We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Koeln
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
US$132
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$123
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$82
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Koeln Messe(Cologne)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$74
ibis
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$151
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$111
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$118
US$79
ibis
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
US$283
US$230
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,014)
Filter reviews
1,014 results
Traveller rating
188
389
303
92
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
389
303
92
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationshort stayexcellent locationmain stationstayed one nightsmall bathroomcologne cathedralbeds were comfortablewalk in showerthe riverbasic hotelcouple of nightsexhibition centreeasy accessfew minutes walkbreakfast was includedold town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 1,014 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed in the Best Western for one night at the start of a Rhineland Market Cruise and were more than happy with the accommodation and service. Lift capacity was limited and we often walked the walk down five floors but not up. Restaurant capacity was pushed to its limit at breakfast time but we managed. I can say with absolute certainty that the room was much bigger than our cabin on the MS Bellevue.
We had no need to come into contact with the Hotel Management and anyone who has read my views on the Riviera Resort and Spar in Marfa Malta will perhaps see where I am coming from. I would like to recommend that the manager of that Hotel take a trip on a Rhine Cruiser and see how a hotel should be managed. Our boat had a "Hotel Manager" in charge of the hotel element of the boat. He was the 'front man' always present and always involved from presenting the life drill through cooking eggs and omelettes at breakfast to doing a stint behind reception.He seemed utterly tireless and gained the respect of all of the guests and clearly all of his staff.
I know I'm being naughty tying these comments to the Best Western but I felt the need to give him a plug!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Tony W,

Thank you for your recent stay. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. And we thank you for your effort and honesty. We assure you, your valubale feedback will help us to monitor and to improve our performances steadily.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.


Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We spent in this hotel 1 night to visit the Xmas markets. The position is perfect: just in front of the station, each of the market is almost walking distance from there. Big concern was the size of the room, as big as a cabin in a ship... The same comment applies to the bathroom. For a 4 star hotel, 1 night x 160€ without breakfast, it was really unsatisfactory!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Clo_Lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Clo_Lu,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We regret very much that our rooms and our service have not corresponded to your expectations. With pleasure we reserve for your next stay if requested a bigger room. We would be glad to be allowed to persuade you of our service on your next visit.

Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night because we were traveling across Belgium and Germany by train. But we really enjoyed staying here.
The hotel is located right outside the central train station. The check in was fast. We checked in early which was no problem, We had a room with the view of the Koln Cathedral.
The room is a bit small, but very clean, gets plenty of sunshine and the bed is comfortable. Everything worked fine.
We opted not to buy breakfast at the hotel, since there are many shops at the central stations selling breads and other baked goods. The cathedral is so near, and the famous, wonderful Cafe Reichard is only very near.
We will definitely come to stay at this hotel again the next time we visit Cologne.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the front, you will get the view of the Cathedral. But you must compromise a bit with the noise coming from the street.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed-Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Ed-Henry,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here so much and all on the team say thank you! We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the Best Western Grand City Hotel soon.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

In terms of facilities and general comfort this hotel is what you would expect for a middle range hotel in a city centre the rooms-we had a superior room- are ok providing usual facilities though they are a little dated. The main problem is the noise. The hotel faces the railway station and a large square and the level of noise in the room is not at all good. We were also perhaps unfortunate to have some rather inconsiderate fellow guest who came back late and were also very noisy. I would not however stay here again unless the noise insulation was improved

Room Tip: Not facing the train station
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Phil C,

Thank you very much for your feedback.. We regret very much that our rooms have not corresponded to your expectations. With pleasure we reserve for your next stay if requested a room which is more quiet. We would be glad to persuade you with our service on your next stay.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

For my first visit, I needed somewhere close to the station. This hotel was spot on. You can see the station across the square from the hotel. The staff were excellent and the room was perfect for one person. There was a double bed. TV was fine with instructions on how to operate it and the bathroom was large and roomy with a huger shower (Big enough to hold a party!). The room was clean and I had a good night's sleep. I would stay there again. I ate out so did not use the restaurant.

Room Tip: No tips. I was allocated my room and it was fine.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyzllmyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Tyzllmyne ,

thank you very much for this great feedback. We are glad to persuade you with our staff, service and our rooms. We hopefully welcome you back at some stage in the future.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews