We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Brenner'scher Hof
Ranked #142 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel is just wonderful. We chose it because I was having a hard time finding a place in Cologne with parking (that wasn't $50) and I am so glad we did!

The place was easy to find and it's in a little residential area. We were pretty tired by the time we arrived that night from touring the castle road, so we stuck to the area. The room was small but fantastically furnished, tiled floors helped keep it cool (no AC!) and the bathroom was large with lots of space to set things. The front desk also gave us a fan which made the room more than comfortable.

The staff at this hotel literally could not have been nicer. From check-in to the excellent included breakfast to check out and everything we needed in between, I was so impressed with their courtesy and hospitality. We ate dinner next door at the potato restaurant and it was outstanding, then walked around the corner and got some beer and dessert treats at the local market (directions provided by the front desk). The front desk also sold us stamps for our postcards. I would go back in a second!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSKorelys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

I have used this hotel several times - always a good experience. Its location is odd at first since its located in a residential area but with two restaurants and a supermarket close it ok. Some rooms are a bit quirky and my recent stay in no.33 meant poor wifi and a shower designed for a very short person otherwise I would recommend.

Room Tip: ask for room not overlooking the courtyard - its noisy in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I’ve stayed here twice so far and both occasions have been a good experience. Location is ok [a bit hidden], but rooms are relatively big and comfortable. Public transportation is nearby and the city center of Cologne is only 10-15 minutes away by public transportation. On both occasions I had a car so I’ve only taken public transportation once; but … it was a good, easy and fast experience. The hotel is in a “beer garden” setting with 2 or 3 decent restaurants nearby. Probably my next stay again when I’m in the Cologne area. Note: There are obviously many other choices in Cologne, so I'm not saying this is my #1 hotel in Cologne but, ... the location works out really well for me [personally] and nothing upsets me about this place. Hope that puts it in perspective. Price/quality you'll get a good deal! One final note: take a business card from the hotel when you go out. Some taxi drivers will claim [and believe] there is no “Best Western” in this part of Cologne. In other words, it’s a bit of a "hidden gem" and unless you're familiar with the immediate area, you may end up having some discussions with "local" taxi drivers (in German). So, especially when German is not your "forte" ... take the business card!

Room Tip: Get the top floor room. Can't quite call it the "penthouse" but it's on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RCGenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I really liked this hotel.
Not sure where it ranks as a 4 star - but its great.

Staff - friendly and helpful.
Parking - limited but very novel!

Food - potatoe restaurant was fantastic and reasonably priced. Very busy though.
Breakfast was standard buffet fare.

Room - tiled floors, old furniture etc. Great. They supply slippers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acornise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2008

Fabulous restaurants on site, lovely setting but the accomodation is not 4-star. Hotel has a mediterranean theme, but a tiled bedroom in the middle of winter? Hmmm - better bring your slippers. Room had a warm/damp feel about it. Hard pillows. Room didn't have the usual 4-star "accessories", you have to ask for most things, but the receptionist was very obliging. Breakfast very poor choice indeed. Had a lovely meal at the Potato Restaurant (100 potato dishes!), but I think this is what is giving the hotel that extra star.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gplGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dER_roYbEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elvira_und_Ulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cologne
Garten-Hotel Ponick
#109 of 261 in Cologne
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lindenthal
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#132 of 261 in Cologne
44 reviews
Hotel Frechener Hof
#3 of 9 in Frechen
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brenner'scher Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brenner'scher Hof

Address: Wilhelm-von-Capitaine-Str. 15, 50858 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: £98 - £457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Brenner'scher Hof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Brenner'scher Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing