We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Industrial looking hotel off the beaten path”
Review of BURNS Art Cologne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BURNS Art Cologne
Ranked #67 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Industrial looking hotel off the beaten path”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed here in April while going to a concert close by. Hotel has very urban industrial feel to it. If you like concrete, you'll love it. Concrete walls and floors with Ikea-esque furnishings give it a modern feel. Rooms are small but typical for Europe.

It's on a side street off the beaten path in not the greatest area and not much to see or do in walking distance.

Overall decent hotel if you're going to arena or for business.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    71
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
45
6
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed there for one night. The room was just a standard hotel room, the wallpaper was kind of yellow-ish in some corners and went off and the bathroom was very small. The hallway is very weird, but not in a design-way. In general I don't understand why this hotels calls itself "art hotel".
We met 2 receptionists and they were very nice, friendly and helpful.
The outstanding thing was the breakfast, this was really great and delicious - this is the reason why the hotel did not fail in the end, I would actually go back there just because of the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karakron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Our booking was for the Burns Fair and More but on arrival the put us in the Art hotel rooms next door which are 4* compared to the 3* Fair and More.
It is a bizarre hotel, lots of concrete! but our room was very comfortable and quiet at night. We had breakfast over at the Fair & More and the buffet was good (though the Captain Morgens being drunk neat by Russian Ice Hockey fans was an optional extra!).
As we were over for the World Ice Hockey Finals, we found this hotel very reasonably priced.
We found the staff very helpful.
The hotels are situated in the middle of a housing estate.
It is certainly not central but we walked in an out of Cologne. It is about 15mins walk to the Deutz Messe S Bahn (get the airport train from here) and 15 mins from there, across the railway bridge footpath to the Dom. There are several good places to eat opposite Deutz Messe.
The U-Bahn goes very close to the hotel, about a 5 min walk away.
It was certainly very handy for the Arena and the Rheinpark was a good place to spend a couple of hours on a sunny day, there is even a beach bar there.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over the 2010 new year's eve. The place is about 20-25mins by tram from the Cologne HBF (which is the Central Railway Station) and includes about 5 mins walk. The reception is helpful, friendly and speaks English. The rooms are decent sized with TV, bathtub, hairdryer etc. The only problem I had was there was no complimentary tea/coffee and no provision for hot water. The breakfast was good with lot of variety but the hotel does not have any restaurant. There is a Kiosk next to hotel but is very small and I thought was bit expensive (maybe because it was New Year's eve). Although there is a departmental store nearby the hotel but I found it closed everytime I crossed it in the morning and in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preeti_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Stayed here for three nights.

The hotel is about 5 mins walk to the nearest S-Barn and about 20-25mins train ride to get to Hbf (Central) station.

Receptionists not too friendly.

Room was nice, decent size, minibar included but no room service. Nice bathroom with bathtub and shower. Breakfast was decent.

Despite the unfriendly staff, we would stay here again as it's value for money and rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NilsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Mülheim
BURNS Fair And More
BURNS Fair And More
#54 of 261 in Cologne
197 reviews
Mülheim
Centro Hotel Ayun
Centro Hotel Ayun
#192 of 261 in Cologne
257 reviews
Mülheim
Best Western Premier Hotel Park Consul Koeln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Servatius Hotel
#101 of 261 in Cologne
65 reviews
Deutz
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Dorint An der Messe Koln
#29 of 261 in Cologne
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BURNS Art Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BURNS Art Cologne

Property: BURNS Art Cologne
Address: Adam-Stegerwald-Str. 9, 51063 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Mülheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BURNS Art Cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Particularly long-term guests, business travellers and culture enthusiasts will find a second home at the BURNS Art Cologne! Located directly at Cologne's trade fair centre, the hotel affords rooms and spaces featuring sophisticated architecture. The Burns Art Hotel is one of the privately-run, 4-star hotels in Cologne with a unique philosophy that corresponds with the art concept of its culture-loving owners. It is already the fifth hotel of its kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your BURNS Art Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing