We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend Adolph's Gasthaus”
Review of Adolph's Gasthaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adolph's Gasthaus
Ranked #4 of 61 Cologne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Very happy with our accommodation here. Plenty of safe parking and the train is directly outside the hotel, however you don't hear any noise at all with the windows closed. It is very quiet at night. It suited us as we didn't want to drive in to the city every day and the train service runs every 15 minutes and is reasonably priced with English instructions on the ticket machines and at the train stop. Journey takes about 15-20 minutes.
Hotel rooms are large and clean with very comfortable beds. Disappointed that our tea/coffee supplies were not replenished when the room was cleaned.
Breakfast if plentiful. The European platter of meats, cheese etc. is accompanied by eggs of your choice (if required) and also a huge variety of freshly baked rolls and croissants etc.
English is spoken well here and staff are very friendly and accommodating. We were given a map of Cologne and helpful hints on where to go and what to see etc. Didn't need to visit the tourist office at all.
There is no refrigerator in the room, however we had some goods that needed refrigeration and that wasn't a problem; they stored them for us until our departure.
Bakery attached to the hotel/restaurant is very popular with locals queuing up outside for it to open of a morning.
Would definitely recommend and would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

The hotel is not located in the center of town, so that means a few things, 1) really good service as the hotel is family owned and Joe the owner operator really wants to make sure your stay is pleasant. 2) Free parking - there is a parking lot outside the hotel and the car is safe. 3) Train or tram stop is outside the hotel, so it is very easy to get to Aldstadt or the DOM or anywhere else you want or need to go. If you have a car on your trip and dont want to deal with the hassles of downtown parking, then consider this Boutique hotel as a great option. There is free WIFI in the hotel, and the rooms are large on European standards and average size to good size for Americans. We had a double room and the bathroom was nice as well, with good hot water and water pressure! The hotel will be updating its rooms shortly and this will only make the hotel that much nicer, I hope they style the rooms the same way as the restaurant below, or even go with the Bakery theme as the hotel is a Bakery (I think the Bakery was here first)... but either way as it is it is just fine so any remodel will make the hotel just that much better! We ate at the Bakery and I can strongly recommend the chocolate cake and the cheesecake as well as the coffee. The bread is delicious as well. Service is top notch! We had dinner in the restaurant, and it did not disappoint. Good overall value, clean rooms, comfortable beds, good food and a bakery... makes this a fantastic out of the way stay. I would not think of staying anywhere else next time I am in Cologne.

Room Tip: Get a dessert at the Bakery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

It looks like a nice hotel, very kind staff. I've arrived at the middle of the night which caused all the troubles. As no receptions the key was outside in a safe, lucky another roomer just dropped in and opened it. We did not call the phone number on the box so nobody knew i was there. Next early morning just a coffee, the boss is not there yet, i left the key by a staff member as she made a promise to talk to the boss.
Late afternoon arriving back it turned out they thought i have not arrived yesterday -as the key was there and the lady did not say anything- and sold my room.
They were very kind to find another place close and gave a discount. My favorite electrical toothbrush somehow disappeared, but they were kind to give me a simple one...as it turned out with an empty tiny moisturising cream bottle :D

So, be prepared for their kindness :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zee_budapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

we've stayed at this propery not having been able to stay at the property we usually stay when in cologne and have come back since as it's such a great deal. although the location might not be perfect for tourists, it's easy to commute into town by tram as it stops right in front of the hotel.

the property is run by the owners and it shows that they put a lot of love into their work. running a bakery as well, you get one of the best breakfasts i have ever experienced in a hotel - best of all it's already included in the room rate.

can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to all that need a safe, clean place to stay at while in town.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDeals_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Muminek74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Doppelzimmer
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carmen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
THE QVEST hideaway
THE QVEST hideaway
#8 of 61 in Cologne
89 reviews
Hotel Fortune
#10 of 61 in Cologne
45 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Humboldt1
Humboldt1
#5 of 61 in Cologne
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adolph's Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adolph's Gasthaus

Address: Ruedellstr. 1, 50737 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cologne
Price Range: £57 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adolph's Gasthaus 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our individually run hotel north of Cologne provides family-like hospitality in modern but cozy atmosphere. The comfortable and fully refurbished rooms are the presequisite for a pleasant stay. The hotel is located quietly but easily accessible in Gartenstadt Nord of Cologne. The "Dom" and downtown are just 15-20 min away via public transportation from right in front our doors. Our young and motivated team welcomes you in our modern restaurant with regional and home-style cooking cuisine. For breakfast you are treated with daily fresh baked goods from our in-house bakery. We look forward to welcoming you here in Cologne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Adolph's Gasthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing