We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, clean, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse
Ranked #55 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel is clean & comfortable. the street car station is only 5 minutes walking distance. If you prefer to walk It takes about half hour to the cathedral. . Wi-Fi is extra fee. my cellular internet connection was very bad in this area. we stayed there 4 nights during an exhibition. you better order by internet as the cost in the hotel is much higher.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean & comfortable. It takes about half hour to walk to the cathedral.

Thought the parking charges were steep - €16 per day when this hotel is not right in the city centre. Plus if you want wifi, you have to pay extra.

Overall ok but nothing special about it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highgater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I don't know why this hotel has 4*.
If you just need a short sleep over than it is ok, but I wouldn't recommend it for a longer stay.
The other Park Inn in Cologne is a lot nicer so better chose that one.

The hotel is in two split buildings what can be uncomfortable when you need to move between them in rain. It had its best years some time ago and probably would use a bigger renovation.
Breakfast was good but the restaurant is very small and it was hard to find a free table.

Room Tip: Choose the other Park Inn ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Areq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I am on a 2-month business trip in Cologne staying at the hotel apartment across the street from the hotel main building. The hotel guest can park for free unless one wants to have a fixed parking place. Hotel is located in a quiet place, but it is not too far from the city centre. One can easily get around from here, probably not for a 1-2 days tourists, but for someone who stays a bit longer, it is a good choice. I like the breakfast which offers a variety of choices, be it for breads, for tea, for yoghurt, ... In my room, there is an easy kitchen to cook easy stuff. And there is a nice brew coffee machine from Bosch. The only thing so far bothers me is the internet access. Very often, I got disconnected after I put in my password. Even when I am lucky with the connection, it just allows one device, meaning that I can't have iPhone and iPads logging in at the same time which is not disturbing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Quite pricey for what we got.

Hotel was actually located quite far from the part of cologne tourists usually want to be. Very nice area though. There was a lovely park and beer garden a few minutes away.

Rooms were very bare and average. The feel was "business trip" from start to finish despite the fact that we were on holiday. The site promised us free internet but when we arrived it was free Ethernet access. In this day and age that's not very good.

If you want a nice holiday hotel, I don't think this is for you. If you're looking for a place to sleep for the night in business, you can get more for less.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rkellyuea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Our room was across the street,not in the main hotel building.The room was an "upgrade" "apartment." It was very roomy, the use of space was unusual.The room was clean and bright from the huge windows.There is a single brew coffee machine. The only thing I could say that was not good about the room was -the mattress was not comfortable (I slept on top of my folded comforter,because the bed was hard as a board). If you don't want to pay 19Euro per person for breakfast, you must reserve this option when you book your room. The first day we got the breakfast for that ridiculous price because the hotel is in a residential area & didn't seem to have any place to eat near by.The 2nd day we found a cafe within walking distance for breakfast for way less money & it was much better.
We found out on the last day we were there that this hotel is actually within walking distance to downtown Cologne;before that we were walking to the U-Bahn and taking the train for 2 stops
Also Internet wifi in the room cost 5euro for 30min.& did not work for my e-book.There is a computer in the lobby area for 30min free,if someone else is not on it.

Room Tip: Read the reviews that people post for the hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H, Director of Sales at Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Llynne,

thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback.

We have discussed your suggestions within our team and already found solutions to some of your points.

Please contact our staff for all personal needs during your stay. So we can guarantee to make your stay according to your taste immediately.

We are pleased when you consider the Park Inn by Radisson Köln Belfortstraße for your next stay in Cologne.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

I think this hotel is so busy by tourists and business people that they just do not care. Very small rooms on the other side of the road. No room service, no free Internet. They just do not care because people just keep going there. I hope I never have to go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rashnavadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H, Director of Sales at Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear guest,
we appreciate your feedback and your personal view of the experiences that you have made in our hotel.
Our goal is to ensure through continuous employee training, a competent service team. We have discussed your case with our team under the guidelines of our service philosophy YES I can!
I wish that you would have had better experience, and ask you to convince yourself on your next visit of our principle of high quality service. As you can see in former comments we offer a high service quality which is our biggest aim.
Best regards from Cologne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Mercure Hotel Koeln West
#40 of 263 in Cologne
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Cologne
#53 of 263 in Cologne
504 reviews
AZIMUT Hotel Cologne
#32 of 263 in Cologne
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse

Address: Belfortstr. 9, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: £61 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has a quiet location, a 15-minute walk north of Cologne's Old Town and Cologne Cathedral. Guests enjoy free use of the gym and 17-meter indoor pool. All rooms at the Mercure Koeln Belfortstrasse include a flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi and a private bathroom. The Mercure Koeln Belfortstrasse features the elegant Quirinal restaurant and the Consulchen pub. Ebertplatz Underground Station is just 320 yards from the Mercure Koeln Belfortstrasse. Cologne Main Station is 2 direct stops from here. The Kolnmesse Exhibition Centre and Kolnarena stadium are a few minutes away by train. The Mercure Koeln Belfortstrasse is a 5-minute walk from the Rhine River, right across from the Rheinpark. The Rhine bridge and cable car are near the hotel. Private parking with video surveillance is available at the Mercure Koeln Belfortstrasse. The A1, A3, A4 and A57 highways can be reached within a few minutes. Neustadt Nord is a great choice for travelers interested in Carnival, Nightlife and Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Hotel Cologne Belfortstrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Koln Belfortstrasse Hotel Cologne
Park Inn Cologne
Koln Belfortstrasse Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing