We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindner Hotel City Plaza
Ranked #29 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The hotel is only a short walk to the Metro and about 10 mins walk to the center.

Around the corner from the hotel (where the metro is) is a pretty busy street with a lot of restaurants and bars.

The room is a bit dated but everything was clean. I normally don't watch TV so the old TV was fine.

The reception was pretty polite and helpful. Our package didn't come with the breakfast otherwise the buffet style breakfast will cost 24 euros. We ordered our own breakfast and there was a mix up with the price and they promptly correct the bill without any problem.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2010

The staff are what make this hotel - particularly the reception and the housekeeping staff. I did not care for the man who semed to be in charge of the restaurant at breakfast time. The whole week we were there he wore a strange uniform of a brown tweed jacket and a dickie bow. i don't know whether this is some type of traditional outfit but it was quite revolting, very over the top and just too much at breakfast. He also had a very condescending attitude.

Our room was great. Standard hotel room size. It seems to have been upgraded very stylishly fairly recently (except for the old vanity unit in the bathroom).

The hotel has been renovated generally and a good job has been done. However, the pool and sauna area is still in its eighties state. It really transports you back a few decades - but hey it does the job and is very relaxing.

The hotel is right at a subway stop and close to the Dom (10/15 min walk) and staff at the front desk are fantastic for giving directions if needed.

Most definitely get breakfast - it is amazing and it will keep you full until dinnertime. We ordered freshly made omelettes which were not on the buffet, they were really excellent. Well done to the chef!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
Thank brodieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Yes, there is a lot of the eighties in the Cologne Renaissance but that does not distract. We stayed in a junior suite with club facilities. Good size room, well maintained, smallish bathroom, great bed. While in furniture the contemporary has been brought in, the bathroom has been kept in eighties style perfectly. Very good club entitlements. Nice, but small, club lounge. Very good breakfast indeed is included. Service is friendly and effective, but the front desk seems to lack the experienced staff that can deal with the radically disenchanted guests. There was one, who had two nights of disturbed sleep through noisy neighbours, she said. We just had a dog next to us, who barked twice and was then told not to do that again. The owner came and appologized. No sound was heard again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ennea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I like Renaissance Hotels because they have these extremely comfortable beds! The room is a bit small but big enough for us. Everything is in very good condition but you can see that the bathroom would need a renovation. but don't misunderstand me: everything is clean and works fine.

the parking in cologne is definitely a big problem because there's no free parking. the parking in the hotel costs 25€ per day but the parking lot across the street costs just 12€ per day. if i remember right the parking spaces in front of the hotel (by the street) were free of charge on working days past 7pm (Monday-Saturday) and the full Sunday and public holidays.

we ordered some desserts from the room service and good two glasses of orange juice free of charge. nice!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank das_ubersoldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

I booked this hotel via Priceline, where it is ranked as a 5 star property.
Well, it is not 5 star level. Location is excellent, service is good, very friendly reception, fitness and pool are ok. However rooms are old fashioned. All rooms i styed in are old fashioned, have an old and small TV, are generally small and have no Safe. I stayed in both types of rooms: regular and club level. Club level is on 5th and 6th floor, offers enhanced bathroom amenities and Ironing board. However, even the enhanced rooms are notup to 4 star standard. Regular rooms are maximum 3 star standard. Air condition works ok. All rooms offer instant coffee, tea and hot chocolate.

I gave 4 points for the excellent location (for nightlife!) and the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavourTheExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Stayed for two nights as an opportunity to explore Cologne. Slightly disappointed as hotel lobby looked a little tired. Rooms small and bathroom very small and dated. Very much felt four star not the five star we had booked. That said rooms were clean and staff, esp resturant staff were very good. Food excellent. Well worth booking the breakfast as part of our rate esp as it was served from 06:00 till 11:00! As recommended by oothers already parking in the multi story directly opposite the hotel was very convenient and cost €12 per 24 hour as opposed to the €25 per 24 hours charged to stay in hotel car park. Good location as although its right on a main road and views are poor its also close to the underground and lots of cafes and shops. Would be more then happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keadykerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I stayed at the Renaissance Cologne for 3 nights after a short stay at their Zurich Hotel.,

Reception gave me a very warm welcome and allocated me a room facing the courtyard on teh 1st floor. I normally prefer a higher floor, but was assured that this was a nice quiet room. It was.! However , due to trees outside , it was a little too dark for me so i asked to be moved the next day to a higher floor. This was not a problem at all and my luggage was moved to my new room on my return to the hotel after a mornings sightseeing.

The room itself was perfectly adequate, clean comfortable bed, nice bathroom and quiet. All that i needed.

Location wise, its only a 10 minute walk or so to the city centre. However, the hotel is located moments away from a metro station which will whisk you to the centre in no time at all. There are also many cafes, shops and even a cinema on your doorstep.

I would certainly return if I was able to secure a great deal again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hemikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Lindner Hotel Dom Residence
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 263 in Cologne
1,867 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#19 of 263 in Cologne
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Novotel Koeln City
#35 of 263 in Cologne
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel City Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel City Plaza

Address: Magnusstrasse 20, 50672 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#28 Business Hotel in Cologne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £76 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindner Hotel City Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lindner Hotel City Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Cologne
Cologne Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing