We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old(er) hotel on walking distance of city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Hotel am Dom
Ranked #211 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Entrance of the hotel is good, promising maybe. I thought to myself, this isn't looking that bad. However when I had to walk to my room I had to walk through a very small corridoor, passing 2 kitchens/restaurants.

The room itself was ok, bit smelly. Bed was fine. Shower was small, but working good. I wouldn't immediately advice this hotel to others, locationwise it's perfect though!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimHaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel in Sept’13. What a disaster! The hotel has 3 stars rating, in fact it should not be rated at all. Booked 5 months ahead. Unprofessional and unfriendly reception. Room on the 4th floor very small, uncomfortable, with 2 separate small single beds of totally poor quality. The booking mentioned “Bright room”, in fact it was ugly! This establishment should be removed from any booking websites. We can and will not recommend this “hotel” to any travellers. Stay away!

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMR092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

When i read the reviews here, i told myself i would never sleep in a dump like that. But as it was just for one night (we had a plane to catch very early in the morning) i decided to give it a try. And it was quite okay, regarding the 53,90 € we paid. Room was small but clean, no smells, clean sheets, clean bathroom and surprisingly no noise from the street (room was on 4th floor, #144). I would not stay there for a week or so, but for one or two nights, it was really OK. Dined at the Great Wall restaurant nearby and it was very good and tasty. No breakfast taken at the hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shakzbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The Hotel is just a Stone Throw Away from the Klon Cathedral ( DOM ) and from Klon Central Station (which is well connected to most of the Europe), Old Town, River etc . Well The reception and Lobby area looks decent but the corridors are narrow, the stair case is steep, the room was very small. The staff was friendly, breakfast is yum however there are dozen of eateries around the Hotel, i think it is not necessary to get the B&B. Absolutely affordable if compared with the Hotels around ( Keeping in mind the gr8 location. )

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiyushSengar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

[Recommended Point]
Location: Very close to Dom and Cologne Central station.
Price: Very reasonable price for its location
Staffs: The staffs are very friendly.

[Unrecommended Point]
Room: very narrow.
Bed: Too soft for me.
Amenity: Small Soap and a bag of shampoo.

[Others]
The room was clean enough.
I stayed this hotel in very hot day, the room does not have cooler but small fan helps me to make room cool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miyahirodazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Decent rooms (first floor), spacious enough although fairly simple. The bathrooms too are spacious and a bit on the spartan side of things (no shower curtain for example!).

On the plus side there are first of all the location (super central - 2 min walk from the cathedral and the train station); secondly, rooms and bathrooms are VERY clean (Hurray!).

So far good value for money..

..However! 2 things let this place down: the heat in the rooms is almost unbearable (consider that we were there in July though..) ..And the little electric fan or opening the window won't help much.
Also, very noticeable, the lack (or very little of it) of customer service at the reception. Not sure whether they are mistreated as employees, paid too little or overloaded with work (they didn't seem too busy to me) but the receptionists look like they are all constantly attending a funeral, giving minimal information and almost monosyllabic answers... God help us!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ByeByeBlues7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is an old hotel located right next to the magnificent cologne cathedral. The location is awesome! Service is ok, and the price is very good. There is breakfast available for a fee, but I would recommend enjoying one of the many coffee houses nearby. The bedroom is very small but is well kept and has all the essentials. It is very clean and well maintained also. I considered the Internet fees quite higher than expected. Check-in and checkout is easy and fast. The people from the reception desk are very attentive.

Conclusion: Due to the small size I would recommend it only for short low-cost stays, especially alone or a couple at max. But if you do not care about fancy hotels and want only a place to sleep with the essentials to enjoy Cologne, this is a good option to be considered.

Room Tip: No special considerations here. I stayed in a room in the back on the hotel, and it was very quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SrAlves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#74 of 261 in Cologne
200 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Domspatz Hotel
Domspatz Hotel
#184 of 261 in Cologne
82 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#30 of 261 in Cologne
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Sandmanns
Hotel Sandmanns
#80 of 261 in Cologne
131 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#52 of 261 in Cologne
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel am Dom

Address: An den Dominikanern 3 | corner of Marzellenstrasse, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: £45 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel am Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hotel am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing