We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanted to do the tour but couldn't...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historische Senfmuehle

Historische Senfmuehle
Ranked #35 of 233 things to do in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wanted to do the tour but couldn't...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband is a mustard fanatic, so we thought this would be a nice, quirky tour on which to go. However, when we arrived we were told that the tour is only in German (with a less-than-perfect English audio guide to accompany it). Plus, they don't give tours unless they have a certain number of people.

Too bad because it seems like it would've been interesting.

In the end, we bought some of their homemade mustard and left.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bonniemarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    49
    23
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the spot for gourmets - Mustard Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just located accross the Lindt Chocolate Museum. You can taste and buy various types of Mustard produced in Cologne.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank viajandomundial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Mustard --But that's it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

After reading reviews, we were excited to go to the museum. However, after getting there we were unable to communicate with the people working there except to try and buy a couple of the delicious mustards.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Akakickassthyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansbach, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasty!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We saw the reviews for this museum and made it a priority. We went in while waiting for our bus to take us back to the train station. Totally worth it. Try the different mustards, we fell in love with the Pear and the Wildberry…SO delicious! And you can get a great big sausage with some on it. Very tasty side trip! Very interesting inside, but do not need long. :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdabelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Better than the chocolate museum across the street!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

For me personally, I felt that the time spent at the mustard museum was better than the time spent at the chocolate musuem. You are able to sample all their different types of mustard, even buy which one you like right there and get a bratwurst to eat it on.

We did not take the tour, but just looking around was enough. Not a huge place, but if you are feeling let down after your 2+ hours at the chocolate museum, stop here afterwards and you will be pleasantly surprised.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CleverName15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historische Senfmuehle also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Historische Senfmuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing