We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you need, nothing else”
Review of TOP Hotel Consul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TOP Hotel Consul
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just what you need, nothing else”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Business trip: Nothing extra: wifi, gym, pool... Well located, and very good attention, old fashion and very small bathroom. The breakfast is quite good, maybe the best of the hotel, the room is also quite calm.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    26
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
4
15
3
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The building is a straightforward piece of concrete, which needs to be torn down but will probably remain just where it sits for another 100 years. And that also defines the room. Concrete, nothing more, nothing less.

My wish to change for a non-smoking room (last time I smoked I was a kid, and that one puff was enough for the rest of my life) is only honoured after a complaint, after all they should know better than I what kind of room I want. Internet is a bit of a disaster, and too slow to be of use.

But the breakfast is surprisingly good. It makes up a few %.

There are really better options in Bonn. Hotels are a mystery to me. How does such an experience add up to 100 euro?

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padgoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bonn hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed here one night. The room was clean but lacked character. The hallway is in need of a makeover and the overhead flourescent lights don't help. The hotel seemed to be filled with business travelers. If you are in Bonn for one night and want to save money, I can recommend. If you are staying longer, I would check other options.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Had no trouble finding this hotel in the heart of downtown Bonn, the hotel has a small parking lot which costs an additional fee but worth it because parking is extremely limited in the downtown area. WiFi worked well in my room and there were no connection problems. The room was sparse, a desk and a chair and the two beds, but was spacious enough that my friend and I did not feel cramped. Breakfast was provided in the dining room and the selection was good. There was a good selection of both hot and cold entrees as well as coffee made to order. The hotel is old and shows it, but the staff was friendly and tried to make us feel as welcome as possible. The price paid was commensurate with the age and value of the property and I felt it was a fair price for the location. One of the big pluses was that across the street is a pedestrian plaza which has many different restaurants and shops. Also the Beethoven House and museum are within an easy walking distance. I would stay here again if I find that I need to visit the city in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed for two weeks in December. Although the staff at the front desk tried in earnest to be helpful, the Hotel itself was old and outdated. The cleaning staff had a tendency to be overly intrusive and rude, the surrounding streets were dirty, there were no kettles available in the room. And during our stay there they rented a room to a homeless man whose presence stank up the entire corridor. We did not feel safe as a result, and considering the price and the plethora of hotels/ motels available in and around Bonn city center it is probably best to check around first before deciding to choose this hotel.

In case there is any confusion the name of this hotel is just "HOTEL CONSUL" not "top hotel etc.." slightly misleading.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wandernyonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed at this hotel one night in December 2012. The building, corridors remind me of Eastern European student dorms, but I was pleasantly surprised. My single room was small, but clean with wifi access and good tv! Breakfast was nice and they also have a small bar! Its also close to restaurants and stores. Good place!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathelaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Due to business travels I've spent months in this hotel. I love coming back to Consul- great location just by tramway stop, walking distance to main shopping streets, grocery store next door and amazing kebab right behind the corner:)
Staff in hotel is super friendly, feel like at home each time I'm coming back here. They solve all my problems immediately, they are also very friendly. Fast and free Internet connection. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweety123xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Nordstadt
Hotel Aigner
Hotel Aigner
#19 of 79 in Bonn
86 reviews
Zentrum
SternHotel Bonn
SternHotel Bonn
#15 of 79 in Bonn
203 reviews
Südstadt
Guennewig Hotel Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zentrum
Best Western Hotel Domicil
Zentrum
Hotel Bonn City
Hotel Bonn City
#20 of 79 in Bonn
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOP Hotel Consul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel Consul

Property: TOP Hotel Consul
Address: Oxfordstr. 12-16, 53111 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TOP Hotel Consul 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TOP Hotel Consul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Bonn
Bonn Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing