We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive and basic. bad combination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Cologne Bonn Airport
Ranked #15 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“expensive and basic. bad combination”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I had to ask the visitor advice booth the location of the phone to call for the shuttle bus. I then waited at the pick up are for over 20 minutes and the driver was obviously surprised to be picking up 2 people so I suspect my request had got lost.
The receptionist was not very customer focussed, with no information about meals, breakfast or wi-fi.
The room was very basic, I would compare it to budget hotels which charge less than £50 per night. The only complimentary toiletry provided was soap, the towels were thin and one was obviously marked. The shower was difficult to access and slightly dangerous to exit. The airconditioning did not work and the room started at a balmy 24C and cooled to 23C after 4 noisy hours of use. I dread to think how hot the room could be in summer.
The room was apparantly soundproofed, and while this was partially true, as I could not hear my neighbours I was kept awake by external noises.
Tea and coffee making facilities were available, but only one t-bag, but luckily I brought my own.
Wide range of UK TV channels available.
Breakfast was OK, but again it was an extra luxury item! The range was basic compared to other hotels in Germany. There were references to regional produce but nothing was identified. There are several local specialities which I have had at other hotels within 50km and these were not available. The range of bread was very limited at 7.45, so unsure how frequently it was being replenished or if they had already run out. However the range of teas was good. This was the only positive thing about my entire stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tea_lover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    208
    119
    40
    20
See reviews for
79
99
63
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingswood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

a little old, and a little tired looking but does the job perfectly.. very helpful staff.. its only a 6 minute walk to airport terminal, but they still have a shuttle bus every 6 or 7 minutes.... cheap, clean and great location

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liamt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I am increasingly annoyed by hotel managers who are severely lacking respect of their customers, in that they do not acknowledge that for many, a hotel room is simply an office. This must obviously be particularly true for hotels at airports, of which this is one.

So how can one think that internet access is an extra? To add insult to injury, to not even offer wireless at all in the hotel rooms, not even at an additional fare? On top of that, not even the - hugely expensive - net connection in the lobby worked: It generated an error message: "Please try again later. Temporary service problem with clearing house (9100)". Here is another business idea: Make the bed an extra. Or the shower.

On top of that, the hotel was run down (surprising), awkward, and loud (admittedly not too surprising and acceptable at an airport).

I will not return. Please. Do your homework.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlkoreander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Visited this hotel for the New Year stay of 3 nights. Overall not bad. Hotel was clean and welcoming. We(coach party) arrived late evening and Reception Staff were nice. Room was neat clean and tidy. But only one tea bag for a drink.Good job we'd taken our own. Beds were comfortable but douvet not very big.
Breakfast each morning, in the Restaurant, was good except on the last morning when the hot food was almost none existant. None of the missing food items were replaced which they had done on the previous mornings.
The restaurant was not open at night and so on the last evening we ate in the Bar. The selection was not great and it did take 45 mins to get our order placed and the food arrive.
The staff need to get their act together as the waiter tried to double charge us for drinks that had already been paid and then went off duty before bringing our food to us.
Just be careful when you order drinks, Large Beer E5.20 Small Wine E8.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mountains
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This used to be a Holiday Inn. The rooms are more comfortable and less "office like" than most German hotels, with nice carpeting, wood furniture instead of grey plastic surfaces, larger rooms, sheets so much better than the Leonardo Royal in Cologne.
But, there is always a drawback: there is no WiFi, and the Broadband cable is two feet long, not very pleasant.

Was here twice within three weeks. During the first visit, the front desk staff was very helpful.The second time, the lady at the desk was so snotty and arrogant (thank you, Leonardo, for treating male business travelers better than female guests - very common in Germany) that I won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flying_about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I was stuck in Cologne airport area and this was the only option.
The front desk staff very helpful and friendly
Room was clean and good sized

Food in the bar wasn't good came out cold but I was too hungry to complain and tired from my travels

I walked down the long hallway to my room at the furthest end possible and I felt like I was in the movie "The Shining" just waiting for the little kid on the tricycle to come around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inspectorgadget007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Close to the airport (walking distance of 10 minutes) however the hotel itself is a bit "old" and the rooms were dissapointing (old fashioned, very basic, shower water turned from hot to cold every 5 seconds).
Breakfast buffet was rich and tasty.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erez A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt-Nord
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Lindenthal
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#6 of 261 in Cologne
527 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#17 of 261 in Cologne
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Cologne Bonn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Cologne Bonn Airport

Property: Leonardo Hotel Cologne Bonn Airport
Address: Waldstr. 255, 51147 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Cologne Bonn Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Cologne Bonn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Koln/Bonner Flughafen Hotel Cologne
Holiday Inn Cologne
Cologne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing