We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms nice enough, but too hot and service is poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Kanzler
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rooms nice enough, but too hot and service is poor”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Rooms are nice, spacious, clean, and the kitchen is well-equipped for basic cooking - all great features. What would make this hotel even better is having some appropriate customer service. Upon arrival, I noted that the a/c or ventilation system was not working (LCD panel wouldn't even light up), so the room was uncomfortably hot. I have since asked seven (yes, SEVEN) times to have someone look at it, and have finally given up as the last response I was given was that the system is "clearly working" even though the outside air temperature is in the mid-30's Celsius and it feels cooler than the air in my room. I have requested to speak to manager, to have a fan (which I did receive) and to have the technician check the system, but to no avail. My more recent requests were responded to with dismissive and disrespectful responses. I have to stay at this hotel for business, but would strongly recommend that management revisit its approach to customer service. I also echo the calls from previous reviewers re: no soap in the bathroom, only a single towel (not changed when the room was cleaned), and improper cleaning in the kitchenette (mugs still had coffee in the bottom but were put back in the cupboards as 'clean'). Given that the basic elements are here for a good hotel, the only limitation is the service - which hopefully can/will improve.

I'm actually staying for another week, so will be interested to see whether there is any follow up on this review between now and then.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OttawaK2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joern V, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Kanzler, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for choosing the Kanzler hotel and your positive feedback concerning the room.

I am very sorry to tell you that we do not have a real A/C system. It is only air ventilation. Therefore the LCD panel has no use: Youcan either turn the system on or off.

We had the hottest June in history with app 34 degrees outside. The temperature in the rooms was during daytime app 28 degrees. There is only one thing the guests and staff members can do: Opening the windows. At night it cools down to app. 18 degrees. Bonn is a very safe town.

Due to our neighbours and the laws in Germany we are not allowed to use the cooling system from 10 PM to 6 AM.

I am very sorry about the inconvenience with the soap and towel in your bathroom. I talked to housekeeping (outsourced company) and my new head housekeeper started working last week.

Still I hope to welcome you to the Kanzler again.

Yours sincerely

Joern Volkmann
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    125
    62
    17
    9
See reviews for
24
72
20
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
432 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Good value business hotel on quiet street within easy walking distance of the DeutschePost tower.

Portraits of Hellmut Kohl and Willy Brandt flank the elevators in the lobby. You can therefore choose to take the CDU or the SDP elevator. FDP supporters must take the stairs..

One hundred Euros buys a small but well-designed and well-furnished room plus a good breakfast buffet. One challenge: to save space, the television was positioned practically at ceiling height, and could therefore only be viewed from a reclining position.

Some issues reflecting overkill by the environmentalists: single duvet on a double bed, inadequate number and size of bathroom towels; one bar of soap barely double the size of a US quarter and about as thin (is there a soap shortage in Germany?).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spencerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joern V, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Kanzler, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for choosing the Kanzler hotel. The location is really great. Also the supporters of the Green Party and the Communists have to take the stairs ;-) No - the reason is, that they never had a Prime Minister here in Germany. Therefore: No portrait.

If you need any additional towels or soap: Please do not hesitate to contact housekeeping of the front desk. There is liquid soap in the shower/bathtub. We changed the soap at the wash basin from liquid to bars. I will have to think about this decision.

Hope to welcome you again in the Derag Livinghotel Kanzler soon.

All the best to you and save journeys !

Yours

Joern Volkmann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Good rooms especially ground floor. nice & peaceful. Staff extremely rude at reception including the restaurant 'Dante. Room service is non existing pathetic. They just dont replenish your instant tea coffee maker inspite of requesting. No courtesy even to call and ask. Lacking customer service attitude bigtime. Breakfast limited to only a few dishes. Location is walking distance from Museum Konig underground station so was good. Walk to Bonn center takes around 20mins. Stay recommended only for couple of nights only if you have to!! No supermarkets nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amarkulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joern V, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Kanzler, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for staying with us. I am delighted, that you liked your room. Your quote "stay only if you have to" sounds very harsh to me. During the week our occupancy is app. 100%. There are many happy customers staying in our apartments for months. We would never force somebody to stay with us ;-)

Of course room service is existing. There are even menus in all of the guest rooms. Again "pathetic" is a quite heavy word very lightly thrown. Still I am very sorry that the communication concerning the opening hours or facilities was bad from our side. I will work on the matter !

The fact that you did not receive new tea and coffe and the cooking facility is not acceptable. Sorry for that ! The housekeeping is operated by another company and my new housekeeping manager will start on Monday. I will solve the problem immediatly.

The breakfast offers a great variety of bread, sausages, fresh food, mueslis, cereals, three different kind of juices, fish, eggs, bacon, vegetables, four kinds of tea, coffee, espresso, cappuchino, sausages and four warm dishes. To mention but a few.

Nearly every month we have season and regional specials: Italian weeks with Mozzarella, Pasta, Parma ham, American weeks with Burgers, Bagles and Doughnuts, etc.

Do you have any specific requests ? What are you lacking,Sir ?

The next supermarket is ReWe on Weberstraße, 1.2km = 0mi 1312.3yd away from the hotel. Not right around the corner, but around 12 minutes walking distance.

At the moment we are organizing a special food and cooking ingredience delivery service for our guest. I am waiting for the final confirmation of the store manager.

Still I hope to welcome you to the Kanzler again. Not by force, only for a nice and relaxing time. We will do our best to satisfy you.

May yours travels be save and your overnight stays pleasing ones.

Your sincerely

Joern Volkmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a reasonably priced apartments hotel in Bonn.
In the US these apartments would be called suites except that here they also provide a fully functional kitchenette.
The apartment I had was just enough in size for two people.
The apartment is very nicely designed, in European style and everything is made of wood. The space is very smartly utilized. the sleeping section has a comfortable bed and whole wall cabinet which includes jackets hanging area, drawers and shelves, hidden ironing board with iron and press, and a safe which is bolted down. The sitting area includes comfortable work desk, sofa and couch. Kitchenette is fully functional and you could store groceries and cook if you wanted. Tableware is included. Bathroom is spacious. Wifi is free.
Breakfast is very good with nice selection, although it is pricy and sitting area can get tight in the rush hour of the morning. The Italian restaurant in the lobby floor is very good and affordable. Reception staff is friendly and helpful.
Service however, is something else.Depending on your reservation and price, they will clean the room once or twice a week. I stayed here for 5 nights, and room was supposed to be cleaned twice a week. However, the second time was on the day that I checked out... And when someone did come in and cleaned the room (once) they clearly did the minimum possible to make it look ok. I mean you clean ONCE during my 5 nights stay. At least do that one well. (For some reason I could not start the dishwasher, and it was left filled with dirty tableware and utensils after the "clean up".) I reported a problem with my room door - which was never addressed. Also, the baggies of coffee tea sugar etc, to make hot drinks in your room are not being replenished. It is very annoying to find out while working at your computer at midnight that you can't make something hot to drink. So for a short stay, maybe two or three nights at the most, it is fine. Beyond it, it becomes uncomfortable. (I did stay here previously, for two nights and it felt better).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 501-505. While they are larger, they are at street level. The front wall of the room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joern V, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Kanzler, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for staying with us. I am happy that you like the hotel and the staff in general.

At the moment I am looking for a new head housekeeper. The previous one is taking care of her baby and her Assistant is pregnant as well.

There are some points I have to work out with the cleaning company. Their contract quotes that they are not allowed to touch personal belongings of the guests.This includes magazines, paperwork, pencils, etc. The idea the client gets is that the room is not cleaned properly.

The dishwasher has different programmes. Housekeeping should use the 30 minute short programme.Sometimes they choose the extended programme, lasting nearly two hours. They cancel the process and the water remains inthe machine. Again I have to talk to the company.

I am very sorry that the door was not fixedand tea and coffee were not refilled. This issues should be solved immediatly.

I hope that you will be staying with us for a long time. Every month we have a nice get together with all hotel guests. You are more than welcome to join !

Have a very nice day and thanks for the valuable information

Yours

Joern
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in jan 2014 for 10 days.
Fell sick for 2 days and had the staff pamper me as if I was at home.
The staff is dedicated and provides better service than most of the 5* establishments around town. At the receition there's a lady called Selina, stick to her if you need things done.
Def staying there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaq R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joern V, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Kanzler, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Zaq R,

thank you very much for your positive feedback. I hope that you are still feeling much better and that you will be returning to the Kanzler sonn !

All the best !

Yours

Joern (Volkmann)
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Second consecutive year we've stayed here in October and still excellent all round, especially now with free wifi! Used the restaurant this year too which was very good. Will definitely stay again next time we're in Bonn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolai99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joern V, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Kanzler, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback. You made my day !

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Have a great day and always safe journeys

Yours

Joern Volkmann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Large, very spacious, comfortable room with well-equipped kitchenette and terrace garden. Excellent bathroom. Pleasant staff. Free espresso in the lobby, Good Italian restaurant. The breakfast was very good. The hotel is close to the metro and the UN campus at walking distance. Would recommend it and definitely go back

Room Tip: business room with outside garden exit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joern V, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Kanzler, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback. I hope to welcome you again.

Yours

Joern Volkmann
Hotel Manager
Derag Livinghotel Kanzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
IntercityHotel Bonn
#9 of 79 in Bonn
298 reviews
Kameha Grand
#3 of 79 in Bonn
967 reviews
Zentrum
Collegium Leoninum Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Kanzler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Kanzler

Property: Derag Livinghotel Kanzler
Address: Adenauerallee 148, 53113 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bonn
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Derag Livinghotel Kanzler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Kanzler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanzler Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing