We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but all you need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf
Ranked #58 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Apeldoorn
Level Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Basic but all you need”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This hotel is located just off the highway exit. The rooms are bigger than one would expect, however the double bed is kind of small. The room is clean and kind of basic as one would expect at a express holiday inn hotel. If I would stay here again I would certainly go for twin bedding. Underneath the hotel is a chinese restaurant and within walking distance is a Subway Sandwiches, Mac Donalds (also serves breakfast), a gas station and a steakhouse (accross the street). Parking is free at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icepick80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    173
    106
    30
    10
See reviews for
96
83
34
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Rooms are comfortable and quiet, extremely friendly and gracious staff, topped off with an excellent breakfast that was INCLUDED in the rate! Now you just can't beat that!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inkbottles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nussbas, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear Guest,

i would like to say thank you for your positive feedback.
We would be very pleased to welcome you soon either in our hotel to be allowed.

Best regards

Sonja Nussbaum
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
420 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 734 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Holiday Inn Express Cologne-Troisdorf is just off the A59 motorway, between Koln and Bonn. Clean and confortable room for a night. Good breakfast. A McDonalds and a gas station near hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicardoBretzCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Stayed here as we had flight out of Cologne-Bonn airport.

Positives:
- Close to Cologne-Bonn airport (Approx 15 minutes taxi - 20 to 25 EUR)
- Fast food (McDonalds & Subway), Gas station and Restaurant (Poco Loco) nearby
- Free breakfast (like any HI Express) - which was okay
- Friendly staff (don't expect them to be extremely service minded, just friendly, and all spoke English very well)
- Free parking! Big plus!

Negatives:
- Location itself is next to highway, in pretty much middle of nowhere. Doesn't seem like a good solution to actually visit Cologne.
- Internet is way too expensive (15 EUR/24 hours) - especially for a budget hotel
- They were charging too high rates for this kind of hotel (>110 EUR a night). Not worth it, so i used PC Points instead
- Antique tiny TV with no English channels at all (not even CNN or something)

Still recommending this place, if you need to be in the area or near Cologne-Bonn airport and if the rate is right, it's a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diederik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nussbas, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your assessment.
Unfortunately we can not change anything in our enviroment, but we can provide our guests a pleasant stay and we hope that we have succeeded with them.
For the small TV Channels because of that we have charge the satellites. We are curiently only a small numbers of Tv Programs.
We are working on it so as soon as possible to charge.

We offer free Internet in our Lobby by W-LAN.

I will assure them that we are trying in their next stay with us as pleasend as possible.

Best Wishes

Sandra Zörner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
131 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

As there was a conference going on (messe), the hotels in Cologne were all booked.
The only thing I could find under 150 Euros was this HI express in Troisdorf.
A 25 minute S-bahn ride (S12/13), and then another 10 minute walk.
Same HI Express as the others I've been to. Good and free breakfast!
There's not much else in the area, besides a Chinese restaurant, a SUbway and a McDonalds.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallacetown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Stayed 2 nights , 2 different rooms. First night's room the shower drain was plugged, just managed to have our showers before it would run over, left a note. Always have a fight with the duvet,(would much prefer a sheet and blanket.) first night's bedding was very heavy, way too warm with and too cold without, no options in between unless you peel the cover off. Second night it seemed to be lighter and had a somewhat better sleep.
Exellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kricon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nussbas, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 8 September 2010
Dear guest,

firstonce I want to thank you for your rating here at tripadvisor.

I would also tell them that I am very sorry for the inconvenience they had some.

I apologize for the problem we clogged the shower could not resolve so quickly.

They exist because only one blanket had a fight does also very sorry, I just ask the next time the reception staff to inform on them because you certainly help, and give them a second ceiling set for disposal.

I will assure them that we are trying is their next stay with us as pleasant as possible.

best regards
Sonja Nussbaum
Guest Service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent uk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

What a wonderful hotel, true it was a little out of town but the walk to the train station was no hardship. We were welcomed with a complimentary drink from the hotel bar and at breakfast a nice lady called Doris was giving out a packet of Haribos for everyone. rooms were spacious and clean and we had no trouble getting to and from Koln city centre.If you have any questions please feel free to send me a message.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpmhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Mülheim
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim
Mercure Hotel Koeln West
#46 of 261 in Cologne
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf
#68 of 261 in Cologne
308 reviews
Novotel Koeln City
#36 of 261 in Cologne
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf
Address: Echternacher Str. 4, 50933 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Cologne-Troisdorf is a modern business hotel located within easy reach of the exhibition centre KÖLN MESSE, the Cologne/Bonn Airport (CGN), the main railway station and the business areas of Cologne and Bonn and the sports centre Köln ARENA. Both by car via the A 59 motorway and public transport, the hotel is perfectly connected to all business and leisure attractions in Cologne and Bonn. The Express by Holiday Inn offers accommodation for visitors to exhibitions like GamesCom, Anuga & Medica as well as shoppers headed for the old town, art and historical lovers enjoying the DOM, the shopping area of Cologne and Bonn and musical fans cheering at the Musical DOME. The Express by Holiday Inn offers 110 comfortably furnished rooms with chargeable High Speed Access, air condition, satellite and Pay TV, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, en suite shower, hair dryer, high quality beds and sound proof windows. The hotel features both non-smoking and smoking floors as well as easy wheelchair access, a room with roll-in shower and special alarm systems. We invite our guests to enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast buffet to get the day off to a good start, while in the evening our Lobby Bar is worth a visit to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express By Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf Hotel Cologne
Holiday Inn Troisdorf
Cologne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing