We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and not cheerful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf
Ranked #56 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Northampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap and not cheerful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stopped here en-route from Austria to the UK. We booked a family room - 3 adults and 1 child. Unfortunately my daughter broke her wrist on the last day of our holiday which caused her a fair amount of discomfort especially when sleeping. The room we were given was tiny! We had 1 double bed and a pull out sofa bed. When the sofa bed was pulled out there was no room to stand and you could not even pull the chair out from underneath the desk. The worse part was that the sofa bed was so narrow that my daughter would not have enough space to sleep without constantly banging her arm. I went to the front desk to see if we could change rooms. The manager on duty said that all the rooms were the same size and she could do nothing about our situation. I ended up sleeping on the floor (there was just enough space by the door) so my daughter could get some sleep. All in all a horrible experience and I will never make the same mistake to stay in a Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms if you are claustrophobic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Compo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nussbas, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experiences at our Holiday Inn Express Düsseldorf – City North.

With regret, I recognized that you have not been satisfied with our product.
Please let me apologize ones again for any inconveniences.

I have spoken to my department heads and the Front Desk Department and forwarded your comments.

Never the less, I would be happy, if you could give us another chance to deliver excellent quality and service which is our goal at all times for all our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you again when you visit Cologne-Troisdorf the next time.

If you have further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me anytime.

Kind regards
Holiday Inn Express Cologne-Troisdorf

K.J. Comes
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    163
    102
    29
    10
See reviews for
93
80
32
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Maybe I'm spoiled by staying in several HIE's in the USA. But this one was not the best. Why do the rooms have AC when it never works? Why are the rooms so small? I stayed with my wife and two kids in the room and there was no place left to walk around or put down my bags. The breakfast was not what I expected, not much choice and the tables were dirty. The location is allright. Close to the autobahn with several restaurants within walking distance.
I think I'll skip this one in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms at he back face a carwash and some restaurants. This will bring some noise, especially at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank braveman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear braveman2013,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I apologize if our hotel fell below your expectations and are pleased to know that our location was suitable for your needs. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had a very nice stay here for 2 nights. Was offered a free drink at the bar as well as free wifi in room for being a hotel member.
Free large car park
Would surely come back when in Cologne or Dusseldorf

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tzvitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nussbas, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much that you took your time to share your very positive feedback. We are very glad that you felt comfortable with friendly accommodations. We appreciate your positive feedback on our room cleanliness and breakfast.
We are sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room type.Your feedback is greatly motivating for our staff. We would be very happy to welcoming you soon again at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Ayman Moneim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I booked a queen bed with a sofa room but instead got a room with 2 twin beds. The price may be the same but I expected to get the room that I booked for. I only realized this when I was about to sleep so I did not bother to talk to the management. I believe that they should not have made this mistake in the first place. Also, there werent so many ac outlets for charging my cellphone or laptops. They hid most of the outlets. Breakfast was okay, typical. The rooms were clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkfallacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear pinkfallacy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the room you had. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
183 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stay for 2 nights during trade show.

I booked this place just couple of days in advance because there is no reasonable price hotel left to stay in downtown Cologne during trade fair period. The hotel is not so difficult to reach by train. The 10 mins walk Spich station is on S12/13 directly link to Hbf, Messe, and Airport.

The hotel has maintained HIE standard, no complain. Only down size is A/C did not work. Free breakfast is ok, and there is some places nearby for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kengkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Kengkla,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. My apologies for any disappointment you may have had during your stay. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingolstadt
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

The hotel is well-located near the highway between Cologne and Bonn. Our room was well equipped with everything you need (TV, hair dryer, coffee & tea...). There is a parking lot in front of the hotel which was quite filled. Nearby you find a gas station and a Subway as well as a McDonalds restaurant. The breakfast was included and substantial. The staff was friendly. We felt the overall value was very good. Unfortunately the size of the bed was fairly small and the house is badly soundproofed. Although the value is good we would not stay there again because of the poor sleep quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nussbas, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate that you find our hotel location and friendly team as expected. However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the size of the bed. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,
Ayman Moneim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed here on my way down to Bavaria with the family.
Very easy to find, close to the Autobahn 59 with a few restaurants and gas station/shop.
We choose this because the price for the night for 3 Adults was very reasonable including Breakfast.

Rooms are what you would expect at this price and breakfast is also quite adequate considering the price.
We had an evening meal across the road at Poco Loco which was quite nice and all in all no complaints.

If travelling I would not hesitate to stay here again for a quick stop over.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nussbas, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on your stay with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our hotel location, price and breakfast as expected. Your positive feedback is greatly motivating for our staff. We would be very happy to welcoming you soon again at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Ayman Moneim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Mülheim
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim
Mercure Hotel Koeln West
#46 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf
#76 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Novotel Koeln City
#39 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf
Address: Echternacher Strasse 4, 53842 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Cologne-Troisdorf is a modern business hotel located within easy reach of the exhibition centre KÖLN MESSE, the Cologne/Bonn Airport (CGN), the main railway station and the business areas of Cologne and Bonn and the sports centre Köln ARENA. Both by car via the A 59 motorway and public transport, the hotel is perfectly connected to all business and leisure attractions in Cologne and Bonn. The Express by Holiday Inn offers accommodation for visitors to exhibitions like GamesCom, Anuga & Medica as well as shoppers headed for the old town, art and historical lovers enjoying the DOM, the shopping area of Cologne and Bonn and musical fans cheering at the Musical DOME. The Express by Holiday Inn offers 110 comfortably furnished rooms with chargeable High Speed Access, air condition, satellite and Pay TV, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, en suite shower, hair dryer, high quality beds and sound proof windows. The hotel features both non-smoking and smoking floors as well as easy wheelchair access, a room with roll-in shower and special alarm systems. We invite our guests to enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast buffet to get the day off to a good start, while in the evening our Lobby Bar is worth a visit to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express By Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf Hotel Cologne
Holiday Inn Troisdorf
Cologne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing