We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent. Not great, not terrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lindner Hotel City Plaza
Ranked #27 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2009

This hotel was "okay". The lobby had a stale smoke smell. The spa had "off hours" which made it hard to use. The breakfast was good but super expensive (maybe 25 euro). We were told we had a quiet room. Perhaps it was quiet in the sense that we were at the end of the hall so we didn't have much hotel traffic, but we were on the back side of a busy street where the night life could be called into the early morning life. The temp was preadjusted and could not be altered and the room was too hot. The room was pretty but the sheets had the "wet mop" smell. You know the one where you let clothes sit in the wash too long before taking them out. Wow, I rated this hotel decent and it's not sounding decent at all. I was not overall unhappy and I felt that some of the problems were just the fluke...that probably all the sheets didn't smell lie mine, all the rooms weren't as noisy? who knows? I prefer the Maratime better which has a nice breakfast, great spa and easy location to navigate.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelincritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2009

I would definitely say this was not a 5 star hotel as we were lead to believe. I have been to far better 3 star hotels. When we got to our room after a computer crash lead to a lengthy check-in, we were slightly dismayed. There is nothing really "deluxe" about this room, just average. And our room did not look into a couryard but on to a main street. There was no coffee/tea making facilities, iron or bathrobe but on asking at reception these were soon brought to our room - but on the booking these should have been in the room and we shouldn't have to ask. The location was brilliant, right next to a main street with every eatery imaginable so no need to eat in the hotel. The pool area was also disappointing as the pool was cold and the jacuzzi was basically a corner of the cold pool with some bubbles. The steam room was very busy and you could only enter the sauna if you went naked, alhtough this is not stated anywhere, just the assistant running after us to stop us going in - bizarre!!! Also 25 euro per day for parking - go right across the road for only 14 euro per day.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valken1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Myself and work colleagues stayed at this hotel in Sept 09. The check in was quick and easy and we were able to check into our room at mid-day. The room was clean and bright and the bed and pillows were amazing, we all slept so well.
We had one or two minor queries and staff were able to sort them out immediately (we called reception as we had no milk in our room and a member of staff appeared with milk in less than a minute).
Nothing was too much bother and the staff were attentive without being over bearing. The location was great for us, about a 10-15 mintue walk to the cathedral, out of the really touristy areas, but still close enough to walk to. It was also in a very quiet and safe area, but very close to restaurants, bars and nightlife.
We also stay regularly in 5 star hotels, but the Renaissance actually had proper shampoo and conditioner, rather than the 'shower/body/hair gel which is usual. The body wash also smelt amazing. It was such a pleasure to have toiletries which you actually wanted to use.
We often visit Cologne for trade fairs at koelnmesse and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamweaver98890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

This was a fairly nice hotel, but we were a little disappointed with its dated rooms. We booked the room as a 5 star over a well known website, but it was clearly not a 5 star.

There was no free internet service and no breakfast. The one plus though is that its located very close to the train station and the city center.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawnnnaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We have stayed at this hotel a few times before and have always been pleased by the rooms and staff. This time was no different. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful.
The rooms are small but nicely furnished and the bed is amazing!
There is also a smoking lounge which is a nice idea, but at peak times you may get overlooked by the busy barstaff. Yes, the drinks are expensive,but it is nothing out of the ordinary for a city centre 5 * hotel.
Unfortunately we didn't take swimsuits with us, however the pool is very pleasant with a lovely jacuzzi whirlpool.
Would we return? Yes!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during the first week of July 2009. The rooms were well appointed and clean. The location is great, easy to access all the sights in Koln. The staff was friendly, but not knowledgeable about area restaurants or transportation options. Getting directions to area restaurants was a challenge as well. This is not what i expected of a Renaissance, I've stayed at renaissance properties in Florida and Holland and had much better experiences at those locations. Another drawback was the lack of complimentary in room services, there is not coffee service or internet not even a bottle of water. I would recommend this hotel for someone who is familiar with the city or only interested in visiting a few major sites.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosphbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Too bad. One would expect a Renaissance to be, well, the Renaissance. The Koln is run down and needs to be upgraded ASAP! You'll find the staff to be pleasant and helpful but the rooms to be downtrodden. Parking is located below the hotel (pricey at E25 for a 24 hours period) and tight (typical in Europe).

Upon entering our room I noticed that the walls needed paint, the bathroom had cigarette burns on the counter top and the shower curtain needed to be cleaned (mold/mildew on bottom seam). I noticed that the chair at the desk did not have enough padding in it to support your legs and you actually sat on the rim of the chair. The carpet showed stains and the old leather couch could have been one in my Grandparents old boat house. You’ll find HIS (Internet) but it is pricey. The service is provided by GANAG and is E5 for 30 mins or E10 for 120 mins. Are they smoking dope? The Renaissance should provide the HSI for free. For the most part the room was clean with the usual suspected dirt on the toilet seat hinges and the push in button recesses for the toilet. You’ll also find dirt/dust under the bed. The bed is cozy and soft and sleeps well and the lines are crisp but could be replaced with new ones. You’ll find a stocked mini-bar (prices below, quite steep) and a safe for your use as well as an iron/board. Housekeeping will provide turndown service for you at night. Don’t be surprised if you find your room tidied up when you return at night.

The only issue I had was my wife and I went downstairs to a café about 0930 (check-out is at noon) and came back about an hour later to find housekeeping cleaning our room (getting a head start!) in anticipation of our departure. I left the front desk manager know of this issue and she resolved it quickly and comped the parking fee.

While I cannot complain too badly as I used Marriott Points for this stay, I would deff. consider another hotel over this if I had to pay for it myself.

Prices for mini-bar items

Evian 0.5L 3.70E
S. Pellagrino 0.5L 3.70E
Evian Sportscap 0.75L 3.90E
Apollinaris 0.25L 2.60E
OJ 0.2L 2.60E
Pepsi 0.2L 2.60E
Wodka 0.05L 3.50E
Gin 3.50
Bourbon 3.50
Pringles 43g 2.50E
Pils/Beer .33L 2.60E


Offers Earl Grey tea (2 bags)
Jacobs Cronat Gold 1,8g (2)
Kaffee HAG Klassisch mild Tassenportion 1,8 (2)
Suchards Schoko Press 25g (2)

Heritage Merlot 2007 9E
Heritage Chardonay 2007 9E

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peyton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Lindner Hotel Dom Residence
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 263 in Cologne
1,843 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#21 of 263 in Cologne
2,164 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel City Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel City Plaza

Address: Magnusstrasse 20, 50672 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#28 Business Hotel in Cologne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £80 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindner Hotel City Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindner Hotel City Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Cologne
Cologne Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing