We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grande Dame with updates”
Review of Dom Hotel Koeln

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dom Hotel Koeln
Ranked #96 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have been staying here for at least 20 years while attending the shows at nearby koln messe. The Dom is one of the great old european hotels. Recently added a renovated wing with state of the art fixtures and updates. As has been our typical experience the front desk staff is frosty with their welcome and despite repeated assurances the wireless is inoperative which by the way is NOT included so you have the bonus of paying for unreliable service. This is the end of our second day and its still not up. The business center is decent though and you can access the internet etc. Breakfast is 29 euros so a better bet if you are adventurous is to round the corner for the pastry and coffee shop which is exceptional. Also Fruh a great local brauhaus is right behind the hotel as well as a busz shopping area.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking Dom square while scenic are VERY loud with skateboarders, kids and boisterous you...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJDbiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
There are newer reviews for Dom Hotel Koeln
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

We recently stayed at the Dom Hotel Meridien, over Karnival in Cologne. The hotel is located steps away from the Cathedral, and with a lovely executive suite overlooking the square, we were thrilled with our room. The bathroom was spacious, with a bathtub and separate shower area, and mood lighting that had a multi-colour function! Bathrobes and slippers in abundance and comfy beds and pillows. The staff were lovely and friendly. We booked and pre-paid so our only surprise, at checkout, was the £2.50 per capsule for the Nespresso coffee in the room that was added to our bill! The total for the coffee consumed was £25!! Since coffee/tea is usually free in hotel rooms, we hadn't thought to ask but were told that it was listed on the mini-bar price list. This was unfair as it should have been clearer and £2.50 for a capsule that costs £0.29 is a bit much. After a bit of complaining, they waived it but it soured the experience..just a bit! So a highly recommended hotel but don't touch the coffee capsules! There's lots of great coffee just steps away with bakeries galore!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spiderspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomHotel, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear “spiderspotter”,

A warm thank you for taking the time to write this positive review on TripAdvisor.

Guest experience is essential to us and it is always rewarding to read that we succeeded. So I am sorry that nevertheless there was one point that did not make your stay the perfect one we aim to. We will rethink about your comments concerning the coffee prices. Thank you for your remarks and to give us the opportunity to sharpen up our performance for our guest’s welfare.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Dom Hotel in the not too distant future.

Best regards from Cologne


Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently with friends I felt the hotel needed more character it was a bit stale. Room was very clean and tidy but perhaps boring the bar staff were not great and slow to serve us maybe because we were a group of lads travelling together for the carnival. Despite this I'd still reccomrnd this hotel and would stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toadstools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomHotel, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear “toadstools”,

Thank you very much for your review and for haven chosen our hotel for your stay at Cologne. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay during the Carnival period. At the meantime I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had in regard with the service at our bar. Be assured that I have already spoken to my team. Service is our highest priority and we always do our utmost to make every stay of our guests a most enjoyable one.

But I am glad to hear that you would stay with us again. You will be interested in hearing that the Dom Hotel will be nearly entirely refurbished. So that there will be nothing more left of a stale character next time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon again.

All the best,

Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hotel is situated at the best location of Cologne, just on the Dom square, in the very centre of the city. It is a two minute walk from central railway station and 10 minute walk to the fairgrounds.

The hotel itself is classy and elegant. The lobby is old fashioned and there is no actual lounge to rest. The bar offers a perfect view to the cathedral. The room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom had day light and a big bath, but no shower cabin.

The problem here is the service. Some of the receptionists are arrogant and sometimes rude. The luggage boy delivered our bags to a wrong room and nobody could give as an explanation where are they and only after 30 minutes we were assured that our luggage was safe. Finally, there is not a fitness centre in this hotel.

I would stay again to enjoy the perfect location!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCEAAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomHotel, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear “MCEAAthens”,

Thank you very much for posting your review, I really appreciate your feedback. The convenience of our hotel’s proximity to nearly every point of interest in town really is unbeatable.

We are very happy about the good score you gave us. However, it is with great regret that I learned that you were not satisfied with the level of service at our Front Office offered during your stay with us. You may rest assured that we have taken your feedback very seriously and that I will personally look into it, as it is the goal of our team here at the Dom Hotel that our guests feel as comfortable and happy as possible. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused.

We would be happy if we were able to welcome you soon back to Cologne and to show you the quality of service for which we are usually known. It would be an honour for us to see you again in the not too distant future.

Thanks & kind regards,


Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Great Location, and Service. Classical decor, with lots of marble. Just across from the Dom Cathedral and walking distance from the Train Station. Don't worry about cold feet at night when you have to get up for the bathrooom, the floor is heated! Would be great for business travel, unfortunately, we were traveling as a family (2 adults and 2 kids) and had to get two rooms. Luckily we were able to use mileage points. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliveHendricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomHotel, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear “CliveHendricks”,

Thanks for your review and the good score you gave us. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular appreciated our location and the room with the heated floor.

We hope you will soon come back to Cologne and honor us with your visit. Whenever there is anything we can do for you in the meantime, just let us know.

Kind regards,


Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This hotel has a great location and is a good business hotel. The location is the best part ,the service is helpful and professional. The negative part are the fitness service, no pool and spa. The single rooms are small and old fashion. The restaurant is good but the breakfast has a heavy 29 € price tag. For a short stay a good hotel.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the Dom.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hahee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomHotel, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear “Hahee”,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your recommendation. I regret that we could not fulfill all of your expectations but we are glad to hear that you did like our location and services.

Unfortunately, due to the historical context of our building, we are not able to provide a fitness facility for our guests. We cooperate with two fitness centers nearby the hotel. Both are well known in town and are situated very closely, just within 5 minutes walking distance.

I was very sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the price performance during your stay with us. Please be kindly advised that our prices are very much in line with the average price for breakfast in comparable 5 star hotels in Europe. We believe the price reflects the quality of product on offer, of which a lot is sourced from local and regional biological agriculture. Guests with less appetite in the morning can also choose a breakfast a la carte to have at our bar besides the buffet.

I also regret that you were not satisfied with your room. The hotel will undergo an extensive renovation as soon as all works in the newly extended part of the hotel have finished. I am sure you will like the fresh and modern design.

We would be happy to welcome you again before long. It would be great if you include us again in your next holiday trip.

Best regards

Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Located on Cathedral Square, this hotel is not only an elegant high end European hotel one of the 6 Cologne Christmas markets was right outside the front door! And the other five were within walking distance. And these Christmas Markets were all big!

The hotel was very nice and comfortable. There must have been some VIPs there, because there was a lot of security roaming the halls- but VIPs don’t stay at non-good hotels…..

A great location to explore Old Town and its shopping district.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomHotel, Manager at Dom Hotel Koeln, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear “Peter H”,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and for sharing this nice review. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay and in particular could relish the nice Christmas Markets around the hotel. This is indeed something special.

We would be happy to see you soon again. If there is anything we can do for you in the meantime, just let us know.

Best regards,

Riccardo Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,218 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#48 of 261 in Cologne
313 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel am Museum
Hotel am Museum
#45 of 261 in Cologne
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Hotel Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Hotel Koeln

Address: Domkloster 2A, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Cologne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#47 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £89 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dom Hotel Koeln 5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right at the heart of Cologne andenjoy our new rooms and suites with the marvellous view to the Dom, only 50 meters beeline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dom Hotel Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Dom Hotel
Le Meridien Cologne
Cologne Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing