We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Stadtpalais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Stadtpalais
Ranked #37 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Recently renovated hotel with excellent rooms and reasonable pricing.
Nice breakfast buffet and fancy free sauna.

Just next to Lanxess arena, walking distance to Kölnmesse exhibition centre and public transportation.

Only small minus is the lack of free WiFi which is compensated by free LAN connection. Would recommend for both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eskobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

We found the hotels in the city centre of Koln either full or terribly expensive. Hence, we were not disappointed with our stay at the Gunnewig Hotel Stadtpalais, which is situated just opposite the Lenxas Arena. A tramstop is just a short 3 minute walk away, which takes you directly into the city centre's Heumarkt - it really could not be easier. The hotel is smart and contemporary with spacious rooms - we asked for a room on a lower floor (I hate lifts) and the hotel duly obliged. The only down side of the room is the lack of wardrobe space, but for a 3 night stay, it was fine and of course many travellers are there on business and only require a one night stay. Particularly, the staff in the hotel bar are really helpful and charming. I would also recommend one of the bar 'snacks' but in true German fashion, they are huge! There are a few restaurants within walking distance of the hotel - including a good Croation one. A taxi ride to the main train station from where we got our train direct to Paris, is just 10 minutes. Oh and with other reviewers, I must mention the wonderful breakfast, so well prepared with a wonderful selection of fruit, meats, cheeses, or a cooked traditional (big!) German breakfast. Exceptional food with exceptional service.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a superior room on a lower floor at the back of the hotel, but to be honest we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItalyfanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Staying here during short business tour in December of 2013...Centrally located, hotel is walking distance from cologne messe station and approx 2 Km from cologne Central station... Rooms are good n spacious. Definitely value for money!!!!!! You won't get free wifi in the hotel though....reception n other staffs are quite helpful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank BeingSandeepS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in July for a two night break booked through Secret Escapes, £78 b&b per room per night, tremendous value. The room was very spacious, with a state of the art bathroom, with excellent lighting for girls wanting to apply their makeup! Plenty of quality toiletries. Breakfast was outstanding, just the array of selection to choose from was overwhelming. You couldn't ask for a better location, with a metro station less than a 5 minute walk away and directly across from the Lanxess stadium. We did the cable car ride across the Rhine, which was fun and walked back to the hotel which took about 20 minutes. Front staff were extremely helpful for making restaurant reservations, explaining routes etc. Despite horrid weather we had a great trip. Oh we were at the front of hotel and didn't experience any noise and also we had free wifi, so I would ignore previous reviewers comments on these subjects. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank DKNIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A good hotel, with a great breakfast and friendly staff. Clean and close enough to the centre (maybe a 10-15 minute walk), but rooms at the front can be a little noisy, and the wifi is NOT free... the Hotel advertises that it has Wifi, but it is actually a T-Mobile hotspot which is 5 EUR per 24 hours (other options are available)... not satisfactory... A silly thing in this day and age, and especially when they go to the trouble to leave chocolates on the bed every day, and they give you a free 750ml bottle of water every day too... that along is more than the cost of the wifi... inexplicable, so they lose a star for that and the noisy front.

Other than that, it is a good hotel, and the breakfast is really great.... hot, cold, fruits, cereals, you name it, they probably have it.

Oh, and parking is 18 EUR per 24 hours, but it is an underground secure car park, and spaces are limited, so I guess that is not unreasonable.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank On_and_Ona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had business and everything 5 star was booked with gamescom. So we found this hotel close to where we needed to attend and it was pretty good. Nice surprise. We got in late. Room was acceptable. Bed was unholy, not very comfortable, but it was for one night. We got room service fast, less than 20 minutes. Big surprise. Food was pretty good. Internet was good. Breakfast was also surprisingly good according to my boss. Overall not bad.

Room Tip: business hotel nothing fancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just up the road from the train station, across the road from the Lanxess Arena where all the great concerts are held! No noise from concerts! Excellent breakfasts . Eggs, bacon, sausages, many breads, pancakes, cold meats huge variety, smoked salmon, cereals, pastries plus more and great coffee! Lovely walking area safe, clean and people very helpful and friendly! Room clean, comfortable beds (perhaps abit soft for some). We really enjoyed this hotel! Don't expect pretty girly rooms, its a practical room with all you need in it.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite which is huge and far too much space for us when most of the time is spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi-Scott25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Deutz
Dorint An der Messe Koln
Dorint An der Messe Koln
#31 of 263 in Cologne
718 reviews
Deutz
Hotel Alt Deutz
Hotel Alt Deutz
#211 of 263 in Cologne
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deutz
Insel Hotel
Insel Hotel
#101 of 263 in Cologne
64 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 263 in Cologne
1,726 reviews
Ibis Budget Koln Messe
#49 of 263 in Cologne
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stadtpalais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadtpalais

Address: Deutz-Kalker Str. 52, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: £95 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stadtpalais 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic and modern Architecture merge to form the 4 star Hotel Stadtpalais. The ensemble of the various individual tradition-steeped buildings, consisting of the 'Kaiser-Wilhelm-Bad' (Emperor Wilhelm's spa, listed for monument protection) as well as the former library and the town villa, are undergoing extensive renovation and a new hotel construction with state-of-the-art appointments and facilities is being added. Numerous classical elements, such as for example the distinctive roof landscape, wrought-iron railings and latticework, natural stone and the relief with mosaic done by Ernst Wille, blend harmoniously with the contemporary and comfortable ambience of a first-class hotel. In addition to the building's outstanding architecture and the high level of comfort, the guests can also enjoy a individual, friendly and attentive atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Stadtpalais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing