We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run family hotel, locally sourced breakfast”
Review of Hotel Aigner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aigner
Ranked #18 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well run family hotel, locally sourced breakfast”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

great location and a good budget stay. The room has everything you need although the shower is a squeeze.

The highlight was the breakfast. The food is sourced locally and when possible they use organic produce.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher floor or away from the street. I was in room 101 and I did not feel comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    44
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
13
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a pretty standard hotel for Germany, it's conveniently located and I found it easily walking from the train station. Staff were friendly and my room was large and had everything I needed (including tea/coffee which you don't always get in my experience). Breakfast was fine (meat, cheese, coffee etc) though nothing special. No complaints!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank splint64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hotel Aigner is a gem hidden behind a "Shop Front" entry from a narrow street in the "Altstadt" just to the North of the centre of Bonn. A short walk will take you to all of the sights in the city or the Rhine or to the U-Bahn to travel longer distances. Our room was spotless and of a good size by European standards including a basic kitchenette, adequate sitting room and a compact bathroom. The reception staff spoke good English and all the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Our rate included an ample breakfast and there are a wide variety of restaurants (for all budgets) within easy walking distance. WiFi is available at a reasonable extra charge, We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Hotel Aigner represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diso49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Bonn seems to have many little hotels, with small frontages but labyrinthine corridors that spread around several properties. This one is better than most. There's a quiet funkiness, with art posters on the walls and neat rooms with the absolute basic of what is essential. The location is just outside the "old" city, but is actually in a wonderful neighbourhood of small streets, specialist boutiques and small bars. Pity about the charge for the internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank korokoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Small family run hotel in Altstadt of Bonn; 5 minute walk from a U-bahn station. Ample breakfast with cheeses, cold cuts, fruit, and cooked eggs. Excellent coffee. Have to pay for WiFi but is reasonable rate. Lots of eating places in area, and 15 minutes from Rathaus and Bonn Cathedral. I was there at Christmas Market time and hotel was within walking distance-10 minutes.

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: no pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Hotel is located in a nice and quiet neighborhood – Altstadt (old town); there were around the hotel interesting art galleries, boutiques, and couple of nice cafes, also some restaurants (we spotted Italian, Indian, Spanish and German cuisine).
It takes 5 min walk to pedestrian area where lot of restaurants and shopping possibilities are and 10 min walk to train-station (Bonn Hbf); good connections to Köln (Cologne)
Hotel was cozy with good breakfast until 10 am. Room was spacoius, clean, bed comfi and bed linen with good quality. There was even a small kitchenette with coffee maker in the room, also a mini-bar. Stuff was polite, but not too much concerned about you.
The hotel had wi-fi, but they charged money for it :-( Not much. Now days the wi-fi should be free like the air around us; this is crazy to charge for internet connection.
The walls of our room were thin, so I could hear what was going on behind our walls.
Overall the hotel was nice and good and I would stay there again if my travels would bring me back to Bonn :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomasTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borlänge, Dalarnas Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed in the hotel in the beginning of July on our way north. We got a nice big room. Very quite. The breakfast was plentyful with eggs, ham, cheese, bread and what ever you need. The personal was very helpful with checking in and checking out. We used one of the hotels parkingplaces. You have to book in advance, but it is conveniant to just have your car a few meters from the lobby.
I warmly recommend the hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zentrum
Collegium Leoninum Hotel
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#14 of 79 in Bonn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Ibis Bonn
#13 of 79 in Bonn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aigner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aigner

Property: Hotel Aigner
Address: Dorotheenstr. 12, 53111 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn > Nordstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aigner 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aigner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigner Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing