We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel in a wonderful part of the city, with helpful, friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hopper Hotel St. Josef
Ranked #115 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We only spent a night at the Hopper, but we will most definitely return. On arrival the reception staff were so helpful and friendly, we had a problem with a traffic incident shortly after arrival ( the police arrived saying we'd been 'seen' doing an illegal left turn by a member of the public!!) so (large) fine paid we went back into the hotel where they offered us a free drink at the bar after our rather long ordeal. We had a single and double room, both offered luxury, comfort, simplicity and cleanliness. My only complaint is that I hate all the glass door/ no doors currently fashionable in hotel room bathrooms. The building is stunning and setting quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel, oh and even though it was raining the receptionist walked us down the road to show us where the hotel parking was as we couldn't find it. That is service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

I spent one night here in July 2013 for a social visit to Cologne. The building and interior are unique. The location is great. The rooms are small and, once you get over the awe of the modernity, some of the room limitations start to bother. You have to watch TV from bed. The light switches were confusing. The soap dispenser in the shower was almost empty. My limited interaction with the desk staff was pleasant, but I can imagine that they are not used to dealing with complaints, as other comments have indicated. The room was clean. I slept well (no disturbances from neighbors). The breakfast was excellent. I'd give this Hotel 3.5 stars if I could, but, given the unique setting and generally good atmosphere, I'll round up to four. I'd stay here again, but only for personal travel and only if I did not plan to spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandererFFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Hopper St. Josef in Cologne’s lively Southern district prides itself on a modern approach.
Located in a historical building that used to be a child daycare center, the building has been transformed into a “Designhotel” with ambient lighting and modern interiors throughout.

The most spectacular aspect about the hotel is arguably the breakfast room, a former chapel with high ceilings and stained glass. Having stayed in the hopper for about 20 days in the spring and early summer of 2013, I can confirm that a plentiful hot breakfast buffet and chapel’s calm atmosphere are a good way to start the day. Another very positive aspect is the friendliness of hotel staff.

However, there are some drawbacks that business travelers especially may want to consider. Some rooms are very small, and there is no real workspace. Instead of desks and standard chairs, the Hopper went for fold-out desks and uncomfortable design chairs. Working is very inconvenient in this setup – and becomes nearly impossible due to the “innovative” approach to light. Each of the five rooms I have stayed in did not come with a bright lamp – the main light was more of a subdued background light. Great for winding down, not so much for working. Desk lamps are also not included in the rooms. Neither is air conditioning. Plus, owing to the structure of the building, you may need to take a few stairs to your room as you step out of the elevator. Keep this in mind when you travel with heavy bags.

If you like cardio exercise, it’s best to skip the small basement gym with two pieces of equipment and head straight to the Rhine boardwalk 2 minutes away.

My final verdict is that the Hopper is a charming hotel best suited for creative-minded leisure travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MT87_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Hopper St. Josef is so modern it needs operating instructions! But all works well and everything is very convenient. Small room with small bed - but very comfortable. The breakfast room is lovely - situated in a former nunnery with contemporary stained glass windows - it's a great place for the very good breakfast that comes with the room.
The area is a 20 minute walk from the train station and quieter than around the station - but for some travelers who want to be dead-center, this is a little further out.
Very good service too...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I got relocaed from an overbooked hotel to the Hopper Hotel St Josef for one night.

The hotel is very nice and modern. It looks fabulous, the hallways are a real delight, the rooms are a miracle in efficient design. You really notice that a lot of thought went into all features and the way to stuff them in a very small space. Bathroom, seperate toilet, closets looked great and new. Everything was clean and tidy. The hotel offered free WiFi and it worked fine, the room was even equipped with a BlueTooth enabled iPod-docking station.
The only downside that I need to mention: The single rooms are tiny, even in absolute terms and not only in comparison to the appartment sized hotel rooms you might find in northern America. :-)

The hotel has limited parking space, parking might be available at a large parking lot 300 m away.
The hotel is situated in a calm area, about 1,5 km south of the main city centre, with it's shops and tourist attractions. It might not be your first choice if your main focus is heavy shopping or nightlife & clubs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcnicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A beautiful hotel in lovely area. This hotel is a bit away from the main tourist areas (about 20 - 25 min walk), but in a really lovely area. there are plenty of lovely bars and restaurants in walking distance (Haus Muller was 2 minute walk and excellent) and within a 5 minute walk is one of the lovely city gates. If you want a stylish hotel in a unique area away from the main tourist traps - then this is the place. Excellent English spoken by all staff and service was attentive and friendly. Really enjoyed it. The breakfast is superb - great choice and quality. Pillows... are very flat...but we are encountering this everywhere..so it's a European thing! Huge wet bathroom, couldn't fault the hotel at all.

Room Tip: Some rooms are smoking..can be a bit annoying with windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 5 nights on business and really liked it. The breakfast in the chapel was something special. Wifi for Free and ran great. Staff AT the Reception very friendly and helpful.

If in Cologne I would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELALOT1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hopper Hotel St. Antonius
Hopper Hotel St. Antonius
#96 of 263 in Cologne
168 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Am Augustinerplatz
Hotel Am Augustinerplatz
#65 of 263 in Cologne
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt-Nord
Hotel Viktoria
Hotel Viktoria
#120 of 263 in Cologne
88 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#64 of 263 in Cologne
508 reviews
Neustadt-Süd
Hopper Hotel et cetera
Hopper Hotel et cetera
#147 of 263 in Cologne
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopper Hotel St. Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopper Hotel St. Josef

Address: Dreikoenigenstr. 1-3, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: £84 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hopper Hotel St. Josef 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hopper Hotel St. Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing