We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Christmas experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dom Hotel Koeln

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dom Hotel Koeln
Ranked #84 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely Christmas experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We had a large room which was looking out over the square. Even with an offer from Expedia it was more than I'd usually pay but it was worth it to look out over the Christmas market with all the lights. Very nice room but didn't want to pay the breakfast prices so had breakfast in the Frue at the back of the hotel, which is somewhere worth visiting anyway. If you stay in the rooms overlooking the Square you can expect the bells of the Cathedral to start ringing at 7 am but that's all part of the fun!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Pat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    135
    47
    25
    18
See reviews for
58
175
55
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights. The rooms were comfortable and the hotel is in an excellent location for sightseeing around koln. Main highlight was the breakfast which beat most hotels hands down

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We got the room via Expedia at a good price. The room itself had excellent views of the cathedral, and it was entertaining to watch the people in the square, such as the surprisingly mobile 'living statues'. It was a very nice room, with a lovely modern bathroom. However, it wasn't great to be charged 2.5 euros for each capsule of Nespresso (no other hot drink available). We felt the breakfast was overpriced, so didn't try it. Instead we walked about 100 yards to a cafe and had a really good traditional German breakfast for around 8 euros each. I would definitely recommend the hotel for the views from the room.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a view of the Dom. It's very theatrical, and always entertaining because of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wise-old-bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent as it is next to the cathedral - which is quite amazing everytime you leave the hotel, the gothic cathedral is infront of you. It is also a short walk from the river, near the shops as well as being around the corner (most importantly being in Germany!) from a fantastic beer hall. I would recommend going there instead of the bar in the hotel as the prices were quite steep and the beer hall had a much nicer authentic atmosphere and the bar staff were not as attentive as the reception staff of the hotel.

The hotel was nice to stay in and the staff did kindly move us without question to another part of the hotel as from our original room we could hear hammering from renovations being completed in the next building. It was unfortuante as that was not an issue with the hotel, so it was great they moved us straight away.

We could hear the bells of the cathedral of course (being so close) but it was lovely - and the bells were certainly not an issue at all.

Lastly, as we came in by train, the train station is also very close to the catherdral and hotel, so most convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbr_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

four of us went for easter weekend and had a great time, lovely staff comfortable rooms and a fantastic breakfast. it is a very historic hotel in an amazing spot couldnt be any closer to the cathedral and that is a sight to behold

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, tx
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

After a very long day of flying from the US to Frankfurt, Germany then taking a train from Frankfurt to Cologne we arrived at the Dom Hotel at 11am. Our room was not ready but the staff did get us in as soon as our room became available or it could have been the fact that we fell asleep in the lobby! Our room number was 226. No view at all but the room was spacious with 2 twin beds nudged against each other to make a king size. This is typical in Europe. The bathroom was very nice with a full size hair dryer...always a perk with me as I have a lot of hair! The breakfast here is not to be missed. I have included photos; it's simply beautiful and delicious. The only downside for us was 15 Euro per day Wi-Fi fee…(we booked 4 rooms here). The hotel is centrally located. The Dom Cathedral is across the street. Several other museums are located very close as well. The Rhine is a short walk and the streets are just lovely. I think we visited every brew house in town but my favorite was Fruh. Fruh is one of the oldest brew houses in Cologne and the food and beer were great. Some of the locals call Fruh "Tourist Beer" but our group of beer aficionados enjoyed it. Also, don't miss Peter’s Brauhaus and Malzmuhle.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisamcAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Fantastic location you walk out on to a market! Lovely room Clean Big and underheated bathroom floor with big bath! Nice breckfast .. lots of choice! Lovely views, Lots of attractions near by. Would recommend very pleased.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xclaireloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#43 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#30 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Hotel Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Hotel Koeln

Property: Dom Hotel Koeln
Address: Domkloster 2A, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Cologne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dom Hotel Koeln 5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right at the heart of Cologne andenjoy our new rooms and suites with the marvellous view to the Dom, only 50 meters beeline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Hotel Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Dom Hotel
Le Meridien Cologne
Cologne Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing