We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, cheap, clean and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hopper Hotel St. Josef
Ranked #134 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here a number of times and have always enjoyed my stay. It's basic, clean and compact. Breakfast is decent and the small bar adequate. The rooms are compact with a walk in bathroom. However, the bed lets it down. The pillows are awful and even requesting a second pillow it was like using two pieces of paper.

Given the above I'd still stay there again. It's cheap and good value for money. Not the best location in town but you can't argue with the price.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank neil-amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Beautiful hotel in a less chic area but an area which nonetheless has its own ethnic restaurants and shops but still just 10 mins stroll form the main shopping area.Great rail+bus connections to all parts of the city.
Room was top class. high end speaker system connects via bluetooth to devices. Very contemporary. Had everything needed. Lots of nice touches.
Cool reception.
Amazing breakfast room. The nicest ever as it looks to be in a former chapel but tastefully modernised. I didn't want to leave it. Breakfast great also.
Great price and i want to return with my family some time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Finding a hotel room in Cologne is challenging due to the vast amount of business events in the city. This demand also pulls up the prices of hotel rooms. At Hopper St. Josef I received a nicely styled, but a very compact room for a whopping €214. Narrow shape, single bed, no desk. No amenities.

The hotel stands out thanks to the historical building where beautiful old building has been restored and decorated with taste, including art pieces. The breakfast room enjoys old churchlike windows. The buffet is nice apart from the fact that cappuccino comes from a automate. Again, for the price point you would expect attention to these types of quality factors.

Service at breakfast room and check out was processed without a hint of warmth or smile. They seem to be relying on the beautiful building alone to attract guests. For the price point I cannot accept that they have neglected service. A friendly reminder, your business is not real estate, it’s HOSPITALITY.

My conclusion: not worth your money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yozsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

As I drove past the hotel, I realized that, a couple of years ago, I ventured for the first on only time into this area of Cologne on foot to attend an "early-days" Rufus Wainwright concert. And I remember feeling, at the time, "slightly too far away from the center," to put it euphemistically.
To my surprise, I, also noticed that The Hopper was located just off the new, Rhine-front/harbor district with the impressive "crane" buildings suspended high above the water which I wanted to explore.
Although I booked a double room, its size was still fairly small but this is understandable as the hotel is housed in a former cloister. The size of the room was compensated by its design and clever layout and, also, the bay window and a terrace overlooking the chestnut trees and the area (a terrace with outdoor furniture, to rest up, read, have a drink).
The bright white room with bright green color touches and a small art work installed in a box, offered sufficient comfort; the sound system to connect your iPhone to was a nice plus.
Breakfast is served in the esthetically redesigned chapel with stained glass windows and nice, soft light and colors. You access the kitchen for a self-service offer of plenty of fresh products and an array of dishes. Excellent quality and included in the price/deal.
For a parking space, however, you have to drive to the main road along the river where there is a vast garage (PS: go to the 5000-range area, otherwise, you will find yourself within quite a walk from the hotel). (PS2: it's a public parking lot but the fee amounts to 22€/a night).
Not yet the most vibrant area and place within walking distance, along the water, of the old center.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Philippe1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

the room which i got was very small . no space at all to move around . they did a nice job in the room design , but still very small . the room was very clean and new
the bad was too hard
the breakfast was good, good food selection , some good restaurants around for dinner

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rani0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at the hotel recently for business and although at a great location definitely not a place I would recommend. The rooms are too small, many little details just don't make sense (not enough space on floor to open suitcase and still be able to walk by, mirror in bathroom not in front of sink but on your left side, not enough light to properly shave, etc....). Wireless continuously not working which in a business hotel I found unacceptable. Great breakfast, but no restaurant for launch or dinner within the hotel. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We only spent a night at the Hopper, but we will most definitely return. On arrival the reception staff were so helpful and friendly, we had a problem with a traffic incident shortly after arrival ( the police arrived saying we'd been 'seen' doing an illegal left turn by a member of the public!!) so (large) fine paid we went back into the hotel where they offered us a free drink at the bar after our rather long ordeal. We had a single and double room, both offered luxury, comfort, simplicity and cleanliness. My only complaint is that I hate all the glass door/ no doors currently fashionable in hotel room bathrooms. The building is stunning and setting quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel, oh and even though it was raining the receptionist walked us down the road to show us where the hotel parking was as we couldn't find it. That is service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Neustadt-Süd
Hopper Hotel et cetera
Hopper Hotel et cetera
#144 of 261 in Cologne
136 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hopper Hotel St. Antonius
Hopper Hotel St. Antonius
#83 of 261 in Cologne
162 reviews
Novotel Koeln City
#38 of 261 in Cologne
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
art'otel cologne
#25 of 261 in Cologne
1,056 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Süd
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#57 of 261 in Cologne
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopper Hotel St. Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopper Hotel St. Josef

Address: Dreikoenigenstr. 1-3, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: £85 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hopper Hotel St. Josef 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hopper Hotel St. Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing