakfast included and that was good. A wide selection of hot and cold dishes, pasteries, juice, coffee - all the things we needed for a good start. The hotel was very quiet.

The only things we didn't like about this hotel is that WiFi was not included and that the hotel bar closed before 11 PM on a Saturday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

If you happen to be attending any of the many trade shows at the Messe in Cologne then Hotel Bristol is certainly a good option. It's only a 4 minute walk to the train station and about a 7 to 8 minute walk to the old part of Bonn where all the restaurants are located. The rooms are fine, nothing spectacular, they are clean and basically good enough for one to spend a few nights in them on a business trip.

As others have already commented, the property is well over due for a major overhaul and refurbishment. When and if that is ever done, then with its central location, the Bristol would be a lovely place to stay at in Bonn.

The breakfast at the hotel was quite good with ample selection and fast service.

What I loved the most about this hotel was its bar. The barman was very professional, spoke excellent English and the choice of musics (Dean Marin, Frank Sinatra...etc.) made the place feel more like an old establishment bar in an old English hotel than your average hotel bar with TVs and loud music.

Overall I was very happy to stay at the Bristol and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone of you that plans to be in Bonn for a few days.

Room Tip: Try staying at rooms that are facing the green space on the right hand side of the hotel. Those fac...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maninasuitcase_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This well-located, central property is a throw-back to 1950s style (but not necessarily intentionally) and urgently needs a decor overhaul. The helpful staff deserve a better venue. Breakfast, unusually for Germany, is poor, and everything reeks of genteel decay. In any other city, the Bristol would be in turn-around. It just seems Bonn is not very competitive, although it does reward both business travellers and tourists as a a compact, attractive, historic and scenic town 350,000. The Guennewig company needs to get out of the hotel business, out of this property or to wake up to contemporary expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

As most of the reviews have stated, this hotel is quite dated in appearance, however everything was clean. The bed was not very comfortable, but it was also not terrible. Wished WiFi was free, it costs 5€ per day. There was a larger than usual breakfast selection, but again not the best I've seen. Pool was small, but large enough to do some laps. You need to bring a towel from the room though. Location was pretty good, next to the train station in a quiet street and close to a major bus hub. Major gripe is that there are only stairs to get into the hotel and no one helped us with our heavy luggage.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank ricerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel itself is very centrally located, just a two minute walk from the station but still quiet.
The first thing that will strike you when entering the hotel is how out dated it is, nothing has changed since the day it opened, including very interessting wood panneling in the hallways and gold finishing in the bedrooms.
This might lead you to think the hotel is in a bad state of repair, but it is not, I searched and I could not find a single piece of bad maintenance or bad cleaning.
The hotel would just need a couple of small changes to make it better suited for the modern business traveller, such as providing internet in the rooms (maybe there was but neither me or my computer could find any), and just generally declutering such as removing the strange paintings of the Provence and maybe replacing them with pictures of Bonn.
In all it was a suprisngly good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lepetitbelge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I was in Bonn for 5 days on a business trip and stayed at this hotel which is in the best possible position.

Hotel itself is large, well maintained, quiet, from the first contact with a receptionists you get the feeling of being at the right place. They are professional, nice and helpful, you can ask them anything concerning Bonn or getting around.
I had a room on the 6th floor with a view over the center of Bonn and trains passing by. Although the main station (bus and train) is 5 minutes walk from the hotel, the area is nice and quiet. Rooms are equipped with all you need, safe box, bathroom with all amenities.

Breakfast includes just about everything, hot and cold meals, great pastries, perfect coffee and so on. Hotel has a swimming pool which I didn't use since I didn't have enough time but I'm sure it would meet the expectations.
Also, you're just steps away from the main shopping streets in the old town, which is really nice.
You can easily catch a bus, underground to any point in the city. If you're heading to UN Campus, you can take the bus 610 and 611 at the main station (point place is C4) and you're destination is stop "Deutsche Welle" (you pay the ticket in the bus). Also, you can take U-Bahn from Bonn Hauptbahnhof main station, line 16, 63 or 66 direction Bad Godesberg/Bad Honnef/Königswinter, get off at “Heussallee” and take the exit “Heussallee”.
From the airport you can take a shuttle bus which ends at the main station so you're just 5 minutes walk to the hotel. The ticket is 7,50 euros and you pay it in the bus.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bonn as I had great stay and surely will be returning again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninita_bl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Südstadt
Guennewig Hotel Residence
IntercityHotel Bonn
#8 of 79 in Bonn
310 reviews
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Bonn
#14 of 79 in Bonn
679 reviews
Zentrum
Collegium Leoninum Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guennewig Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guennewig Hotel Bristol

Address: Prinz-Albert-Str. 2 | Innenstadt, 53113 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range: £54 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Guennewig Hotel Bristol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and tradition are the trademarks of the Gunnewig Hotel Bristol Bonn. This hotel is located in the heart of the federal city of Bonn, and is in the immediate vicinity of the former government quarter. It stands on the picturesque avenue between two major historical monuments, Poppelsdorfer Castle and the former residence of the elector, today housing part of the University of Bonn. The main train station, the shuttle bus stop to Cologne Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Guennewig Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guennewig Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing