We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse
Ranked #213 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The room was big and the beds were comfortable enough,
The staff were helpful and the room was clean.
Quite close to the centre and has some cool restaurants and supermarkets nearby.
Good choice for travelling on a budget, meets all basic needs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoddersGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Although rooms at the Meininger are very cheap, mine was not of a particularly high standard. Although big enough, there was a bad smell in the room and the bed was not the best.

Having said that, the hotel is in an excellent location in central Cologne, a stroll away from the U_Bahn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulianFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed here recently on a flying work visit. Cologne hotels were at capacity due to a trade fare and I found myself able to get in here without any worries. While I found the pictures of the hotel misleading (room and facilities certainly suffering from a bit of wear and tear), all in all it was a perfectly acceptable stay. Staff were extremely friendly, and there's a vibrant little street up the road (Aachener Strasse) teaming with great bars, eats and activity. A recommend for student travellers and backpackers

I only have two further points to note:

- Not correct to position yourself as a Hotel (with matching prices)...when you get a 'private room' which is in fact an empty room full of bunk beds. I was on a work trip, and while I don’t mind a ‘no frills’ experience this was a bit depressing
- While I thought most of the staff were great, there is an extremely unpleasant little man that works on reception during the day. After a 1 hour altercation over a late payment fee (I was 15 mins late for checkout, so he tried to charge me 10 euros), and several cheap and nasty personal attacks, I left swearing never to return.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank ibeenthereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Hi,
I am really sorry that you didn´t enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Did you ask for another room?
Of course we want that our guests feel well and we would try to give you another room if we still have capacity.
Check Out time is at 11 o´clock.
Perhaps you had the check out with a person who is not working really long with us because normally we accept a delay of 10 or 15 minutes without paying a late check out.
Would be great if you give us another chance to show you that you can feel good in our house.
Kind regards,
Your M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

It was good because of the location, but it was a bit old, nothing compare to to the Meininger @ Frankfurt/Messe. The staff was pretty fun, thou, and it had a small bar at the lobby - lots of good german beers there.

Room Tip: During the summer, don't take the sunny rooms. there's no ac, so it gets pretty hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YasminRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here for one night due to attending a conference at the last minute; everywhere else conveniently located was sold out.

Check in was quick and efficient; free wi fi was easy to connect to and fast. The room was a bit grubby and dusty; shower curtain needed replacing. Toilet cistern had a loose bolt which dripped continually; I find this nearly impossible to sleep through so had to wrap towels around it to deaden the sound. The bathroom drain smelled like it was blocked; had to keep the window open for fresh air all night.

On the plus side, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly; they booked me a taxi in the morning no problem, and it arrived very quickly. Probably wouldn't stay again but it was fine for the short time that I was there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AET_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger c, Staff at SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thanks for rating us and giving us your feedback. It´s always helpfull to get better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Me and my buddy stayed here for four nights and had our own room with private bedroom. The room was okay, new towels and linen (almost) every day, room was clean, good shower. The beds were a bid hard though. Located in the student area, so lots of stuff to eat and do in the neighbourhood. Also very close to the subway. Tip: if you go by car, park your car at the park and ride Bocklemünd (for free!) and take the subway to the hotel (get off in Friesenplatz and then take the 15 to Ubiering). This will save you a lot of money on parking!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger c, Staff at SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review and for the tip for parking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

It is good place for a reasonable price, good service at reception, clean and relatively comfortable beds (even had gummy bears there!), great location close to downtown and the metro/tram.
After all I only complain about the bathroom which was tiny and always with an unpleasant smell
We were on the top floor in a triple room, the elevator only went to the fifth floor but that was not a problem for us.
It was a good stay and the city is extremely beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sararmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hotel Weber
#90 of 263 in Cologne
117 reviews
Deutz
Hotel Alt Deutz
Hotel Alt Deutz
#211 of 263 in Cologne
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#49 of 263 in Cologne
113 reviews
Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf
#65 of 263 in Cologne
325 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen Cologne Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse

Address: Engelbertstr. 33-35, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Meininger Hotel Köln City Center)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: £41 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Koln City Center is located on the left bank of the river Rhine in the student district. It is the ideal starting point for shopping trips at Schildergasse and a stroll through the Old Town to Cologne Cathedral. MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation: free WiFi in the lobby, a hotel bar, a guest kitchen and a games room are all great places to get to know our international guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel
Meininger City Hotel Cologne
Meininger City Hostel Hotel
Meininger City Hostel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing