We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delightful discovery”

Historische Senfmuehle
Ranked #34 of 255 things to do in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
1 review
“a delightful discovery”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We came across this charming 'museum' while returning to our cruise ship from the Lindt Chocolate Museum. The very kind clerk spoke no English, but insisted we sample a mustard. He was truly delighted when I started raving about the delicious flavors. I've never tasted a better mustard and shall be forever grateful at having the opportunity to enjoy such fantastic flavors. This place is very small, but has much character. What a find!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 888Pearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    58
    25
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ichtegem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Staff could be friendlier”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Came in, tasted great mustard and chutney, took a look at the store, tasted a great sausage with mustard, left the building to have a drink and come back in 45 minutes for the guided tour, so far everything was super. Came back 5 minutes before the tour started and were very very disappointed in the man who ruled the place. We asked to book the tour in English because our English is better than our German. The man simply said that he won't do a guided tour in English just for two persons. We understand a bit of German and would have booked the tour in German but because the man was so unpolite we just left whitout saying another word. We wanted to buy mustard also but decided he can put his mustard where the sun doesn't shine intsead.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Staessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mustard ... what else?”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Senf Museum is conveniently located immediately across from the Lindt Chocolate Museum and likely gets most of it's business from curious foot traffic associated to that attraction. As museums go, it's not much more than a few old mustard presses with a big storefront where one can buy copious ... mustards, what else?

We naturally tried all the assortments of mustards and were delighted enough with them to have purchased 4 different types, with one as a gift for a fellow 'senf-lover.' Oddly, several (if not most) of the mustards were not produced on site, leaving us to wonder if there aren't other Mustard Museums out there waiting to be stumbled-upon.

As mustards go - they really are quite good. My uber-favorite is without compare the Cayenne Mustard ... mmmm so spicy. The Kolsh Bier-made mustard was good as well, and the local favorite, the "Historisch Senf" rounded out our selections.

Save room for a Bratwurst and stop by on your way out of the Chocolate factory ... after all, who else can say they've stopped at a historic Mustard Museum?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Netwerknerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice little stop”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were visiting our friends in Cologne and they suggested we go to the Mustard Museum. When we arrived, we had just missed the last tour of the day. It was fun tasting all the different mustards and walking around the little shop. We bought some to take home with us and also some as gifts. The sausage was also very good. Nice little visit, but you don't need much time there if you don't go on the tour.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wanted to do the tour but couldn't...”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband is a mustard fanatic, so we thought this would be a nice, quirky tour on which to go. However, when we arrived we were told that the tour is only in German (with a less-than-perfect English audio guide to accompany it). Plus, they don't give tours unless they have a certain number of people.

Too bad because it seems like it would've been interesting.

In the end, we bought some of their homemade mustard and left.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bonniemarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historische Senfmuehle also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Historische Senfmuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing