We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient AND cheap !”
Review of Hostel Koln

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Koln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Really nice experience, there ! Nice room, even though I'm not a big fan of having a bed between 2 walls, nice shower room with a large shower "à l'italienne".
Staff was really welcoming and helpful (again a special thank to Roland for his kindness and his easygoing way of welcoming his guests).
Location is excellent in Cologne, really central but, at least, not at the Dom (too close to the station), close to Rudolfplatz. Good quality for the price you pay !
One black point : when I was staying there, a group of young people were really noisy in the halls and the stairs, which was kind of boring hearing them. Anyway that wasn't the hostel's fault.

So, don't hesitate to book there if you ever go to Cologne ! One thing, take your pillow with you as the one you'll find in the room is nice with the deco of the room but, gosh, what a mess !

Room Tip: As you'll be in a nightlife area, ask for a room in the backside of the hotel (especially in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in hostel Köln for one night as a part of a bachelor weekend. We parked our cars in public underground parking which is situated nearby. The hostel is surprisingly big and modern and situated not far from the historical centre and shops. We arrived at noon and our rooms were not ready yet, but on the ground floor there is a big common storage facility.

Since there were 18 of us, we made a reservation for three rooms. Each of them had 2 bunks and two single beds. Telephone, television and well functioning Wi-Fi (our room was on the 3rd floor) was provided. Also towels for the big bathroom were lying on the beds. The only disadvantage I can think off: there is a lack of space for the luggage when you’re sleeping in a room with 5 other persons.

Breakfast was, as already mentioned in previous reviews, splendid with different kinds of tea, coffee, apple and orange juice, scrambled eggs, bread, cheese, muesli, cornflakes,….
ostel? There's one letter too much in this word! Value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WouterVG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We where there with 2 kids. Ewerything was super. Clean, not small room, new shower, all equipment warks propertly, service good, breakfast teasty, price low, place perfect to foot walk to old town.

We got room with one big and one 2 floor bed. Kids was very happy.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Julius P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

It marking two stars but when we saw our room, it's not like a two satrs hostel at all ! It was nice, clean and really new. The beds, look new and not a single stain on the sheet. The toilet and the bathroom are clean and new. The breakfast is the best, I didn't expect such a luxurious for the hostel. So we are really content to stay in this hostel !

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Faang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had a good stay at Hostel Koln. The staff was incredibly friendly and professional. The lobby had games for the kids as well as computers to use. Our room had bunk beds for the kids and a regular European bed for us (like two twins pushed together). We had a large shower, sink and toilet in the bathroom. The bed was hard and the pillows were awful. We were in room 308 which was noisy, being downtown and on a lower floor. Breakfast was terrific. Plenty of options and a play area for the kids. 176 € was definitely too much for what we got, but overall we enjoyed our stay. (We visited during the Christmas markets and rooms were scarce downtown!)

Room Tip: Higher would likely be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

After booking a meeting and flights to Cologne we quickly realised that there were no hotel rooms that could be booked under €1000. After searching the Internet we found rooms here and after much laughing in the office we booked in to give it a go.

The hostel reception is new, bright and tidy and much like you would expect at a small hotel. Check in was easy and I made my way upto my room. I had booked a private double with own bathroom.

The room was basic with just the beds, desk and chair. The room was pretty stark and smelt of cleaning fluid but was very clean. No soft surfaces as the floor is wipe clean! There is no curtains but the are built in blinds in the window, so as soon as it is light you are awake. Pillows are terrible and could do with replacing by better ASAP. The bathroom was a surprise, very clean and modern. To be fair the bathroom was of better quality than other hotels that I have stayed in. The Internet connection was excellent and free which was a bonus. Noise is a problem as the floors are hard, you can hear clip clopping from upstairs. Also it's a hostel so there are holidaymakers having a great time - so it can be loud, but I kind of expected that and it sounded like they were having fun.

Breakfast was good and served in a nice and bright room. Hot choice was scrambled eggs but lots of cold options.

The whole place was clean and tidy but a little soulless. Prices seem a little expensive for a Hostel and for another trip I have booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherylhinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Very pleasant staff, very helpful! Breakfast room light and bright with good breakfast for this hotel category. The problem for me was, no sleep without ear plugs. Very bad soundproofing. You hear every step from the corridor, and adjacent rooms. Would not recommend to any 'light sleeper'.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paris12man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 262 in Cologne
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
art'otel cologne
#23 of 262 in Cologne
1,064 reviews
Novotel Koeln City
#37 of 262 in Cologne
1,344 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#69 of 262 in Cologne
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Koln

Address: Marsilstein 29, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Cologne
Price Range: £70 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Koln 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTEL KOLN enjoys a tranquil and central location in Cologne, in a side street between Neumarkt and Rudolfplatz, within a 20-minute walk of Cologne Cathedral and the main railway station. Newly opened in March 2009, HOSTEL KOLN provides comfortable and affordable accommodation within easy reach of Cologne's main attractions and cultural venues. The HOSTEL KOLN is within a 5-minute walk of up to 15 different bus and tram lines, allowing guests to easily get to all parts of the city, and the whole Rhine-Ruhr region. Get your day's shopping and sightseeing in Cologne off to an ideal start with the buffet breakfast in the Hostel Koln. The Altstadt-Sued is a great choice for travellers interested in Luxury Brand Shopping, Fashion Bargains and Bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostel Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing