We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for young people :)”
Review of Black Sheep Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Sheep Hostel
Catanzaro, Italia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for young people :)”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I've been here before my Erasmus. The staff is really nice, and customers ar young. The hostel is in the city, very central and well connected, very close to zulpicherplaz (great for nightlife). There is a kitchen with a large living room, with fridge and stove for cooking whenever you want.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catestr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    37
    16
    11
    7
See reviews for
2
9
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, 2 of the nights had an 6 bed dorm to ourselves which was nice. Services are basic but is still everything that you could need from a hostel. Everything was kept clean and in working order, staff went through and vacuumed, cleaned etc every day. The staff were knowledgable about the city with a many suggestions about what to visit and see, they were also friendly enough. Had wifi which worked throughout the whole place and the kitchen had enough equipment to be able to make a meal. All in all a great hostel that is also quite cheap, would recommend. Not relevant to the hostel but if you are into clubbing make sure to visit the bootshaus club, it is absolutely fantastic!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaunaus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Lady at the counter was really kind and helpful with finding our way around Cologne, dorm rooms were quite big, but beds were squeaky and annoying. Kitchen was always dirty and there was no atmosphere at all. Showers were poor; had to hold the shower head to shower. Bit expensive overall for what it was.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank emzthe1 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed here for a week having just arrived in Germany and enjoyed it, although there is definite room for improvement. Firstly, the staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. I arrived before the scheduled check in time and they were happy to make me a coffee then look after my bag while I went back out.
The location is OK, but a 45 minute walk to the train station/cathedral. There is a metro stop just outside which takes you there quickly, but also a lot of shops and restaurants closer to the hostel. With the window open at night it is extremely loud due to continuous traffic outside and too hot in the summer to keep it shut, so not one for light sleepers.
There is no wifi but a free computer, although that is very busy with everyone using it (or McDonald's wifi directly downstairs). The atmosphere in the common area/kitchen is very good, there's a guitar for people to use and rooftop terrace where everyone socialises. I was travelling alone and instantly met other people each day. The free breakfast is basic but OK - toast, spreads and cereals and there is free spaghetti every night for your use.
The rooms are decorated by a theme (dragons/Africa etc) and are clean with comfortable bunk beds. I'd stay here if I were to return to Cologne.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_Spain2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed in this hostel for a weekend with a friend who had recommended it to me. I really liked it above all because of the way it is decorated and laid out. There are brightly coloured rooms each with a different theme, a kitchen/lounge area with comfy sofas and table and lots of pictures, and a private terrace outside where you can sit and have drinks or a meal. It feels really homely. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed, the staff were friendly and I felt safe there. It's also clean and there are lots of showers, and it's easy to get into town. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I parked in a Park and Ride about 15 minutes tram ride away from this Hostel. I also walked here from Central Station which I do not recommend when lugging your bags in the heat.

When I arrived the guy on reception was very helpful even though I didn't have a reservation and was very knowledgeable of the area.

My room was clean and secure, it was meant to fit 4 mixed but only one other guy stayed that night and I didn't see him until morning. The room was the Berber themed room, each has its own theme which is a nice touch and although still basic was a nice unique touch. The rooms had lockers and plug sockets and bunk beds.

After a day and night on the town I came back to find the common room full on people to socialise with. Everyone bought drinks from the nearby shop and drank out on the roof terrace.

The hostel is close to some local parks with beer tents and is right next to a tram station. The breakfast was basic toast and cereal but does the job. The price was good and I'd happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose your room based on group size/sharing preference. There are mixed and single sex rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molespit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

From the outside it doesn't look spectacular but it's clean and very close to a lot of cheap bars and restaurants. The staff is not amazing but very efficient. The hostel is right in front a tram stop so you can easily reach touristic attractions. There's some sort of free breakfast but I would recommend to have something out.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AiliMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Ibis Styles Koeln City
Ibis Styles Koeln City
#97 of 261 in Cologne
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
art'otel cologne
#26 of 261 in Cologne
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Sheep Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Sheep Hostel

Property: Black Sheep Hostel
Address: Barbarossaplatz 1, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Neustadt-Süd
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Sheep Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Black Sheep Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing