We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of art'otel cologne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
art'otel cologne
Ranked #29 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 7 August. It was a great hotel in a very convenient location - just 10 minutes from the city centre. The hotel was modern, white, contemporary and minimalist. The rooms were clean and had a superb wet room. The staff were very helpful and always had a smile to greet guests.

Would definitely stay again but one issue was the restaurant. The "fusion" food just doesn't work by mixing Chino and Latin food....so eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: All rooms were good and well sound-proofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your great review of the hotel. Yu are very kind in your comments, and I am interested that our Chino Latino concept did not seem to work for you.

If you have time to call me or to write to mae about your feed back, I would be really interested to hear your critique! We have 3 Chino Latino restaurnats in our company now, and generally the style is very well received.

Best wishes, and thanks again.

Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    422
    171
    59
    33
See reviews for
76
396
54
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Excellent service and extremely smiley, happy staff which is in my opinion 5 star standard. excellent location for the old city, very spacious clean modern standard rooms which have a socket by the bed so I can have my mobile charging next to
me overnight.
Only point is my room had a yellow shaded window which gives everything, including me a shade of yellow! so I felt more comfortable to keep the curtains closed and artificial lights on. But this is an arty hotel , so the architect was probably concentrating on the ambience of the rooms.
The service overall is worth a
Repeat visit i will make in a couple of months time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your fabulous review of the hotel. As you are aware we have rose tinted windows, greeny-yellow, blue, and clear glass. If you would like to let us know in advance I am sure you can choose your colour!

We all look forward to seeing you again in Sunny Cologne soon.

Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Months in advance, I booked a canal view room with two twin beds for which I paid extra. When my sister and I arrived, we were put in a noisy, street view room. I wish I could post the photos I took of this horrible place. The single water glass had a very visible split in it. Both coffee mugs had multiple chips, tea bags with no way to heat the water. Wide lines of black mold growing in the shower drain, multiple food stains all over the carpet and walls, and on and on! We had to drink two glasses of wine just to be able to sleep in that disgusting room. Our trip was saved by moving to the Maritim Hotel the next morning. If I could have left this hovel for the Maritim immediately, I would have.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I am so sorry about the lack of view, and the housekeeping defects. As you will see from the other comments this year, it is unusual to have so many things go wrong. I am really embarassed and have taken steps to ensure matters are rectified in the room you occupied.

I hope you will contact me when you come to Cologne again, and I would be delighted to show you our normal standards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

art'otel has an interesting concept. The building is modern, trendy building from outside.

Inside, it is very sophisticated, placing the emphasis on art and modern architecture. Great.

But that does not make a great hotel.

First of all, the hotel is dirty. Just look at my pics of the windows! Crazy. In the room, the carpet is very dirty with lots of coffee spots, etc... The walls also have many spots. It is not clean.

Second of all, Wifi did not work in our room. Technician came and could not do anything. So front desk told us we need to change rooms as the whole 3rd floor did not have wifi. They have had complaints of 3 other clients. They know they need to reboot the router / server on the 3rd floor, but they did not know how to do it. So we had to change rooms (not fun with all the luggage).

Also, Wifi is free but very slow. If you want faster Wifi, then it's not free. You need to fork out 5€.

One of the two guys at the reception was quite rude and unfriendly.

Staff seemed not very professional.

Bottom line: interesting concept let down by poor management and poor cleanness.

We will never go again to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil-Brussels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I am sorry about the windows. As you would have possibly seen, we had a crew of abseilers cleaning the sides of the building, ánd last week we had an incredibly big rain storm that blasted the reiver side with pelting rain, and left residue on the windows. We will have this all cleaned shortly.

I am sorry the carpet was dirty, and the white and grey carpet doews show the slightest stain I know, and we have a small army of cleaners going room by room cleaning them. I am sorry for your inconveninece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

on the photos it looks much better than it is. The main point I would like to stress for - it is for young people, students, and it is very dirty ( especially floor carpet). At morning Lady is knocking your door and checking the mini bar ( I have nevr seen this anywhere). Especcially you feel "great" if you r not undressed. I would say- not recommended.

Room Tip: Rhine view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnaStelmakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Yes although we are one of the only hotels in Cologne to offer free Internet to our guests, it is required to limit the bandwidth so all guests get fair use. I have noted most hotels in Cologne charge two or three times what we charge for High Speed access.

I am presantly seeking a new supplier who can increase the base speed and offer a good level of customer support, as I know this is important and a common hotel problem in Germany.

Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstone
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Great location for all the city, even the city tour bus stops right outside hotel. Chocolate factory is a must too and the local beer garden.
Thought the hotel could make more use of it's terrace even during the day as fab location.
Only comment on arrival 1 mug for two folk, 2 mugs supplied for next day, then two mugs gone and beer glasses gone. defo trying to keep us "dry" in more ways than one. (great coffee machine, just had to use small glasses for coffee)
Very expensive breakfast Euro's 20 p person a bit OTT.

Room Tip: river view but you pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joadie309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I apologise that there were problems with the cups and glasses in the rooms last week. This has now been rectified.

Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The location of this hotel made it very easy to find - being right beside the river and almost next to the Chocolate Factory. It is not all that close to public transport (probably about a ten to fifteen minute walk to the nearest underground) but it is a very pleasant walk beside the river to or from the main train station.

The receptionists were very friendly and quick to offer a map and a code for the wi-fi. The room was a little strange, with the sink in the bedroom and two single quilts on the double bed, but the shower was great (really large shower head that works as your own private rain cloud).

I know you don't spend time in hotels to watch TV but it would have been nice to have an English-speaking option other than news channels to watch before going to sleep. [Had come from Amsterdam where the hotel had BBC + some American channels so had been spoilt!]

Just past the chocolate factory there is also a stand selling Currywurst and other items and just opposite the hotel is a service station, which are both very handy.

Room Tip: I was offered the chance to upgrade from a roadside to a riverside view. I didn't and did not re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmite77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your great review, and advice for future visitiors about where to find cut price F&B options!!!! Well we are in the process of putting together a great new Bar and Room Service menu that will put the local Imbiss out of business, but I am not sure if we can compete with the Petrol Station!!!

Next time you plan a visit, let me treat you to a Chef's' tasting of our fantastic Chino Sushi and Sashimi as my guest ok, and then I promise you will never eat western junk food again!!


Regards,

Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lyskirchen
#17 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#12 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel cologne

Property: art'otel cologne
Address: Holzmarkt 4, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#33 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#45 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspiration’s everywhere at art’otel cologne. We’re opposite the Chocolate Museum in the Rheinau docks and a short walk from the World Heritage Cologne Cathedral. Visit the Altstadt (Old Town) to discover the Römisch-Germanisches Museum and the Wallraf Richartz and Ludwig Museum. You’ll enjoy 218 guestrooms, many with coloured cubes overlooking the harbour, Pan-Asian cuisine in our award-winning Chino Latino restaurant, an indulgent sauna and signature cocktails on our alfresco patio surrounded by SEO’s artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your art'otel cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Cologne Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing