We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, affordable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen Cologne Altstadt
Ranked #174 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great, affordable stay!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Nice, old and historic hotel. Very affordable for the location. Clean room and super breakfast! Yes, it is in the gay quarter, but so what? You're probably not going to find a hotel at this price this close to the old town center. Everything is in walking distance. Yes, you have to park your car either at the side of the road, or in a parking garage at Heumarkt, which is within walking distance. The hotel will give you a parking allowance towards the cost of the garage. Would definitely stay there again and have recommended it to my family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stxoneway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen Cologne Altstadt, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen.
We would be very pleased if we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Ahl Meerkatzen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    75
    89
    29
    29
See reviews for
32
86
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The location and the medieval setting are good of this hotel. The rooms were a bit small but this is also only a 3* hotel. Nonetheless the experience would have been not so poor if they would have cleaned the room!!!
There was a please clean the room leaflet at the outside of the door from 5am, when I came back at 1h30pm the room was not cleaned yet.
Then at 2pm two guys knocked the door to clean the room, and as I was just planning to take a shower before going out I had asked them to come back in 30mins. They didnt seem to be very happy with but confirmed it was ok. When at night I went back to the hotel, they had not cleaned the room nor changed any towels.
This is the first time I have this bad experience in a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandoz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

stayed here in december to do the xmas markets good location for the markets and choccy museum few mins walk away, tram stop just 5 mins up the road .
is in the gay quarter of the city didnt pose a problem left the car on the street was safe enough wasnt touched.
the mohne and sorpe dams arent to far away either well worth seeing.
rooms were ok,
wifi didnt work in our room we were in outside courtyard next to the bins.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scaz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a trip to Cologne to visit the Christmas Markets. This hotel is very close to two markets, Altstadt and the Harbour Market. The hotel is a little dated in decor, dark entrance and lobby, a little bit drab, but clean. Breakfast buffet is provided - plentiful if uninspired. Room was large but somewhat shabby, and our room was not carpeted which felt strange. Not even a doormat to wipe our wet feet. Heating was excellent (and very necessary to dry our wet clothes and shoes). One receptionist was friendly and super helpful, the other not so much. Tea and coffee facilities not provided in the room. Our biggest concern was lack of secure storage for our luggage on the last day - we checked out in the morning but were not due to depart until late afternoon and had to leave our suitcases in the entrance lobby along with others' bags.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ecotrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

3 night stay for the Christmas markets. 10 minute walk from the railway station and a great location for all the Christmas Markets. Yes, the hotel is quite quirky - but we like quirky - and it is next to a gay sex centre - found this quite funny really but didn't see anyone go in or out the whole time we stayed. Our room was basic but the shower room had been newly replaced - it looked as if the hotel was replacing all shower rooms. Breakfast was the usual continental - cereals, meats, cheese, eggs. Coffee very good and take away cups were provided. We booked early in the year and had an excellent rate - great value for money and would recommend to anyone who is just looking for a base to explore Cologne.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We arrived quite early from the train station at around 11.30 am and I was a little unwell so desperately wanted to sleep, so we sat in reception and were made to feel very welcome. She initially said we could check in until 1400 but we got to our room at 12.30, I was very happy and had my much needed sleep! The wifi is free for the whole stay and connectivity is excellent (I'm using it to write to you now dear reader!) the shower does indeed flood but easy enough to dry with towels, the radiators are very efficient and the beds very comfortable and a cosy room, on the small side but the hotel was built in 1265 so I think that can be forgiven! Continental breakfast, plenty of bread! The staff are lovely and very helpful with great local knowledge. Very cheap and breakfast included with a 10 minute walk to the heart of cologne.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAFGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

This is a cheap hotel in the centre of the city. The rooms are comfortable and warm. Breakfast is continental and plentiful. Staff are friendly and allowed us to have a small family gathering in reception. Shower flooded the bathroom floor each time we used it but no problem as it had dried by the time we came back in.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Centro Hotel Ariane
Centro Hotel Ariane
#209 of 260 in Cologne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mauritius-Altstadt
#131 of 260 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Hotel Lyskirchen
#17 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Hotel zur Malzmuehle
Hotel zur Malzmuehle
#54 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen Cologne Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen Cologne Altstadt

Property: Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen Cologne Altstadt
Address: Mathiasstr. 21, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen Cologne Altstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen is centrally located in the center of Cologne, close to public transport and the main train station in the heart of the city of Cologne. The centrally and conveniently located Novum hotels offer you cost effective deals at attractive prices in order to stay in one of the most beautiful cities in Germany. Our rooms have a sophisticated, yet modern and practical facilities. Free wireless Internet access Modern comforts. Attractions such as the Cologne Cathedral are just a few minutes. The central location of the Centrum Hotels is the ideal starting point for activities of any kind, the exhibition center, the university and the city center are conveniently located just 10 minutes by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen Cologne Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing