We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spot for a one night stop in Bonn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Deutsches Haus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good spot for a one night stop in Bonn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Clean little budget hotel just a short walk from Beethoven's house and the centre of Bonn. The owner speaks good English and is very helpful. Some car parking on site but other car parking locally if this is full. Good Breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    44
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
37
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed here for the Grand Prix. Great central location. Very friendly welcome. Massive german breakfast. Parking on street outside (pay and display worked out at e1.20 overnight). Easy walk into town. Booked online, great value at e100

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markpilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACorr68
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We were camping in Germany, Rhine and Mosel Valleys "beautiful" - we wanted to treat ourselves to a night in a hotel before heading to Amsterdam and I looked up trip advisor and this hotel was well recommended and rightly so !!
Everything was good, location found very easy with Tom Tom, staff excellent very efficient and fluent English, manager/owner asked if we wished to view room first and gave us a price of 83 euro just let him know if it suited our needs. Bright double room on ground floor, looked onto court yard, all clean, beds very comfortable, shower room just a wee bit small but clean and had nice soap and towels.
Very quiet, didn't even know there was other people in hotel until breakfast, now breakfast was amazing everything you could ask for was provided, Manager/owner made sure you had everthing you needed and more.
In all a very good stay and would stay here again, just one word of warning not regarding this hotel but the Indian Curry House round the corner, please do not eat here - I was so sick and ill after a meal here I couldn't even eat the best buffet breakfast in the world !!
I cannot explain how bad the food in here i felt like I'd been poisoned !!

Room Tip: Groundfloor double, back of hotel very quiet, lovely beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACorr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights during our honeymoon. We were able to walk to the hotel easily from the train station and visit the main sites of Bonn on foot. The staff were helpful and all spoke good English.

The room was a simple, clean room on the second floor but there is not elevator so make sure you can manage the stairs! It was not particularly memorable but was all we needed for our short stay. The bathroom was clean with a decent shower. Wireless internet was available at a small cost.

The breakfast was very good but time differed from that written in the hotel information book in the room so be sure to double check! There was a lovely breakfast room to eat in with very attentive staff waiting to clear tables and replenish the food. We had fresh fruit, pancakes, pastries, yogurt there was also various meats, cheese and cereals. Tea and coffee were made fresh for each table.

Overall a good budget option in central Bonn and we would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josii11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed for 6 nights whilst attending an event in nearby Dusseldorf. What can I say? Well the hotel is lovely and clean, room spacious and immaculate, Breakfast one of the best we've had in Germany and the people running it were so charming and helpful- they even found us an empty room to have a sleep in after check out as we'd not got back from Dusseldorf until 5am and check out was 11am and our room was needed. A real delight. There is nothing negative to say- enjoy your stay ! We did.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divinerepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

First off the positives, I have to say the staff here are absolutely amazing and will bend over backwards to help you. The breakfast was delicious & the location is pretty good aswell - just a couple of blocks from the city centre; it's surrounded by some really good restaurants & the room was of a pretty decent size too... Now for the negatives, the cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired - we found hairs in our bed after our first night and we're sure they weren't ours! It looked like a wookie had slept in it. The cleaning lady comes into the room whether you have the "Do Not Disturb" sign displayed or not... bit of a shock when it happens especially more than once. There is a church across the road which chimes it's bells... a lot. Out the back every morning was the sound of a pneumatic drill, don't know where that was coming from. Our bedding was never changed, just the bins emptied and towels exchanged. There is no lift and we were on the third floor (heavy luggage bearers beware). There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room; Also how the TV was positioned in the room, only one bed could view the entire TV - the wardrobe obscured the view for the other person. Advertised there was an English speaking TV channel when there was none. It's not that I am nit-picking but when you've returned from concerts at 4.00am - the last thing you want to hear at 8.15am are church bells, the school run, a pneumatic drill or the cleaner in your room!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ESClad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
188 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

I used to live in Bonn back in the mid 1990s, and I wanted to return for a sentimental visit. The Deutsches Haus is top notch in nearly every way. Like most European hotels, its small. The rooms are really nice -- minimalist decor, great beds, and we had a nice view of the back courtyard. The bathroom is what sets this hotel apart -- big with real American-style showers. Yatzee! The breakfast is also well above average--don't miss the homemade yogurt. Located in the hip Altstadt, it is just steps from many great bars and restaurants and the pedestrian center. If you've never been to Bonn, it has one of the best pedestrian centers in a country full of great pedestrian centers. Make sure you grab a beer or several at Brauhaus Bonsch.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keithcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Zentrum
Collegium Leoninum Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zentrum
SternHotel Bonn
SternHotel Bonn
#14 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Nordstadt
Hotel Aigner
Hotel Aigner
#16 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsches Haus

Property: Hotel Deutsches Haus
Address: Kasernenstr. 19-21, 53111 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Deutsches Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Just like coming home" is the Hotel Deutsches Haus more than just a slogan. A cordial team that provides first-class service and a family atmosphere that characterizes the privately run 3-star hotel. In addition, the hotel boasts Location: central and yet quiet location at the edge of the Bonn pedestrian zone and only about 300 meters from the River Rhine. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Deutsches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing