We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beethoven House

Beethoven House
Ranked #4 of 66 things to do in Bonn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We bought tickets to self-tour because the only tour available required you to have a child with you. We were not told about the availability of audio tour equipment until after we had started through. The wall-mounted direct lighting made many of the pictures difficult to see. Only a few of the displays had English descriptions or transcription, so we understood very little (5% maybe) of the exhibits. Overall it was a very disappointing visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank jeppert3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    247
    145
    45
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beethoven's birthplace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Interesting museum, if perhaps a little expensive. A selection of artefacts to see, including Beethoven's violin and a love letter found in his travel desk.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“interesting place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

A house where Beethoven was born, the house is very simple and it takes little time to walk around, but it is very well presented and interesting.
You can also watch a visual music representation that is really impressive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very emotional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Being a super huge fan of Beethoven's work since I was a child, I was very excited to visited the house and was not disappointed! The house is very well kept and the souvenir shop is really good. The house is small, but there are many stairs, and you climb two times. The collection is extensive, and you can learn everything about the Beethoven's house association, and about other composers that were part of his life. You can see a lot of his work in original form (well, copies), his testament, letters, objects (even some hair from his head, lol!) Music he wrote, his piano, and other instruments... And also the room in which he was born! I was very pleased with the visit, and was a very special moment to me. You can also sit down in the end and listen to music. And they sell a cd in the shop with some compositions being played with the original instruments.

Good points:
- Big collection
- Everything is well preserved and organized
- Staff was friendly
- The shop has nice things about Beethoven
- There is a parking garage nearby (150m) that isn't too expensive! Right when you go up you see many nice shops and a small market with fresh food.

Some bad points:
- It was a bit hard to find, we passed through it two times, and only then realised we were standing infront of it and had to open the door (which looked like it was locked to me) to get in
- Most signs of the objects and other things were in German
- You can't take pictures

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Giulianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
166 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A window into the past, and a great mind.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beethoven house is only a block away from the farmers market, and Bonn Rathaus... surrounded by modern life, but firmly anchored in Beethoven's time. Worth a visit, even for folks who aren't huge classic music fans. I'd allow an hour minimum to tour, even if you have teenagers... Tell them you're going to a time machine. The garden on a sunny day is a special treat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WishIWasInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beethoven House also viewed

 
Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia
Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Beethoven House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing