We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coin, Vert, See-saw?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A&O Cologne Neumarkt
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Coin, Vert, See-saw?”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Cracking hostel, ideal for groups who just need a place to sleep and wash. Great location. Could do with some extractor fans in the rooms, after a lot of drinking and sausage munching, a room of 6 guys soon becomes a bit of a cesspit!
Only concern was that they allowed Scott McIntyre to reside there for 3 nights. Although questions could be asked of Koln airport security for letting him into the country in the first place.
BVB x x x x

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nimrodnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    71
    91
    34
    40
See reviews for
39
37
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roscoff, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The hotel is suitably located. A tram station is very close (three minutes walk) to the hotel. We preferred to walk, and the walk to the main attraction (Dom) is around 20 minutes. The hotel has all basic facilities (including a cash machine). The bar is open all night and the place is very lively and clean. The staff are helpful. Also, postcards are available and the prices are relatively cheaper than the outside market. We were four people, and we had a room which had two beds, and two bunk beds. We had a good time staying in the hotel.

Room Tip: Chose rooms on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alok A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed at the A&O hostel for 2 nights. The rooms were spacious and very clean and provided enough room for all travelers. The bathrooms were very small but we are used to European bathrooms so it was okay. Our room over looked the road and on a Saturday night I could hear people outside all night. I am a light sleeper so I hardly had any sleep that night just listening to everything going on outside. There are no fans in the room to drown out the noise or to keep the room cool. I normally travel with my ipod and eye mask and forgot both this past trip, so that was entirely my fault. The curtains do not keep the light out too well either. The walls are very thin and you can hear the people in the room above you and outside.The staff is friendly and helpful and speak English.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Excellent for it's price. One has everything needed, no more , no less.
Clean, good bed, basic Ikea-style furniture, no allergy problems, had quite nights.
If you wish to have a cheap stay, absolutely top!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Viva Stay

Helpful?
Thank AnnaGhent_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of an organised tour in December 2012.

Didn't have a choice of where we were staying as this was an organised tour, but the A&O Köln was great. It's in a good location, the nearest U-Bahn is probably Zülpicher Platz but Rudolfplatz is also a short walk away (neither are more than 8 mins away) and both are well connected.

Check-in was quick and they didn't ask for any additional deposit for additional key cards. The lifts were good if a bit on the small side. The corridors and stairwells are nice and large.

Three of us shared a 4 person room, which had two twin beds (think they normally make up a kingsized bed) and a bunk bed. Even pushing the twins apart a bit, we still had enough room for our things. As the photos show, there was a storage unit with 4 lockers, which were big enough for bags or rucksacks. There was also a separate hanging area, with some coat hangers, which also had it's own mirror and light (the latter was really useful, as we could leave that on when someone was still out, so they could come in and still see without disturbing the rest of us). In the corner of the room was a small table and a desk lamp on one of the bedside cabinets (again useful for a similar reason).

We had no problem with heat - the radiator was very good at heating the room and we were able to open the double glazed window when it did get hot. Our room faced the back, where they have a courtyard where people can sit out - being December, there wasn't anyone using this area though, so we had no problem with noise, nor from adjacent rooms.

There bathroom was separated into a room with a towelrail, shower, sink and mirror, plus a separate toilet, with sink, mirror, shelf, soap dispenser and facial tissues. Really do like hostels that separate out the bathroom, so that two of you can use it at once. The shower-room was quite cosy, but there was no problem with hot water or water pressure. We had to get towels from reception but this wasn't an issue.

Breakfast was good - there was a selection of rolls and bread, fresh meat and cheeses, salad, jams etc., cereals, juices and tea and coffee. There were plenty of seats and the areas were kept very clean, as was the hostel as a whole.

There's a games room below the breakfast area, although I didn't venture down there, others did and enjoyed air hockey and table football. The bar was a good size and had some seats and tables and chairs as well as a pool table. Drinks were well priced and although I didn't order food, others in our group did and said the pizza was good. You can only get wifi in the bar area, but it's free, the signal was good and the connection was quite quick.

Overall, I'd definitely use this hostel again - it's close to the U-Bahn and has very good facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLush101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Rooms are bright, clean, modern and well equipped. Friendly and helpful staff and generally very good facilities. Very reasonably priced food and drink from the 24 hour bar. Good location not far from centre and with excellent transport links. Close to shops, bars and restaurants with a Lidl supermarket just a couple of minutes walk away. Pool table, games etcetera in lobby, free WiFi
in lobby also. Decent breakfast for 6 Euros.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Just returned from trip to Christmas market in Cologne purchased through Easyjet - myself, husband and 15 year old daughter. A & O a little bit like a Travel Lodge in England with regards to facilities. Our room was basic, but clean and warm. Beds comfortable and bedding clean. No problems with noise. Separate shower/sink and toilet/sink which was great with 3 in a room. We took a taxi to the A & O from the airport - 30 euros. It is a good 20 minute walk to the train station from the A & O but only cost 2.5 euros each to return to the airport. The A & O is a little out of the way but if you don't mind walking this is not a problem. Great base if you only want somewhere to lay your head. Staff were very friendly and let us have our room at 10.30 am for no extra cost. Breakfast was 6 euros - everything you could want. Would definitely return here if we were looking for another cheap break.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Neustadt-Süd
Conti Hotel
Conti Hotel
#104 of 261 in Cologne
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#77 of 261 in Cologne
93 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
Flandrischer Hof
Flandrischer Hof
#52 of 261 in Cologne
497 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
A&O Koln Dom
A&O Koln Dom
#35 of 75 in Cologne
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Cologne Neumarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Cologne Neumarkt

Property: A&O Cologne Neumarkt
Address: Mauritiuswall 64-66, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Cologne Neumarkt 2*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O Hotel Köln Neumarkt is located in the most original part of Cologne! The district of Südstadt ("Southern city") attracts guests with its hip scene, bars, restaurants, crafts and multi-cultural flair. The hostel offers modern rooms in various hotel and hostel categories as well as a lobby bar where you can enjoy the cheerful Cologne spirit that is often celebrated. Wi-Fi is free of charge in every room and in all public areas! The A&O Hotel Köln Neumarkt in the Südstadt district is both quiet and centrally located. Cologne Central Station is 2.2 km away. With its central location the A&O hostel is easy to reach by car or by public transportation, and is an excellent starting point for excursions into the city. - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your A&O Cologne Neumarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a&o Koln Neumarkt Hotel Cologne
a And o Koln Neumarkt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing