We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice museum”

Wallraf-Richartz Museum
Ranked #10 of 242 things to do in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This impressive museum houses artwork covering every genre from the 13th century through the 19th century.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This museum has old masters up to the early 20th century. It occupies three floors with a basement for special exhibitions. When I visited (August 2014) the top floor was being renovated, but it seems the top floor collection had been relocated to the ground floor. It's easy to navigate, as you can go round each floor in a circle. It's not overwhelming, and there are some standout paintings on each floor. The curation is excellent, with interesting explanations of the paintings. Each room is organized around a theme.The museum has a strong collection of late medieval - early renaissance paintings from Cologne. They are a little formulaic, but the museum shows how they were affected by the more realistic paintings coming from the early Netherlands school. My only gripe is that the explanations that go with each painting tend to overwhelm who the painter is. The painter's name is not in large type. My eyes are getting old, so I had to bend over and peer down to read the painter's name. (Curators in general should send some middle-aged and elderly people around a museum to see if they can read everything!) But overall, highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank hanshan-osaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    142
    34
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
143 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Go visit”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I only have the lucky to visit this museum as the others were closed the time I was in town. It really forth to go and see the incredible catalog of artworks they have.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank deabarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
369 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Small Museum with Exceptional Commentary”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

By its collection alone, I might rate this small museum 4-dots, but I've given it 5 because of the exceptional quality of its wall labels and the organization of the art that it has. Collection extends from the middle ages through to Baroque and 19th Century art. Also, the museum store exhibited unusually good taste.

The best way to see museums in Cologne is to buy the two-day museum pass, which also includes a one-day pass for public transportation, presumably to allow one to travel to some of the museums not immediately downtown. Of course, it's a benefit to use the transportation pass, as we did, to tour this enjoyable middle-sized city on public transport, particularly in the early summer evenings once the museums were closed. In fact, one can pretty much circle the city on its robust tram system. While admission to a few of the museums, such as the Kolumba, are not included with the pass, most of them are. Well worth the purchase.

One thing to note, this museum has in its permanent collection a painter whom I didn't know existed--the famous filmmaker George Melies. I thought he was a theatrical showman before delving into the new art form of film, but my knowledge was incomplete. There is a quite well drafted painting by Melies shown among the 19th Century artwork. Unfortunately, there's no postcard of the work, which is a mercantile mistake. No one I know who is a film enthusiast was even aware of this skill by Melies and neither was I. A museum that surprises you is a pretty good, if not great, museum.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GEDLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göttingen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good museum with wonderful collection”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wonderful collection with insightful explanations of the paintings.
These were probably the best explanations I have ever experienced in museums and they brought the experience to the whole new level.

I recommend the museum greatly!

Allow 2 hours for the visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Well put together collection”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

No aged discount here unfortunately. They have three floors starting at the 19th century on the top floor and working down to the Middle Ages on the first floor. There were a good few French impressionists and a lot of good paintings done by Cologne artists. Allow a couple of hours to see the collection.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AuntieFloTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wallraf-Richartz Museum also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Wallraf-Richartz Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing