We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally close to Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Cologne Bonn Airport
Ranked #13 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

a little old, and a little tired looking but does the job perfectly.. very helpful staff.. its only a 6 minute walk to airport terminal, but they still have a shuttle bus every 6 or 7 minutes.... cheap, clean and great location

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liamt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

I am increasingly annoyed by hotel managers who are severely lacking respect of their customers, in that they do not acknowledge that for many, a hotel room is simply an office. This must obviously be particularly true for hotels at airports, of which this is one.

So how can one think that internet access is an extra? To add insult to injury, to not even offer wireless at all in the hotel rooms, not even at an additional fare? On top of that, not even the - hugely expensive - net connection in the lobby worked: It generated an error message: "Please try again later. Temporary service problem with clearing house (9100)". Here is another business idea: Make the bed an extra. Or the shower.

On top of that, the hotel was run down (surprising), awkward, and loud (admittedly not too surprising and acceptable at an airport).

I will not return. Please. Do your homework.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlkoreander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Visited this hotel for the New Year stay of 3 nights. Overall not bad. Hotel was clean and welcoming. We(coach party) arrived late evening and Reception Staff were nice. Room was neat clean and tidy. But only one tea bag for a drink.Good job we'd taken our own. Beds were comfortable but douvet not very big.
Breakfast each morning, in the Restaurant, was good except on the last morning when the hot food was almost none existant. None of the missing food items were replaced which they had done on the previous mornings.
The restaurant was not open at night and so on the last evening we ate in the Bar. The selection was not great and it did take 45 mins to get our order placed and the food arrive.
The staff need to get their act together as the waiter tried to double charge us for drinks that had already been paid and then went off duty before bringing our food to us.
Just be careful when you order drinks, Large Beer E5.20 Small Wine E8.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This used to be a Holiday Inn. The rooms are more comfortable and less "office like" than most German hotels, with nice carpeting, wood furniture instead of grey plastic surfaces, larger rooms, sheets so much better than the Leonardo Royal in Cologne.
But, there is always a drawback: there is no WiFi, and the Broadband cable is two feet long, not very pleasant.

Was here twice within three weeks. During the first visit, the front desk staff was very helpful.The second time, the lady at the desk was so snotty and arrogant (thank you, Leonardo, for treating male business travelers better than female guests - very common in Germany) that I won't be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flying_about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I was stuck in Cologne airport area and this was the only option.
The front desk staff very helpful and friendly
Room was clean and good sized

Food in the bar wasn't good came out cold but I was too hungry to complain and tired from my travels

I walked down the long hallway to my room at the furthest end possible and I felt like I was in the movie "The Shining" just waiting for the little kid on the tricycle to come around the corner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inspectorgadget007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Close to the airport (walking distance of 10 minutes) however the hotel itself is a bit "old" and the rooms were dissapointing (old fashioned, very basic, shower water turned from hot to cold every 5 seconds).
Breakfast buffet was rich and tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erez A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This place turned out to be a real bargain. The room was large and quiet, the flat screen TV was great and the wifi was free. Staff was helpful, and there's a regular shuttle that runs to the airport. I thought it also had a pool, but like most hotels in Europe, that was not the case. (There is a mini-gym.) Of course this is an airport hotel, so I wouldn't recommend it unless you're flying out in the morning. If that's the case, the Leonardo is excellent. Join their frequent guest club before booking. That might be the reason I had free wifi. The hotel also provided a toll free number you could use to make long-distance calls at no charge, but none of the numbers I called was eligible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Neustadt-Nord
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Leonardo Hotel Cologne
#55 of 263 in Cologne
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Mercure Hotel Koeln West
#40 of 263 in Cologne
703 reviews
Hotel Spiegel
#90 of 263 in Cologne
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Cologne Bonn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Cologne Bonn Airport

Address: Waldstr. 255, 51147 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £75 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Cologne Bonn Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Cologne Bonn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Koln/Bonner Flughafen Hotel Cologne
Holiday Inn Cologne
Cologne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing