We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely budget option”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Domspitzen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Domspitzen
Ranked #29 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely budget option”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Often the temptation when booking a hotel is to stay with the tried and tested, in a chain name that comes with certain expectations and implicit levels of service. Being a small independent operation the Domspitzen did not offer this security, but proved to be a good value for money option in the end.

The good points were, in no particular order
- hugely friendly and welcoming staff
- a great central location just a couple of minutes walk from the Dom and the main train station
- Quiet rooms with very little outside noise
- Welcoming cake left in the room for your arrival, and small chocolates and jelly sweets at reception to help yourself to
- A wonderful and intricate breakfast encompassing a variety of meats, cheeses, cereals, breads and many other intriguing titbits. Scrambled or fried eggs with bacon were also available on request
- The ability to leave your bags at the end of the stay
- Very good standards overall, nice decor and immaculate cleanliness

The areas that weren't perfect, but you would not really expect at this price were, again in no real order

- A tiny bathroom that really was a squeeze, and was quite uncomfortable. The shower was lovely and powerful though
- In a double room the two beds were pushed together, with two separate sheets. This may just have been the room but is worth highlighting for others
- No iron or ironing board in the room. I didn't need one so am unaware how easy this would have been, but it is something I thought may be on offer even in a budget hotel
- Only two plug sockets, including the Tv
- Poor provision of lights which meant that the room was a bit too dark at times, and not the easiest to organise your belongings in
- A small, and whilst minimal cost, slightly galling "city tax" to pay on departure. I recognise they must charge this but wondered if it could have been wrapped into the cost?

These were minor quibbles though, and the overriding memory is of a well located and clean hotel, with wonderfully friendly service and a breakfast you will not beat at that price. I would certainly return and think the hotel will only improve, given the clear desire to treat their customers well

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lndntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear "J_82Birmingham"

thank you for your positive feedback. The idea with the light we will discuss times internally, thanks a lot. Until next time, your "Domspitzen"-team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    143
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
45
143
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A very good hotel conveniently located near the railway station. It has recently been refurbished and looks great. Very helpful staff, gave advice about attractions and where to eat. In both cases very helpful. We were allowed to check in early which was also a bonus. As others have described, breakfast was amazing. The room was well appointed with a great shower and plenty of hot water. My only criticism was that there were not tea or coffee making facilities either in our room or any where else in the hotel. Otherwise I would have given it the highest rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear "Shepmini",

thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to when you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in a superior room for just one night, we booked on the same night we arrived and were glad with the choice we made. Although not huge, the bedroom is well appointed with all you could ask for. Bathroom was (for us) massive, with lovely hot flowing water which was perfect for warming us up after being out in the cool October weather.

Lovely staff, lovely breakfast (which was included), great ambience, wonderful location, incredibly quiet (we couldn't hear a peep).

We stayed in room #23

Thanks Again, Samuel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammy85h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Samuel,

we thank you and your wife for your visit and the great review. Nice that we were able to make your trip to Cologne as pleasant as possible.

Maybe you travel again to Cologne in the future and visit us again - we'd love to wish you and your wife all the best until then!

Your team of the Hotel Domspitzen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
349 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were supposed to stay at the Hotel Domstern about 200 meters down the street, but they were full so we were relocated to the sister hotel... Hotel Domspitzen. The hotel was great especially because of the remarkable girl on the desk when we checked in. She was very pleasant and very helpful. She had many good suggestions. The room was also very good, though our particular room had a poor view (windows on two sides though.) The breakfast was the best we'd had during our 18 days in Europe was all kinds of savory tidbits, cheeses, etc. It was really great. Parking is secure across from the Domstern at EUR 10/day and you can leave the car there after you check out, which is a nice convenience if you want to look around on the day of your departure. The hotel is well located being an easy walk to the train station and the Koln Cathedral. My only complaint is the wifi. It was terrible and extremely frustrating. Others had complained and hotel management was concerned, so hopefully this will be fixed soon!

Room Tip: See if you can ask for a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Michael,

thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you liked it so much with us. Nice that we could serve you the best breakfast ... :)

We would be pleased if you would make a trip to Cologne cathedral spiers and the hotel on your next trip to Europe.

Many greetings to Canada,
your team of the Hotel Domspitzen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We only spent one night here, but really enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and our room was clean and of ample size with a comfortable bed. The breakfast that was included in the price was really exceptional, and the staff must spend a lot of time and effort preparing a really wide range of food to suit all tastes. The hotel is very convenient for the Hauptbahnhof, and we will certainly stay here again next time we visit Cologne. In short "Well Done Hotel Domspitzen"!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear "Peter D",

thank you for your great review. "Well Done" sounds good to our ears. :)

Be our guest again soon, we would be pleased.

Your "Domspitzen"-team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We've stayed in quite a few hotels across Germany (including a few others in Cologne) and this was without doubt the best of the lot in terms of location, cost and atmosphere. Firstly, it's situated in a quiet little street only a three-minute walk from the hauptbahnhof. That was handy.

Secondly, and most importantly, the staff were the best ever - good fun, friendly, incredibly helpful and informative, and they also made time to have fun with our little boy any time we were at or passing reception. Every encounter was a pleasure. To give just a couple of examples; one night when we fancied tea in the room and I was about to go back out to get some, the receptionist made us some especially, asking me to just call back down in 10 minutes to pick it up. Another time we were wondering if there was anywhere nearby that had a little park with slides and such for our son. The man at reception wasn't sure and when he couldn't find anything on the 'net he phoned a friend with children to find out, and then gave us a new map with directions. Now that's service!

Décor was lovely, especially the wonderful stained glass window in the breakfast area. Breakfast was also great. The beds were super-comfortable and the room (like the rest of the hotel) was clean.

I must say, when we booked this we did wonder at the accuracy of this hotel's rating at #36 out of 279 hotels in the city. Having stayed there we can see why it's rated so high (and actually reckon it should be higher). Bottom line... no more checking for hotels for us next time we go to Cologne. We'll be booking here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear "John N",

thanks for this great review. It's nice that we could give so much pleasure with our kind of hospitality. It was an honor, visit us again soon, please.

Best regards from the "Domspitzen"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We loved this hotel, its location is great, very close to the cathedral, few mintues walk. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very new, and could see the hotel is very well designed in all the details, the wallpapers, furniture, decorations, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xixi066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear "Xixi066",

and we love that you love our hotel. :) Thanks for your rating. Visit us again soon,

your "Domspitzen"-team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domstern
Hotel Domstern
#27 of 262 in Cologne
577 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#32 of 262 in Cologne
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#47 of 262 in Cologne
656 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Appartel am Dom
Appartel am Dom
#63 of 262 in Cologne
187 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#67 of 262 in Cologne
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domspitzen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domspitzen

Property: Hotel Domspitzen
Address: Domstr 23 - 25, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domspitzen 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Domspitzen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing