We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't understand the bad reviews”
Review of Hotel zum Adler

Hotel zum Adler
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel zum Adler
Ranked #38 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Zum Adler Hotel was our Bad Godesburg hotel on a 9 day bike tour. I had looked up all of our hotels here on TripAdvisor, and it was the only one I was a bit nervous about d/t poor reviews. I had nothing to fear. The gentleman at the desk was extremely welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. Some areas are showing a bit of wear, but they are busily painting and otherwise renovating as time and I expect cash flow, allow. The room was very clean w a window opening to a quiet courtyard. The bathroom was larger than some, spotless and well appointed. Had a very reasonably priced nightcap in the cozy little bar before retiring. Standard German breakfast (yum) w plenty to choose from. The hotel is well located (but in Bad Godesberg, not Bonn centre) and has a small garage if you're driving or need to park your bike.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank 102countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Hotel zum Adler
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our organization has been booking a block of rooms here a couple of times of year for several years now, and we haven't considered looking elsewhere. The rooms are small and utilitarian, but clean and organized. The regular staff we've known for years do everything to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. There is a typically german breakfast buffet ranging from scrambled eggs and sausage, cheese and cold cuts to yogurt and fresh fruit and juice. The outside patio off the bar is a great place to have a beer, socialize or work. Located close to the subway and train station in Bad Godesberg.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I can not write a review on this hotel because although we had booked two rooms, on arrival was told that there had been reassigned.
the reason? you need to arrive before 18 p.m. (while we were in flight), otherwise you lose your reservation. all this despite having booked online via credit card. we were dumped there without even an attempt to find another place.
Terrible

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Datarexcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

- unfriendly
- having the feeling, that the guest annoys
- very small rooms
- shower gel, soap was missing view times
- Breakfast value is poor
+ Center of Bad Godesberg
- Not close to Bonn City Center

Room Tip: Dont take a room at the end of the floor - they very very small!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Travelmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Booked a room here on 9th July through booking.com. Arrived on October 4th for our 4 night stay to be told "another guest has extended his stay so we have no room for you". Tried to move us to another hotel they owned which was unacceptable and opted to look for another hotel. Threatened to charge 80% for the first night even though they could not offer what was booked.Then told booking.com we never turned up on the 4th. Hotel may be very nice, facilities wise, but will never know.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicolai99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Hotel zum Adler is located in the centre of the Bad Godesberg which is a neighborhood to Bonn. The train and bus station are nearby, so that public transport is very easy. The room in the hotel was okay and quiet. Beds are comfortable, the bathroom was renovated. The size of the room is not that big but sufficient. Room was clean, so was the bathroom. The hotel itself is a bit oldfashioned and outdated. There is a small bar and a breakfast room. Buffet breakfast is okay with eggs, cereals, juices, breads, etc.. The point was, that there was no refill of eggs. The quality of the food was basic. Service at the hotel was good, check in and check out very friendly. Hotel can be recommended for a business or short stay. Price was in my opinion too high for the quality provided.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvellousworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Stayed there for 6 days very recently.
Located just 2 min walk from Bad Godesburg train station.

Service at the hotel was not great ... some rceeptionists did not speak english....checked in and got to my room which was not yet cleaned from previous occupants.

Room very compact.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EightMilesHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Kronprinzen Hotel
#43 of 79 in Bonn
15 reviews
Park Hotel
#57 of 79 in Bonn
21 reviews
Alt-Godesberg
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#62 of 79 in Bonn
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Burgblick
#54 of 79 in Bonn
19 reviews
Hotel Rheinland
#70 of 79 in Bonn
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zum Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Adler

Address: Koblenzer Str. 60, 53173 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn > Alt-Godesberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Price Range: £71 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel zum Adler 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel zum Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing