We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cold Place”
Review of SternHotel Bonn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SternHotel Bonn
Ranked #17 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The rooms are large, lots of light, modern furniture, very good central location. The breakfast is mediocre, some good stuff, some bad and some not worth mentioning. The really bad thing was the room heating: very cold, very economic, the heating elements, even when turned at max could not improvethe situation (as they are only a bit warm). The room boasts eco-friendly green stickers, which could easily be translated to we save cost in water and heating on the health of our clients. It is strongly recommended to search for another place.

Room Tip: Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Costin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location being located right in the old town square.
The included breakfast buffet was very good and our room was facing the square which had nice views. The only negative was the price at 99,00 euros excluding car park rates. The car park was underground and only 2 minutes away though. I would still recommend this hotel and would recommend visiting Bonn as it is a lovely place to see, especially Beethoven's house.

Room Tip: rooms facing the square are best and we saw some with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okenshield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed for a week for business and personal reasons. The staff were always helpful, the breakfasts were great. The location is right on the square with numerous restaurants and shops. We will return in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barklobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I arrived at the hotel late at night - it's a very short walk from Bonn railway station. Every member of staff I met was really friendly and helpful. However, the room decor was very old fashioned and didn't feel very comfortable. The doors all open outwards onto the corridors - it feels a bit like a converted soviet hostel. The room didn't appear to have aircon and was very hot (although spacious). No bath in my room, but en suite toilet and shower.

Breakfast had a good selection and was included in the price.

By light of day, one can see that the hotel occupies a great, central position, overlooking the marketplace and town hall. There is an internal courtyard which is very pretty. I had a room overlooking this courtyard, but my colleague had one overlooking the marketplace. He found it to be very noisy. You will hear everything which happens in the corridors - sound insulation not great.

Overall, the hotel wasn't bad - the staff and location being the best points. I was there in the middle of the week and it was full of people on business trips. I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic break, even though the surroundings are pretty.

If you are staying here, don't forget to pack your earplugs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Tweeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

- central location - close to anything
- impeccably clean
- good breakfast
- nice staff
- safe

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zokra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Stayed here for business for 5 nights. I was on the 3rd floor, overlooking the Christmas festivities - mainly putting up an extremely large tree right outside my room. My room was not noisy, though sometimes you could hear others talking or opening/closing their doors. My room was a little strange because it had two doors to get inside. But I think that is what kept it quiet. Location was fantastic for the unexpected Christmas market.

The staff was excellent. I was traveling with a group of people and they learned our names and knew who we were with so if you walked in they would tell your companion just left or returned to their rooms. Very attentive.

Breakfast was quite a large spread and very good.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TooMuchRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The big plus of the Sternhotel is its location in the very centre of Bonn next to the market place. However, here comes the minus as well. Being located so centrally makes the hotel prone to noise. In addition, many of the rooms have considerabily old equipment which does not help to reduce noise, especially at night and in the morning hours. Nevertheless, the place is clean and the breakfast is quite distinguished. So if you stay for a short time in Bonn and you like to be in the center, Sternhotel is an option.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Businesskasperle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,138 reviews
V-Hotel
#10 of 79 in Bonn
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zentrum
Collegium Leoninum Hotel
IntercityHotel Bonn
#9 of 79 in Bonn
320 reviews
Zentrum
Best Western Hotel Domicil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SternHotel Bonn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SternHotel Bonn

Address: Markt 8, 53111 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn > Zentrum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bonn
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range: £102 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SternHotel Bonn 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SternHotel Bonn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sternhotel Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing