We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard hotel to review, but...”
Review of Hotel Loehndorf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Loehndorf
Ranked #38 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hard hotel to review, but...”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I will have a go at it.

As other revisers have said it is an easy hotel to damn with faint praise when in fact it has some things going for it.

There is a large underground carpark right out side the hotel and it is also near transport links, you could walk from the station or Metro. The hotel is across the street from the central square (the old town hall square), so very easy for sight seeing or shopping.

If you turn left out of the hotel then left again a couple of the better reviewed restaurants are only a couple of hundred meters away.

There is no mini bar in the room, but on the main landing there is a domestic fridge with beer and water. A large 500cl bottle of beer is either free (of you are dishonest) or 1.80 euro if you play along with their honestly bar. That is great value :)

The staff, who seemed to be the owners, were helpful and friendly, both spoke good English.


So, what are the downsides?

The entrance is easy to miss, just a door amongst the shops. You go up a floor to the reception, which is small. Really it is a converted apartment block I think.

The rooms are tired and small, but they are clean and serviceable. The sheets were crisp and everything worked OK, though the (free) WiFi works best closest to reception.

Breakfast was basic but fine.

All in all a mixed bag, don't go if you want a full on hotel experience with lobbies, restaurants and room service. But it is fine if you want a simple clean room right in the centre of the city.


Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    18
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
16
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here for one night to visit the Xmas Market as part of a road trip to various markets in France and Germany. When we arrived, there were no parking spaces outside the hotel and a massive queue to the underground car park opposite so I parked on hazard lines and rang the door bell. Lissy came down and offered to move her car to allow me to park for two hours in her space and stayed at the roadside whilst I drove around the one-way system to get back to the space. This allowed us to unload the car and settle in the room and do a recce of the market before the evening. Lissy especially, but also all the staff, were so helpful and they made you feel so at home and certainly not the normal hotel experience. The hotel is perfectly positioned for the Christmas Market and right in the centre of most attractions. Our room, Number 1.1 was very comfortable with all normal amenities and free Wi-fi!! Breakfast had a good selection and again nothing was too much trouble in terms of cooking individual items. I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone and hope to stay there again next Christmas. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeW3750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel is an excellent option for Bonn since it is close to the train station, city center, metro and river. This time I stayed in a room on the back of the building. The rooms are bigger and quieter, which was great for sleep. The only problem is that these rooms also seem to have worse wi-fi reception than those on the front of the building, meaning that I had to sit in the small lobby to use the internet. I always like the breakfast here, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwadem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Hotel is great! Very easy to find! Only 6 minutes from the bus and main train station – so it is very convenient for catching transport to the airport. Location perfect! Market square can be seen from the window. Nice restaurants practically around the corner. Vide variety of rooms from budget to comfort. All staff is excellent – very attentive, very intelligent, very helpful. Especially I want to make special mention of the owner – Ms. Lissy Riefenstahl who is doing everything to make stay at the hotel maximum convenient and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vs-versus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my daughter while she was apartment hunting. The location couldn't be better. Our room was next to reception and adjacent to the breakfast room and covered terrace. It was quite warm during our stay, but thankfully, there was a small electric fan in the room.
The breakfast is typically German, with cold cuts, cheeses and excellent Brötchen. They also had cereals, juices, a fruit salad and made to order eggs.
There is a parking garage nearby, which is expensive during the day but quite cheap over night. The only drawback for me was the small parking spaces. I managed to squeeze into one, but it wasn't easy.
Once in the city, we didn't need the car until we checked out. This is where we will stay on our visits in the future.
Oh, did I mention free wifi?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan_in_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I had reserved in advance and arrived late at night. At first I was a bit disappointed by the hotel - my 4th floor room was large and comfortable but the decor was a bit tired, and although I had helpfully been left a wi-fi voucher in my room the internet service was so slow that it was barely usable.

But things were very different in the morning. The breakfast selection was not huge, but the food that was provided was great, with expertly cooked scrambled eggs, delicious fresh fruit salad, and excellent coffee. The best thing about this hotel though is the staff - everyone I dealt with was friendly and helpful with a ready smile. I stay in a lot of different hotels, most of which are very good, but I don't remember the last time I had quite such excellent service.

The location is great - right in the centre of Bonn but quiet, and near a park and the Rhine. I was able to borrow a bicycle to ride up the river to my meeting, which was lovely. The only downside was the wi-fi, which works well in the reception area and presumably also the lower rooms, but was poor on the top floor. Other than that this place was really excellent, and I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank climate_criminal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The Lohndorf hotel has a perfect location in the centre of Bonn. The hotel is simple but good. Staff is very friendly and helpful when you have questions. There is a public car garage, entrance if front of the hotel. We would recommand to book the larger room at the 4th floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marscha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Zentrum
SternHotel Bonn
SternHotel Bonn
#15 of 79 in Bonn
204 reviews
Zentrum
Hotel Bonn City
Hotel Bonn City
#19 of 79 in Bonn
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Südstadt
Guennewig Hotel Residence
Beethoven Hotel
#21 of 79 in Bonn
46 reviews
TOP Hotel Consul
#36 of 79 in Bonn
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loehndorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loehndorf

Property: Hotel Loehndorf
Address: Stockenstr. 6 | Innenstadt, 53113 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn > Zentrum
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Loehndorf 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Loehndorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lohndorf Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing