We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, for one night.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Koeln

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Koeln
Ranked #63 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient, for one night.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

For: Next to station and cathedral, food acceptable, room had stylish makeover.
Against: The bathroom had not. Room small, bathroom microscopic, maintenance suspect, lift capacity limited.
Conclusion: Convenient, for a one night stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C901S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Colin T,

thank you for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on the next visit.

Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    323
    246
    81
    32
See reviews for
103
326
56
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is perfectly located near the railway station but despite this close proximity it is very quiet. Our room was on the 9th floor with a balcony that gave us an uninterrupted view of the Dom, delightful when illuminated at night. The buffet evening meal was excellent and the waiting staff were efficient and pleasant. This hotel is not opulent but it does provide good comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Thelma A,

thank you most sincerely for you comments, We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here so much and ee look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Stortford, Herts, England
Level Contributor
392 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed as part of a tour group and the location was ideal for that, as the hotel was only a few hundred yards from the main train station and a 5 minute walk to the Cologne cathedral.

We were in room 207 outwards and 511 on the return. Both were very quiet and we could have the window open as they were on the inner side of the hotel and overlooked an enclosed courtyard. Others at the front, said the double glazing was very effective at cutting out the obvious noise you get when facing a major station and busy road and walk way but you could not open the windows at all as you had constant noise all night.

The room was light and bright and airy. There was air con but we just had the window open. Good sized desk, storage area, safe and hairdryer were in the room. There was a beverage tray and for me the best bit.. little packets of Haribo bears on the bed!! Lovely gesture!

The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well both nights.

The bathroom was fine. always hot water and towels medium quality. Soap/shampoo came from a dispenser on the wall.

Breakfast was generally fine, fresh bread/rolls/pastries/cheeses/cereals/fruit... the limited 'hot' items let it down as they were only luke warm. Coffee was bitter and not hot.

Dinner on both nights was very poor.. it was the same menu! Tepid, insipid tasting fish in a white sauce of some sort, goulash? all sauce hardly any meat! frozen mixed veg, looked like tinned potatoes and rice. Very limited salad bar if you could call it that! soup was ok but we all felt it was clearly tinned. Fresh bread was nice. Fruit salad for desert was fine. Dinner clearly needs sorting out.

The hotel is ideally located for the main station and for walking into the centre of Cologne.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear dedicatedtraveller,

thank you for your time and your detailed feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Regarding the dinner, we are very sorry to hear, that is has been disappointing to you. we forward your constructive criticism to our kithcne team immediately. We will hopefully welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olhao, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very good location, Spacious room but a little outdated. Well cleaned room and bathroom. Poor water pressure. The curtains didn't close well so the light started to enter the room very early. The noise of trains did not affect my sleep quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filsoares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Filsoares,

thank you for choosing the Wyndham Köln for your recent stay and thank you also for your very valuable feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit in Cologne.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Location is top notch--cannot be beat. You are walking distance to everything and literally across the street from the central station so transportation is easy.

Outside of location, this Wyndham is an old best western hotel and feels more like a hostel with private rooms than a hotel.

The rooms are TINY. There is only room for one small suitcase to be opened at a time and the bathroom is almost too small to put on makeup.

The hotel was clean and would be fine for an overnight stay but I would not recommend this place for anyone looking to stay longer than one or two nights.

Again-location is amazing the hotel is not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCHTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear LCH Travels,

thank you for your feedback. We are sorry, that the hotel did not meet your expectations in regard to the room size. We would be glad to have you as a guest again and to be able to convince you of our hotel by providing you a larger room.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We arrived as part of a large group on a rail holiday, the hotel is very close to the station and as you would expect a busy area. The rooms are a reasonable size and the bathroom adequate. Many bars and restaurants close by although we were provided with a buffet meal as part of our package. The quality was good and plentiful. The breakfast offered a good choice including a hot selection. Close to the cathedral and other tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Light sleepers avoid rooms overlooking the road and station square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendywoos2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Wendy,

thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a greast start of your journey in Cologne.
Kind regards
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were in Koln for just two days and staying at Wyndham Koln certainly added to making the short stay a truly wonderful one.

Here are the good things about the hotel:
1. Location. It is right next to the Koln Hbf. When you leave the station, just look for the exit heading to Breslauer Platz. As soon as you exit the station, you will already see the Wyndham Koln.

2. Friendly staff. We were arriving from Brussels at 12 noon. I requested for early check-in and I was pleasantly surprised to hear that our request was approved. Yay! The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

3. Wonderful room. The room was clean and beautiful. I loved having a mini-office at one corner of the room. One of the best things was the balcony that gave us a view of the station and the Dom.

4. Great WIFI connection. No explanation needed. :)

Definitely worth the 80 Euros we spent!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clayman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at Wyndham Koeln, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear clayman79,

thank you so much for your kind words. We are really glad you had such a wonderful stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest again. Have a wonderful time.
Best wishes
Your Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#67 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#32 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
#97 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#27 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Koeln

Property: Wyndham Koeln
Address: Breslauer Platz 2, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cologne
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Koeln 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 131 rooms at our Cologne hotel enjoy a comfortable and modern design. Sound-proof windows and air conditioning ensure perfect sleeping comfort. Our hotel guests have free WiFi internet access in the entire hotel. Relax in the hotel bar with a cool "Kölsch" beer or a sparkling cocktail. The WYNDHAM Köln 's summer terrace is the perfect place to socialise in the summer months. The WYNDHAM Köln is located at the heart of the city, across from the Cathedral and central railway station. Cologne, the fascinating Rhine metropolis: 2000 years of rich history, gathering ground for people from around the globe, home to a vibrant art and culture scene of Cologne and extensive shopping miles, with a picturesque historic district and the trade fair grounds - all within just a few minutes' walking distance. In summer you can enjoy the view from the hotel terrace at the heart of Cologne while the city's night life pulsates outside. Relax with a cool Kölsch beer or a sparkling cocktail in the hotel bar "Le Perron" or on the terrace. Our hotel rooms are ideal for business travellers and visitors planning a short trip to Cologne. Our hotel's comfortable beds ensure a good night's sleep and tempt every guest to have a lie-in. The free WiFi internet connection in the rooms keeps you in touch with your colleagues, friends and family at any time of the day or night. All rooms are equipped with a desk, telephone, flatscreen TV and a safe deposit box. A free bottle of mineral water is on hand as refreshment. A kettle and a selection of teas & coffees provide you a relaxed start to the morning at the WYNDHAM Köln. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Hotel Cologne
Four Points Cologne
Sheraton Cologne
Cologne Four Points
Cologne Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing