We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse
Nearby Hotels
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
51
119
106
59
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
119
106
59
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperson dormperfect budget hotelbed roomrooms are basic but cleantoilet and showerprivate bathroommin walkingclose to the city centershort stayquiet at nighttram stationbooked this hotelpleasant staymain shoppingpartyingstoragevaluables
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Quite close to the centre of Cologne, 20 minute walk max. Very near the student part, cheap bars on surrounding streets. The breakfast was really nice, 5 euros may be a bit expensive but the coffee was delicious

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MegKay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni M, Manager at SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your rating and nice comments.

We hope to see you again here in Cologne or any other MEININGER Hotel in Europe.

Many Greetings your Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

On arriving at the hostel, we were greeted by very friendly staff. On entering the room we found that it had not been cleaned after the previous guests, but were swiftly moved into an alternative room, which was. The hostel was fine and our room had a good bathroom / shower. It could do with a refurbishment, but this is far from the worst hostel I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest, thanks for your nice comment.

We hope to see you back in any other MEININGER Hotel in Europe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Was here on my own. I found the staff really pleasant and helpful - they let me borrow a phone charger as I'd left mine behind. The room was very clean and quiet, with a private bathroom and plenty of space. The wifi was excellent and free. It has a nice atmosphere somewhere between a hostel and a cheap hotel - I really liked it and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eviemou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest thanks a lot for this really nice rating. We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be happy to see you again here or any other MEININGER.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights with my partner as we travelled around Germany and have to stay, that although the staff were lovely and kitchen facilities for cooking we're great, the rooms were extremely average, very small, a bit smelly and run down.

Because we were only in Cologne for 2 days, we were out sight seeing pretty much all day and out at the local pubs/restaurants at night, so we just needed a cheap, convenient place to sleep at night. It did the job. But to review the place, the rooms are so unbelievably small, the bathrooms smell quite damp-like and overall, the whole place needs a revamp. A little out the city centre, but not far to walk in. (20/25 minutes)

The kitchen was great for cooking in however, with plenty of pots, pans and cutlery. Very clean and tidy. Lots of amenities near by, shops, restaurants, pubs etc so great location for that.

Would stay again, but in a private room. Maybe there'd be a bit more space for the two of us?

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Katy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your really nice comment and rating.

We looking forard to see you back here or any other MEININGER hotel in Europe

Your MEININGER Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Excellent room and bathroom. The lockers were a bit small, but manageable.
Location was ok, but it's a 20 minutes walk to the city center. There's a metro stop close by, lots of restaurants and markets.
We didn't try the breakfast because we were on a tight budget and prefered to buy food at the supermarket.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ga_bi_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Gast, danke für diese tolle Bewertung und die Benotung unseres Hauses.

Wir freuen uns wenn es Euch gefallen hat und freuen uns auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen hier in Köln oder in einem der anderen Meininger Hotels.

Viele liebe Grüße vom Kölner Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews