We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly management”
Review of SternHotel Bonn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SternHotel Bonn
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unfriendly management”
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Not much wrong with this hotel in general, but unfortunately I had to experience the most unwelcoming management ever there. A group of four of us stayed there paying full rates. In the morning a family member was in town for business and wanted to join us for a cup of coffee. The only option, we were offered, was to pay EUR 20 for a full breakfast for our family member coming over. As he already had eaten breakfast, he just wanted a cup of coffee and sit with us. Of course we would have paid for the coffee, but this was not an option. Either full breakfast or no access granted to the breakfast room. No exceptions to the rule. When suggested to the management that this behaviour would certainly not give them any good press, they replied that the were used to "people threating them". Go figure.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TrevorTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    94
    34
    8
    7
See reviews for
14
42
13
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

I stayed two nights in this hotel in May. The location is perfect as the restaurants and shops are near. Main railway station is also within walking distance. Breakfast was good and I felt the room was clean. Somehow I felt that the walls were thin and didn't sleep well as heard lot from other rooms and corridor. I had to pay a wlan fee of 20e/4 days. It worked quite ok. Receptionists speak fluent English.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

The location is good, next to the market place and pedestrian area, and walking distance from the lovely Christmas Market. My room was at 3rd floor, facing the market place. The room was very quiet and the bed comfortable. Everything was very clean, and I especially liked the wooden floor. The bathroom was a bit odd: it was clearly built afterwards and the space for it was taken from the corridor, so basically you stepped into the room via the bathroom. In addition, the toilet was very small so the washing basin was in the bedroom, which I did not like that much. Shower was ok but that the towel could have been bigger. Breakfast was very good. I stayed only for one night and did not need Internet, but in the morning heard someone complaining that it did not work. All in all, a nice hotel with a comfortable athmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reissaaja100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

This is a lovely hotel to stay in. Brill location in the marktplatz. Staff are very friendly - I've stayed there a few times, and they know me by name. Very good breakfast. Rooms are nice and clean, tv, fridge in room, etc. Included in the room rate is also access to the gym across the road, which has a sauna and steam room. Good value! I really love almost everything about this hotel - the only downside I found was the difficulty in getting hot water for my tea - I like having tea in the morning and evening, and kettles are not allowed in the rooms, and you can't always get the staff to bring you hot water. Also, you pay for the internet, it's not included in the room rate. Other than that, I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomilola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

Based ourselves here for a business trip - found the staff generally friendly and helpful. Liked the location, my colleague's room overlooking the market was noisy early in t he mornings, go for an inner room which was very quiet. Single rooms OK, comfortable but not large, clean, breakfast very good, we got a good rate off booking.com.
We needed Internet at 20 euros for 4 days, cheaper than some hotels, but expensive if you just want to check some mails! Parking in the Markt garage very convenient and secure, parking overnight is cheap (1900 - 0900 1 euro) but would be expensive if staying all day (up to 25 euro!).

  • Liked — Breakfast, great location
  • Disliked — Paying for internet
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Analemmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,010 reviews
IntercityHotel Bonn
#9 of 79 in Bonn
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zentrum
Collegium Leoninum Hotel
Südstadt
Guennewig Hotel Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SternHotel Bonn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SternHotel Bonn

Property: SternHotel Bonn
Address: Markt 8, 53111 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn > Zentrum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bonn
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SternHotel Bonn 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your SternHotel Bonn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sternhotel Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing