We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right if you like to get into the city and the woods”
Review of Hotel garni Jacobs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel garni Jacobs
Ranked #26 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just right if you like to get into the city and the woods”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

It's not luxurious in any way, but very personal, has free internet and a great breakfast. Moreover, if you just follow the rod up the hill you'll be entering a very nice park. I did quite a lot of jogging there. As I should, because the breakfast buffet is sumptuous for such a venue. I brought a bike along, which is great for touring around Bonn and even to the office, but you can easily park your car or use public transport as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardtmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    17
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
7
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

A wonderful quirky hotel with a lovely welcoming atmosphere, very helpful staff and a amazing breakfast every morning. theres a tram line straight from the main train station of bonn to the street corner near this hotel so easy to reach. Stayed at this hotel to attend Ringcon at the Hotel Maritim and even with us dressing in costume the staff remained helpful to none german speakers.

Room Tip: The separate building at the back of the hotel had amazing rooms, large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfenears55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This hotel has a really warm and traditional feel. I don't speak German but the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout - from when I arrived after the official check-in time to when I was late for breakfast and they prepared me a cooked breakfast. The breakfast selection itself is incredible for such a small hotel and for such a low price - there are a range of juices, cereals, cooked items and a large table full of different continental breakfast items, like smoked salmon and tomato and mozarella salad. It is literally a minute's walk from the nearest tram stop, and there are regular direct trams from here to the centre of Bonn (journey time is perhaps 10 minutes, no more). My single room was fairly small but very cosy, very clean, and with lots of nice touches. There is free internet access and a desk so suitable for those travelling for business. I certainly didn't expect such a good hotel for such a low price. The only negative comment I can think of is that the rooms are very hot, but there are large windows that can be opened for fresh air.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne-Louise_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I booked my stay through an online service and was not sure what I was in for. I was attending a conference at the Hotel Maritim so I needed to be at the southern end of the city. Hotel Jabobs (garni means it's a B&B) was off the beaten track, but close to a tram line that takes you straight to the heart of Bonn. If you need to go further south to Bad Godesburg, it's a bit out of the way. The room was large, the bed comfortable and the amenities were great. I was a business traveler so I appreciated the wifi that was fast and solid. The best part were the breakfasts which had everything you can imagine, from eggs, sausages, cereals, fruits, breads, cookies, cheeses, meat plates, juices, coffee and tea, etc. Several staff speak English and gave great recommendations for local restaurants.

My only complaint was that I was there when it was a bit muggy. I kept my windows open most of the time, but the little side street (Bergstrasse) is a bit loud. You may want to ask for a room on the other side, though without the window open I never noticed. I would definitely recommend this B&B with all it's German-kitsch charm!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctedesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We stayed here in July 2008 during a spell of bad weather and liked it a lot. This hotel is either an example of authentic German country style or an outrageous pastiche. We think it's probably genuine.
It majors on dark wood and lots and lots of decoration - pictures, wrought iron work, stuffed birds, gorgeous artificial flowers. Everything about it is clean and very well done. It's the kind of place where you don't just get salt. pepper and sugar on your table but sweeteners and lemon juice, too.
Very comfortable beds.
The breakfast is sumptuous: ten different cereals, meats, cheeses, yoghurts, fruits, all kinds of fresh breads with home-made jams. And any kind of eggs you want.
You'll need a car but there is adequate parking on site. It's 10-15 minutes drive into Bonn where there are plenty of car parks
All the signs in the Beethoven house are in German so get the audio guide in English unless you are fluent.
All attractions other than Beethoven's house seem to be closed on a Monday

  • Liked — Room and breakfast. Authentic atmosphere
  • Disliked — No garden
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickandRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
0.4 mi away
Astoria Hotel Bonn
Astoria Hotel Bonn
#25 of 79 in Bonn
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dorint Hotel Venusberg Bonn
1.0 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Kanzler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
My Sudstadt Bonn
My Sudstadt Bonn
#69 of 79 in Bonn
16 reviews
2.5 mi away
AKZENT Hotel Am Hohenzollernplatz
2.3 mi away
Hotel Baden
Hotel Baden
#27 of 79 in Bonn
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel garni Jacobs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel garni Jacobs

Property: Hotel garni Jacobs
Address: Bergstr. 85 - 87, 53129 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel garni Jacobs 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel garni Jacobs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing