We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Experience To Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dom Hotel Koeln

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dom Hotel Koeln
Ranked #84 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An Experience To Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Last year at the Christmas Markets, I stayed in the wonderful Dom Hotel overlooking the Cologne Cathedral. Not only was the staff attentive (more on that later), my hotel room overlooking Cathedral Square was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. While people watching on the square was amazing, the highlight was looking straight out my spacious floor to ceiling window at the statues and sculptures adorning the side of the cathedral. When the bells rang, it was just magical. My small room was a little jewel box of efficiency. Internet service was excellent, food was fine and the staff went to extraordinary lengths to help me, a solo traveler. Admittedly, I had too much luggage so when it was time to transfer to the river cruise ship, the bellman insisted on transporting the luggage down the hill and along the riverside until he had located my ship as a taxi would not have been able to get close enough to offload my things. Bottom line: great service, lovely hotel near all the sights.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avstampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    135
    47
    25
    18
See reviews for
58
175
55
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

A great place to spend Christmas.I think everybody should hear Silent Night sung "Aus Deutsch" at least once in their life and this is ideal. Cosy rooms and the selection of beverages in the rooms refrigerator is remarkably unfeasible in any other city.Located in walking distance to the European cross roads of rail travel this is where you want to whet the dust of the road you've traveled and return to civilisation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esktrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Dom Hotel has an amazing location and rooms facing the cathedral have a beautiful view especially at night.

We had one of the new modern rooms which had a super comfortable bed and cool electric curtains as well as mood lighting in the bathroom. The room was spacious and so was the bathroom. Everything was cleverly designed and the room included all the necessary amenities.

Breakfast was sumptuous and served till late which is great on the weekend. Overall food and beverage in the hotel is good and so is the reception staff, concierge and valet.

Would highly recommend to anyone staying for business or pleasure in Cologne.

Room Tip: A room with a cathedral view is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadir80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

- Location: Great. It is right next to the Cathedral. Is located steps away from the Cathedral, the railway station and the market.
- Atmosphere: Pleasant. You will hear the bells all night!
- Decoration: Elegant.
- Room: It was spacious, clean with comfortable beds.
- Breakfast: Good, but expensive.
- Service: Medium level. While the price includes smiling face of the staff, some of them do not like to smile to the customer.
- Would I stay there again?: Maybe.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olympus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel is really great location in Cologne. It is just oposite of the Cologne Cathedral(Koln Dom) and Koln main train station.
I woke up to the glorious sound of bells ringing from the Koln Dom. Great room, fantastic view, right next to Cathederal. Koln train station is less than two minutes walk.
There are many souvenir shop are surrounded by the Cologne Cathedral.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zugus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel is all about the location; however, being adjacent to the cathedral, you will hear the bells all night. All night. (And our room was not facing the cathedral--so I guess it doesn't matter where your room is--you'll hear it.) We got a deluxe room, which was very spacious and modern. At the same time, the service needs a lot of improvement. There weren't any specific issues; I just felt like our presence in the hotel was annoying to them. It wasn't a bad hotel, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Arrived on our wedding anniversary, summer 2012. We were on a camping holiday but decided to splash out for one night. There was a mix up with our online reservation and our room had not been reserved, but this was quickly sorted out, and we were upgraded to a beautiful 3 room suite. We were also offered full breakfast as a gesture. Staff are fantastic, friendly and professional. Location is simply perfect, right in the centre of Cologne. Suite was luxurious and spotless to say the least. Breakfast was truly amazing with the largest variety and combination of fresh foods i have every seen. I would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, it never hurts to ask!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#43 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#30 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Hotel Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Hotel Koeln

Property: Dom Hotel Koeln
Address: Domkloster 2A, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Cologne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dom Hotel Koeln 5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right at the heart of Cologne andenjoy our new rooms and suites with the marvellous view to the Dom, only 50 meters beeline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Hotel Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Dom Hotel
Le Meridien Cologne
Cologne Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing