We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great dining”
Review of Mederrano

Mederrano
Ranked #142 of 2,401 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Altstadt-Süd
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great dining”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Our group thoroughly enjoyed our dinner --- menu had plenty of options, great wine list, and the restaurant itself has character

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    37
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geleen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good and fairly affordable”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

If you find the restaurant (not clearly visible on the citymap) you are immedeately treated with nice vaulting and pitoresque ambiance. The restaurant is split in two parts. On the left side are the vaults and on the right side is a "normal" look. Unfortunately we were on the right side because of a wedding, but still quite a romantic setting.
The menu has a wide rage of dishes. Most meat and fish dishes are between €16,- and €26,- while the pasta dishes don't exceed the €15,-
We had the steak with peppersauce and the pasta with gamba's. Both well presented and both worth our money (the pasta was only €11,50 and a biig portion!).
Waiters are friendly and in great numbers (a positive thing).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing return”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The first time we visited Mederrano, 2 years ago, we felt very lucky to find such a great place to eat in Cologne.
Unfortunately on our second visit that was not the case. The restaurant was packed probably because of the fair and only a set menu was available.
To our disappointment the restaurant couldn’t cope serving so many people, although the waiters did their best.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank irz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanau
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit - pricey and of medium quality”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We made a booking for 6 people. When we arrived there they told us that due to they were fully booked one could not order from the menue. The only offer was a set menue wit a choice of 2 starters (carpaccio or prawns), 2 main courses(fish or beef), 2 desserts (no vegetarian offer).

The waiters were neither friendly nor trained professionals. They did not ask how we wanted the meat done, nor did they pour the wine.

The food was of medium quality and the menue was really expensive for what they offered. It was nothing fancy! more or less plain food. Desserts looked like being convenience products, it was either Tiramisu or Creme brulee - how boring.

Overall it was an experience we would not like to repeat. It is absolutely no go to act like this, they should have told about this unbelievably limited choice at time of reservation, but it seems to be the kitchen decided a couple of days before that they were too busy and could not handle a fully booked restaurant.

If we had not been a group of 6 people we would definitely have left!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fernweh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A real treat, tough to find”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Mederrano is hidden on a small street, one block south of the Heumarkt tram stop. It's inside the ruins of a Roman-era villa, but with modern buildings atop that hide the history. Too bad it's a short walk outside the tourist area of Cologne.

The restaurant itself is quite lovely with very good food from German and Italian cuisines. Service was excellent in English and German. The tappas platter and beef carpaccio appetizers are especially good. Reasonable prices and a decent assortment of available wines at the 25 to 30 euro price range.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelguy040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mederrano also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Mederrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing