We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1night in Bonn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Insel Hotel Bad Godesberg
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“1night in Bonn”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at the Insel Hotel on our way home from Italy, we didnt have a very good start when our SatNav took us to the front of the Hotel which, unfortunaetly, is in a pedestrian precinct.After parking in the car park at the rear of the hotel we were given a room on the 1st floor which had an Air Con Condenser outside our bedroom window, which was annoying as the bedrooms do not have Air Conditioning. After a bit of a battle with reception we were given a room on a higher floor, the room was on the small size but was ok.
We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel which was ok, i have to say the Restaurant and Bar staff were very good, friendly and helpful. We found the reception Staff to be a bit grumpy.
I dont think we would stay in this area of Bonn again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slkaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    81
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
40
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rucphen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Looking for a night over hotel, we found the Insel Hotel with a good price and not far from the highway. It was one of the best hotels we visited the last years on our trips to Austria and Italy. We've had good and big rooms and nice bathrooms, the service in the hotelrestaurant was very nice and the diner was delicious. We will certainly return at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascale_J_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Only had the one night here, but what a lovely place. I think my room had been newly refurbished, it had the very latest Rainfall shower system, new bath, tiles, etc; all very tastefully done. A colleague said his room hadn't been refurbished, but was still very clean and fine for our purposes.

The Insel is located on a pedestrianised square, so our taxi took us to the back entrance/car park. From there, it didn't look good. Once inside, the reception is small, bar was dark, but OK. Got up to my room, and Wow - wasn't expecting the modern fixtures it had. Very pleasant surprise - but don't know of the rollout plan for the other rooms!

Firm bed, but they had those bizarre pillow combinations I aways see in Germany: very large soft, squishy pillow usually made into a pyramid of sorts, with a small rectangular, again soft and squishy, pillow on top. I'm not sure how you are meant to use them, but putting them in a traditional manner doesn't seem to work! Not for me anyway...

There is Wi-Fi in the public areas, but not free. i think it was only 2EUR per 24 hours so pretty cheap, though (not sure, as didn't use it as only slept in the room and left early next morning!).

Breakfast was fine, staff very pleasant and helpful, all spoke good English - no surprise there!

A bit away from the main city centre, but not far from the train stop (or approx 15 EUR in a taxi). Certainly will book here on my next visit to Bonn.

Room Tip: Try and get a refurbished room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MysteryManLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Family living in Bad Godesberg for a year and we joined them for the holiday. I would give this hotel a 4th star for being exactly what I was looking for at exactly the right time. Location, service, price, amenities were all right on the money, and the Bad Godesberg Weihnachts Markt was right out side the door. What fun and great fruhstuck (breakfast) too.

Room Tip: The apartments in the back are not for the faint of heart, but if you can manage 2 steep flights of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingaro, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Nice local hotel with god restaurant. Good buffet Monday nights. Priceworthy but with high standards in the restaurant. Seems to be popular with the locals of mature age demanding a bit more. Took a nice jog the first night down to the Rhine and along it. People seem to have good lifes here in the Rhein area. Also noticed there's a boat going all the way to Düsseldorf from here. Should try that some time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larswahlstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Though Bad Godesberg is not the center, the room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast good as well, contrary to the othe hotels in the area. Quite good for a business trip. The price is actually quite fair as well.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cedric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed at the Insel for one night en-route home from holiday in Bavaria. We booked one of the suites, which turned out to be an apartment in a building across from the hotel. This was very nice and comfortable. Our son had a room of his own which he was very pleased with. There was a proper kitchen and there was a washing machine in a corner of the bathroom. People staying for longer than one night would find all these amenities very useful. I would have liked the bathroom to include a bath, but the shower was ok.

Breakfast was the usual buffet style - with a varied hot and cold selection and very plentiful.

The staff seemed very friendly and offered us english menus in the restaurant the evening before. It took a long time for the food to arrive and we were hungry.

The location seemed good for anyone exploring the local area, close to trams and the Rhine. We had a view of the Bad Godesberg castle, which is now a restaurant - this helped detract from the view of the backs of buildings and the car park that were the other things we could see from the apartment windows. The car park was a bit of a squeeze and it looked like part of it was closed off for building work.

Room Tip: The suites are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
4.3 mi away
Hilton Bonn Hotel
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Godesberg
Villa Godesberg
#2 of 79 in Bonn
125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ringhotel Rheinhotel Dreesen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bonn Marriott World Conference Hotel
2.4 mi away
Kameha Grand
Kameha Grand
#3 of 79 in Bonn
968 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insel Hotel Bad Godesberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insel Hotel Bad Godesberg

Property: Insel Hotel Bad Godesberg
Address: Theaterplatz 5-7, 53177 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn > Alt-Godesberg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Insel Hotel Bad Godesberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Insel Hotel Bad Godesberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing