We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty location but poorly managed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorint Hotel Venusberg Bonn
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The hotel is in a good spot on the edge of attractive woodlands, but quite remote. Our room was comfortable, though the safe was visibly broken (ie should have been repaired). Our main complaint concerns the lack of catering other than a restaurant with a very limited and expensive menu and no snacks. The bar was closed until 2200 and there was no room service. Not very welcoming after a long drive. The staff did not seem to think this was odd and said that there was no alternative to going in to the city centre. The restaurant waiter was particularly unhelpful. Breakfast was fine, but the service was again less than forthcoming. Could be good if better managed.

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank Pausanias1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 142 reviews

An EasyToBook.com traveler
Bonn
11
Reviewed 11 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Pretty nice and comfortable hotel with a great price performance ratio. Facilities are good. Rooms to improve on beds.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fmenes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This hotel is in the Venusberg area of Bonn, which is an easy short bus ride or taxi ride from the centre of Bonn. It is pleasantly situated in the wooded hills overlooking Bonn and the Seven Hills of the region. It's a lovely spot and one that lends itself very well to a very peaceful holiday. We stayed in Room 218 which has a balcony overlooking the garden terrace at the back (get a room at the back if you can) The room was generously sized, as was the bathroom. The shower over the bath was definitely a power shower, the beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. Bonn itself is an attractive town, brilliantly situated in the West of Germany with lots of easy connections to explore both Germany and also Belgium, Luxembourg, France and the Netherlands. We didn't have breaksfast or evening meals, but the restaurant and brasserie looked attractive with a nice outlook into the woods.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the woods and hills to the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed at the Dorint hotel which is located at the top of the Venusberg hill in Bonn, for 2 nites. The hotel, which I've stayed several times, is in a great location; it is set back from the main road by several hundred meters; and the back of the building looks out onto a large forest and valley. So, as long as you get a room facing out the back, you will have an excellent, relaxing, usually quiet room. The hotel rooms are very clean, the room we had also had an outdoor patio with chair and table, although it was a bit too cold to use. The bathroom was well decorated, and clean; the shower nice and easily adjustable with two shower heads. There is more than enough storage space for 2 persons; a small fridge with some beers and drinks, a small tv, a table and chair. The lighting is also nicely done so that one person can read in bed with a small light without distrubing your partner. The service at reception is excellent; as is the service in the restaurant. Breakfast, which is not included, was very high quality, with many meets, eggs, breads, cereals, fruits, and champagne.

The few disappointments were that in our room, the door to the bathroom is made of glass, so if someone needs to use the bathroom during the night you will fill up the room with light and bother anyone else there. A 2nd concern is that in the area of the hotel we stayed, there must be some type of large heating or venting system which gives off a constant low frequency humming all night long.. not too loud but if you are sensitive as I was you may find sleeping a bit difficult unless you use ear plugs. That part of the hotel is also located above a lounge area so there could be parties going on that you need to ask about (there weren't any this time, so it was pretty quiet). The breakfast as noted was superb, but I was dismayed to discover that the price, which was listed as "20 euro for 2 persons" meant "20 euros per person for 2 persons". Not a big deal but a bit misleading, so always be sure to ask (I didn't, my fault). There is a health room in the bottom floor, with a small pool for wading in which I've used in the past; however this time the area was either closed, or you needed to tell them when you wanted to use it (perhaps there were some rennovations being made). One final comment was that the hotel is not 100% non smoking.. there is an open lounge in the main lobby where people can get drinks and smoke; and we saw other persons smoking in some parts of the lobby.

Overall, the Dorint hotel is an good hotel with a great locale overlooking the woods (if you are a runner or hiker, there are many paths running through these woods that can bring you all the way down to the center of Bonn). However, the cost is high (200 euro per nite) and breakfast for two brings it up to 240 per nite.

Room Tip: Rooms that are in the back and located towards the left as you face the main building should be more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dantecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The hotel itself was actually very nice, set in gorgeous forest setting on a hill overlooking the Rhiine, with extremely welcoming staff and comfortbale rooms. Breakfast was pretty good also.
However be warned that the hotel is rather off the beaten path and not easily accessible by public transport.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EightMilesHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

The staff was superlative. Every single one was attentive, helpful and friendly. I had special diet requirements and they helped me meet them even though it meant non-standard service, all this without making a fuss or making me feel as if I was in any way discommoding them.

The room was fine, a bit cosy and I bumped my head on an angled ceiling a couple of times.

Breakfast - as with most hotels, the glasses are so small you can't get a good drink of juice and need to keep running for refills.

It is a bit out of the center and you need transport to get anywhere, but it could be a good romantic spot as it is in a quiet area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yechiel_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Bonn Hotel
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,138 reviews
2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Bonn Hardtberg
0.7 mi away
V-Hotel
V-Hotel
#10 of 79 in Bonn
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Guennewig Hotel Bristol
1.8 mi away
Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn
2.4 mi away
Kameha Grand
Kameha Grand
#6 of 79 in Bonn
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Hotel Venusberg Bonn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Hotel Venusberg Bonn

Address: An der Casselsruhe 1, 53127 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range: £59 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Hotel Venusberg Bonn 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dorint Hotel Venusberg Bonn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing