We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location”
Review of art'otel cologne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
art'otel cologne
Ranked #26 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had booked a queen room and we did not think it was particularly "queen like" when we arrived for one night on 18 Oct. We were taken downstairs by Manfred who was working on the 4th Floor who was amazingly helpful, and put us at our ease instantly. We moved to another room but the wifi did not work and upgraded to a suite where the wifi was better but not great. The room was superb and very quirky overlooking the railway bridge and the motorway but we never heard a sound in our room. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Cathedral and check out in the morning was a breeze. Breakfast was avoided as we considered it too costly and we had loaded up on coffee from the most excellent machine in our room before we left. Parking underneath the hotel is very convenient and secure.
Ineke and Alan

Room Tip: Check that wifi works. It does in the lobby but seemingly not in every room. The views of "the...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ineke b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for the lovely comments about Manfred, and sorry that you had a few niggles to sart with.

Look forward to meeting you next time you return to Cologne.

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for art'otel cologne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Loved this artsy little hotel. Check out the artwork throughout the hotel. Clean, friendly, and modern. Space was compact but great for Cologne standards. Decor was gorgeous and modern.
On the Rhine, next to the Chocolate museum, and stops for all tours. I liked the space of it as opposed to the cramped, crowded accommodations elsewhere. Great bar and restaurant on ground floor with amazing entertainment at night. Great spot for that last Kolsch of the day and a bit of relaxation before bed. Prettiest showers I have ever seen. Pricey but well worth the feeling of space after a day of cramped and busy streets.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wearytraveler245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

What a lovely review. Thanks so much for your appreciation of the hotel.
Hope to see you return soon.

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Viewed from the exterior, it looked dreary and dissapointing, but once you stepped into the lobby you're greeted by an explosion of colours - furniture/art works - and a very efficient yet friendly staff. 2 couples, 2 different booking sites, same rates, but our friends were given a road facing room , which was quickly changed to one next to us and facing the Rhine.
They had glass panels separating the shower from the bedroom - luckily opaque and coloured like a stain glass (uncomfortable to have sheer/plain/transparent panel if sharing with friends!).
Took me a while to get used to the washbasin being in the bedroom.
Coffee maker - yes!
Housekeeping could have been a little more diligent - coffee maker was not very clean.
Carpets also looked like they needed a good wash.
Less than 15mins slow leisurely walk along the Rhine to the city centre and the Cathedral.
And for those attending trade fairs, there is a tram service from the city centre.
Only gripe is the slow speed of the free internet service.

Room Tip: Our friends room windows were shaded a "sickly/slightly nauseous yellow" whereas ours was...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneSequerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for another perfect review!

I sincerely hope you will return again soon!

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Love this hotel. The style is very "quirky" and the hotel doesn't look much from the outside. I've stayed twice and upgraded to an Art XL room, a corner room. With views towards the aRhine and the Chocolate museum. The rooms are a good size, with decent quality furnishings, albeit it lots of white. The beds are comfortable and clean,and the bathrooms are long with plenty of room.

There is a coffee maker and a little fridge with some beer and soft drinks (chargeable).

The only downside so far is the choice of English language TV channels... They are restricted to News only.

The staff are wonderfully friendly.... Almost flirty.. But respectfully just stopping short.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Degsyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Reviewer


Thanks for the perfect review!

I think our arty staff are our greatest asset, and I am sure they don't mean to be flirty- its just that compared to the normal boring, cookie cutter chain hotels our team do seem to actually care and enjoy talking to guests!


Cheers,


Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had a great stay at this nice modern hotel. It's near the chocolate museum and about a 10 minute walk along the Rhine to the cathedral.

The staff were really helpful.

The bedroom was very cleverly designed with a long desk with the wash basin at one end and a nice separate shower room.

The art element was the pictures on the walls which are all by the same artist and generally the design of the hotel was light and fresh.

The carpet could have done with a clean and we had to ask for our wash basin to be properly cleaned. Having said that, we would happily stay there again. Three days was not enough to see all there is to see in Cologne.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,


Great review thanks.

We will watch the issue in the room carefully, and Sophie the Executive Housekeeper says sorry!

Cheers,


Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Me and the mrs had a lovely 2 night stay in cologne in this lovely hotel, with convenient parking, modern clean rooms, it really was very nice, the reception staff especially were very polite and helpful, we got back late after a night out for drinks and the room service / restaurant had closed, but the guy on reception offered to order us a pizza!

The only problem with it was that even with the do not disturb sign on the door the hotel staff still decided they would knock the door and come in at least 3-4 times on a morning between 8 and 11.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room facing the river for a better view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for the great review.

Sorry about the room attendants pestering you so early. I have spoken to Sophie our Executive Housekeeper and she has addressed this with her entire team.

Cheers,


Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

not your typical style: design and art are the focus of this hotel. Rooms are large and sleek. Not really business oriented (chair and table in room were not too comfortable). Parking on site is quite expensive at 20 Euro/night even though the hotel is a little off the center so you might actually need a car to move around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your review. I am glad all was well, and regarding our location, well being a few hundred meters from the centre does have its advantages!

Cheers,

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#18 of 261 in Cologne
484 reviews
Novotel Koeln City
#35 of 261 in Cologne
1,308 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 261 in Cologne
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lyskirchen
#21 of 261 in Cologne
575 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,119 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel cologne

Address: Holzmarkt 4, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#33 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#44 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £75 - £487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspiration’s everywhere at art’otel cologne. We’re opposite the Chocolate Museum in the Rheinau docks and a short walk from the World Heritage Cologne Cathedral. Visit the Altstadt (Old Town) to discover the Römisch-Germanisches Museum and the Wallraf Richartz and Ludwig Museum. You’ll enjoy 218 guestrooms, many with coloured cubes overlooking the harbour, Pan-Asian cuisine in our award-winning Chino Latino restaurant, an indulgent sauna and signature cocktails on our alfresco patio surrounded by SEO’s artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your art'otel cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Cologne Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing