We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In one word: Average.”
Review of Hotel Am Roemerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Am Roemerhof
Ranked #41 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“In one word: Average.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

First I will say, that we stayed in the Apartments of the Hotel, that are located on Rosenthal 52, 50 meters from the hotel in a different building but it was with breakfast and room cleaning.

We stayed in the apartments for one week(6 nights) for a price of 100 Euro per night. We received a huge apartment of one bedroom, a living room, a kitchen and WC. The Bedroom was a bigest room in the apartment, it included a double bed and a personal bed, a TV, a wardrobe, a desk and an exit to a closed balcony. The best thing in our stay was the beds, comfortable beds that it was hard to wake up. The TV was an old TV, that hardenly worked and had maybe 20 channels, with only CNN that wasn't a german speaking channel. We didn't used the wardrobe for one reason: It was swinging even when empty and we didn't want that it will fall on the beds. Luckely, we had not a lot of things so we could place them in the closet near the door. The balcony was a nice balcony with a table and 4 chairs with a view to the garden of the hotel.
The kitchen was a fully equipped kitchen with 8 big plates, 8 small ones, forks, knifes, glasses, tea cups, a filter coffee maker, a microwave, an oven, cooking stoves, a mini refrigerator and all the equipment you need to make yourself food.
The bathroom was the big problem: An old bathroom, with a strange toilet that flushes the water to a little hole in front of the toilet from a kind of a wall that occupies the most of the place. The bath had a huge problem with hot water. The bath had two water taps, one for hot and one for cold. The cold water was very very cold, maybe 10 degrees max, and there was no pressure of hot water. If you love a bath with a still-hot water, you will have a big problem because you will need to have a bath with water that barely reaches your body even from a distance of 20 cm. If someone will brush his teeth or open the hot water in another tap, then you will have no hot water at all! The hotel will change your towels only if you will throw them to the bath before going away, so be aware.
The living room is an average size room, with a sofa, a dining table and a little closet with shelfs where you could find books in German and some board games.
And now for the breakfast and service: The breakfast starts at 7 AM and ends on 9:30 AM so you must wake up early. The breakfast had a very little choise: Two Omelets, one with ham and one with herbs and sausages. All of these can end even if you will come 40 minutes till the end, that what happened to us and we needed to ask that the workers will personally cook us. Also you can find white bread(no black), a big choise of confitures, some cheese and sausages and a choise between regular cornflackes and Musli. To drink you will find orange juice(again, it will probablly end and you will need to ask for a refill), a big choise of tea and a cofee and hot chocolate makers. Very average breakfast with a very small choise.
The location of the hotel is about 10 min. of walk from the old town with a bus stop 5 min. of walk, near the Beethoven-Halle. There is an irish pub with pool tables across the street from the hotel and it is approximetly 5-10 minutes from the Rhein.
Additional short things that is good to know:
* No Wi-Fi in the appartments, in the hotel rooms there is a Wi-Fi for every floor.
* Towel and bedding changing every day but floor cleaning only once a week.
* The hotel gives you benefits in some restaurants and attractions in Bonn with a map with these places on it.

At all, a very average hotel that for it's price. could be better and with newer furniture and electronics. I can't recommend you to stay in this hotel.
Sorry if my review was to long but I hope that it helped you.

Room Tip: Do not take the appartment rooms! For a half of this price you will find better appartments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    35
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
18
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
245 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We should have known not to expect too much of a hotel so close to the centre of Bonn with free parking and breakfast included for such a reasonable rate... For a start one of us was moved to an apartment across the road even though we'd booked two single rooms 4 months in advance. The whole place looked a bit run-down and in need of renovation. There was a ridiculous amount of choice at breakfast (who on earth needs 20 types of honey to chose from??), but it was so poorly organised that breakfast time was chaotic at best. I couldn't wait to get out and even abandoned my attempt to get coffee. If you're looking for a cheap room within walking distance of the Altstadt then this could be for you, but personally I'd rather pay a bit more and be further out to get something better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastSussexToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

in the hotel for a week and can honestly recommend it. The décor is a little "old-school" but this is more than outweighed by the ambience and the helpful staff. The breakfast is particularly good. The hotel is only a five minute walk from the banks on the Rhine so walking to and from the centre of Bonn was relaxing and enjoyable. A well-sited, well-priced hotel!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor Room 19 overlooking Rosentalstrasse - not too far to carry suitcases with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBursonThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel to visit the Bonn Christmas market, which was within walking distance. The room we had was quite large, very clean and comfortable. There was quite a good choice at breakfast. The one down side for me was that we were on the 3rd floor and there was no lift, ordinarily that would not be a problem but I have a very bad back and going up all those stairs several times did not help ( I should have checked first).

Room Tip: Just remember there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilloutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here while attending a UN conference. The staff members were very nice and helpful. The breakfast (which came with the room) was excellent; among the best I have had in Germany. The room was small but functional. The free wifi worked well. The hotel was about an 8 minute walk to the tram. Consequently, I could leave my car at the hotel (with its free parking) and use public transporation to get to my meetings.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Plan and pack accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank bullwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Hotel Am Romerhof. The staff was very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The breakfast was amazing! They offered so many different and delicious items and the largest array of teas, jams, jellies and honeys that I've ever seen. The room was small but clean. Parking was free. Free Wi-Fi was available and the location gave easy access to the rest of Bonn. I would recommend staying here

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beanie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Staff were very friendly! Marcel (hope I remembered the name right) went to a lot of effort to make sure we were comfortable. Didn't mind at all about late checkout, and looked after our bags all day. Great central location, would definitely stay again. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruzzty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
Hotel Baden
#25 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Nordstadt
Hotel Aigner
Hotel Aigner
#18 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Zentrum
Bonn City Hotel
Bonn City Hotel
#24 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#14 of 79 in Bonn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Hotel Mozart
#36 of 79 in Bonn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Roemerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Roemerhof

Property: Hotel Am Roemerhof
Address: Roemerstr. 20, 53111 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Roemerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Am Roemerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing