We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth Considering” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindner Hotel City Plaza

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lindner Hotel City Plaza
Ranked #22 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth Considering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Although it would have been nice to have been closer to the Cathedral (it is only 15 mins slow walk away) the area that the hotel is situated in is worth it. Losts of shops, cafes and night life.
The room was spacious, only some noise when you open the windows, and the facilities were good. I really enjoyed the atmosphere of the area.
There is a little cafe just one minutes walk away that has a lovely breakfast buffet for Euro 6.95.
The walk to the station was easy and the people are nice.
There is a taxi rank outside the hotel (less than Euro 5.50 to the station with luggage).
I would consider going back there again if in Cologne.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideJanpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    306
    104
    27
    13
See reviews for
76
206
42
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
180 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Second time at this place, no changes since last time besides the name. I did not pay attention when booking and ended in the Lindner, former Renaissance.

When checking the website you will not see a full room picture, besides for a Suite and there is a reason for it. Bathroom from the 80s (where you can see that rooms were smoking in the past), TV from the 80s, carpet, chair etc did not look younger neither and you can only imagine what happened in your room in the past.... The bed is the former Renaissance bed, certainly great 10 or 15 years ago (felt even longer) when it was new. Room was clean.

The fitness is very small, pool has limited opening hours (eg as of 3pm), parking is 25€ - walk 30sec and you can get 24h for less than 15€. Internet is 14€!

Breakfast is good, very good choice but not a reason to stay there.

Service is friendly and professional.

All in all a place to stay if you get a <100€ rate, above I would recommend to consider other options.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j75fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend while he was in town for a conference. It was a respectable hotel – decent location close to a train stop and plenty of bars and restaurants. Short walk to the Dom and shopping. The hotel recently changed ownership – it used to be a Renaissance but Lindner must have recently taken over. It seems like they still have a few operational kinks to work through.

Pros: really good breakfast, friendly staff, nice bar and outside patio for hanging out in big or small groups, clean rooms w/coffee and tea options, and best of all – the Club Lounge on the 5th floor. The lounge is a small, comfortable room with a few tables/chairs and comfy lounge chairs as well as snacks and hot and cold beverages 24/7. There’s a TV and a decent view of the city. In the morning they have a partial breakfast spread which was great (meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, breads and jellies. Totally decent breakfast that’s included with the cost of the lounge if you don’t want to spring for the main dining room breakfast which is a little pricey but delicious. In the afternoon they bring in fresh hors d’oeuvres like bruschetta, olives, fruit, meets and cheese, bread and usually something sweet like small cakes. Sometimes (though I couldn’t figure out the pattern of which days they did this and which days they didn’t) they bring in beer and wine for happy hour – so this is awesome because you can pop in, have a beer or glass of wine with some delicious fresh snacks. There’s a great tea selection as well as coffee 24/7 which is fantastic. There is also a spa and fitness center but I did not get a chance to check either out – but definite bonus points for having these amenities.

Cons: the card key system might have been the first one ever installed anywhere because just about everyone in our 7 person group had to go back to the front desk to get their card key remagnetized because you get to the room or club lounge it won’t work. Soooo frustrating. One day I had to get it redone 3 times. The front desk staff was always apologetic but definitely something the management needs to fix. Also, there was almost always a long wait at the front desk. I noticed that nighttime seemed to be the only time when they had more than 2 people at the desk. During the morning (like when people are checking out) and daytime there were only 1 or 2 people so I always had to wait a while before getting to speak with someone.

If I were going back to Cologne for business I would absolutely consider staying here again, being that I am familiar with the hotel and location and had a good experience. However I would probably do a little searching beforehand to see what else I could find. But overall a good, safe bet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed there during a big trade show in Cologne. Originally booked it when it was known as the Renaissance, but by the time I checked in the name had changed to Lindner City Plaza Hotel. I had never stayed at this hotel before, so I don't know how the Renaissance was.

It's a serviceable hotel in a convenient location, and priced right (at least when I stayed there), especially by Europe standards. Rooms are okay but a bit dated. The pillow sheets, however, smelled a bit strange (maybe just a bit old?) Also, internet connection speed was atrocious - good luck doing Skype on your laptop.

Breakfast does the job, although nothing fancy.

Overall, it's priced competitively, service is warm and friendly, and located in a convenient place. Not the first choice for luxury travelers, but for the business person looking to stay a night or two for work, it does the job.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KI-NRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
250 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I only stayed for one night as part of a tour around Germany. Room looked clean and modern with flat screen tv. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful with egg benedicts, juice, tropical fruit juice, pastries and yogurt...Staff was pleasant and professional. Only 5 minute drive from the famous Cologne Cathedral. There are restaurants within walking distance. I would rank this hotel excellence if it was not for a stain on a bath towel. Wish I had stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyaltyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Rooms are good, staff very helpful and good location. Downsides: Very expensive wifi; room service kithen is very poor, just about edible food (restaurant kitchen is better). Lindner hotel group have taken it over from Marriot so hopefully the bad elements will be addressed. Doesn't yet warrant 4 star

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Aitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed for two nights, getting the type and location of room we requested in advance. Reasonable sized room. T.V. old fashioned (not flat-screen). Carpet stained in several places. Bed valance very stained - it was removed with an apology (not replaced).

Bathroom on small side, but adequate. Good range of toiletries. Bathrobes and towels had seen better days. Time the hotel got new stock.

Air con just about coped on what were medium-hot days and nights. A couple of other advance requests were not dealt with and we had to chase them up.

Comfortable bed.

Very good breakfast, wide choice and enough waiting staff around.


All staff were as friendly as we always find them in Marriott group hotels.

Only 5 to 10 minute walk to main shopping area.

Room Tip: High up at the back of the hotel should give you the best chance of a quiet night in a busy city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Lindner Hotel Dom Residence
Altstadt-Nord
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Steigenberger Hotel Koeln
#12 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#28 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Astor & Aparthotel Cologne
Astor & Aparthotel Cologne
#71 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel City Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel City Plaza

Property: Lindner Hotel City Plaza
Address: Magnusstrasse 20, 50672 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#28 Business Hotel in Cologne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindner Hotel City Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Prestigia, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lindner Hotel City Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Cologne
Cologne Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing