We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindner Hotel City Plaza
Ranked #25 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I have stayed in the Renaissance hotel in Köln many time in the last 5 years and it is always great. I have never been disappointed. The breakfast is great and the location is also very good. It is convenient to walk downtown or take the subway on next corner. I recommend this hotel if you are going to the nice city of Cologne.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking_in_Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    317
    108
    27
    13
See reviews for
76
214
42
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

This hotel just works. While the hotel is a little dated it's very luxurious and classy and very well maintained. Staff were very friendly yet very professional. Extras were reasonably priced. Even in the extreme summer heat (much hotter than would be expected) the air conditioning worked well.

Rooms were clasically decorated and very comfortable and rates very reasonable.

The location is fairly central and well placed for numerous bars. Parking is fairly expensive but there is a public car park across the street which is much cheaper - though free street parking might be possible if you get very lucky.

Overall the hotel was absolutely stunning value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCF36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jabbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

It was allready the third time we've stayed at this hotel. We keep coming back because of the excellent service. The staffmembers are all very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are tidy and spacious. There is even a small pool in the hotel!
We are very fond of the breakfast, there's a very large choice and the quality of the food is impeccable. The location of this hotel is superb, only a 10 minute walk from the centre. And for the fans: there's a Starbucks just around the corner!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magalie751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2010

The hotel is well located but poorly laid out and poorly managed. The reception is simply too small to cope with the number of guests when the hotel is full. Queues to check in and queues to check out - staff pleasant enough but of three requests made of reception none attended to. Beds comfortable enough - rooms on the small side but adequate - bathrooms utilitarian but all fittings worked. Breakfast unimpressive - not only insufficient table room resulting in queueing but quality simply not good enough - pancakes hard - eggs dried out - orange juice warm - porridge congealed - coffee weak - maybe a bad day for them but overall the mutual feeling from the group was not again. We were not the only ones judging from comments made in the fifteen minute queue to check out. I am sure if the hotel is quiet they can cope well but when busy try somewhere else if you can. They need a new manager.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timtraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurendavis
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We booked this hotel through priceline and got an amazing deal ($75/night with taxes). From the moment we walked in, the lobby was warm & inviting and the front desk personnel was extremely helpful. Their english was perfect and they gave us wonderful recommendations. The rooms are spacious, clean, and very comfortable. As a non smoker, I always worry about cigarette smoke in hotels that allow smoking. However we never once smelled smoke which was a huge relief! We were in town party for the Christmas Markets and the hotel was a 10 minute walk from several of them. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurendavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Long lines at reception. Dated rooms and bathrooms, carpets old and need changing and the bathroom furniture and decor are more in tune with a three star hotel. The pool and sauna area is grotty and needs renovating urgently. Changed hotel and went to the Intercontinental hotel (true 5 star).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejp1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The hotel is only a short walk to the Metro and about 10 mins walk to the center.

Around the corner from the hotel (where the metro is) is a pretty busy street with a lot of restaurants and bars.

The room is a bit dated but everything was clean. I normally don't watch TV so the old TV was fine.

The reception was pretty polite and helpful. Our package didn't come with the breakfast otherwise the buffet style breakfast will cost 24 euros. We ordered our own breakfast and there was a mix up with the price and they promptly correct the bill without any problem.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Lindner Hotel Dom Residence
Altstadt-Nord
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Steigenberger Hotel Koeln
#12 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Astor & Aparthotel Cologne
Astor & Aparthotel Cologne
#72 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel City Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel City Plaza

Property: Lindner Hotel City Plaza
Address: Magnusstrasse 20, 50672 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#28 Business Hotel in Cologne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindner Hotel City Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindner Hotel City Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Cologne
Cologne Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing