We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice with great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lindner Hotel City Plaza
Ranked #28 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I had great time in this hotel. Rooms were modern furnished and reasonable in size, very well cleaned.

The location was in a quiet area, 20 minutes walking from Cologne Cathedral and downtown.

The best thing was the breakfast, very fresh, tasty and vast in options.

The swimming pool was very small. The jacuzzi was only a small part of the pool which had only a bit of water streaming.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler_BN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
There are newer reviews for Lindner Hotel City Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

I am staying here for 6 month now and like the atmosphere. Staff is always nice and helpful. Lounge provides everythink you need. Lots of Bars and Restaurants around. A good stay for business travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We had a great time in this hotel. Leisure centre is a great bonus!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I was recently one a trip to Cologne and stayed one night at the Renaissance. The hotel is very modern and well maintained. The room was very clean and one of the quietest locations that I have stayed at while traveling recently. The breakfast in the lounge was very fresh, healthy with lots of options. I would stay here again for business or with my family.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

the hotel was beautiful and very modern, it was spotlessly clean and the staff very helpful. the only negative was the meal prices which seemed quite expensive but not having experienced german prices before we ate outwith the hotel where the prices were about half the cost

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ardrossan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We booked a table for four people on the elevated area of their restaurant for New Year brunch last year. We had a great time with their Christmas buffet in 2010. My friend even celebrated her birthday party in this hotel and rented one of their function rooms last November of 2011. We informed their guest relations to check our New Year's brunch booking. We were informed that our four seats were reserved as we asked. When we arrived on 1st of January for our lunch, we were ushered to a small room of their restaurant. We saw that the table we wanted to have, was not taken. The waiter who served us was new and needed more training, but was friendly. Their hostess needs to be a bit more accommodating. This hotel has to learn how to treat returning customers properly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rain028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The decor and facilities are great, the beds are incredibly comfortable, but it was the service and cost of extras that really let this hotel down.

We arrived in the evening and were treated with almost disdain at the restaurant for not having a reservation, even though we could clearly see four empty tables and the restaurant was open for another couple of hours. The veal chop was good but overcooked and the serrano-wrapped monkfish was so overcooked you could have used it as a squash ball. Service was very sloppy and we actually had to ask for a dessert menu at which point the same waitress that ’greeted’ us seemed stunned that we might even want one.

The bar is expensive, even more than expected for a 5 star and a spirit and mixer will set you back 10-12 euros. The bar staff are very friendly and know their drinks, but unfortunately there are more tables than staff to cover them; when we popped in for a nightcap on the Saturday night I had to go and order drinks after waiting 15 minutes for table service and 25 minutes after that I had to complain that we still hadn’t had them. A few other tables were similarly unimpressed and it was clear that two staff were not enough.

Wireless internet is available at 15 euros a day - I didnt bother at that price. I also didn't bother trying the breakfast at 24 euros which is just outrageous! The pool and sauna are free to use but I didn’t have the opportunity so couldn’t comment.

I would stay again as the hotel itself is very nice and has a great location fpr all the shopping and restaurants, but would certainly never consider paying full price - you really do not get what you pay for here on the service side.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ade_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,790 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Lindner Hotel Dom Residence
Altstadt-Nord
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Steigenberger Hotel Koeln
#10 of 261 in Cologne
865 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,120 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel City Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel City Plaza

Address: Magnusstrasse 20, 50672 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#28 Business Hotel in Cologne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £86 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindner Hotel City Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lindner Hotel City Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Cologne
Cologne Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing